We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One-night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Stockport
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“One-night stay”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed for one night on a Travelstyle week-end tour. These are budget holidays so one should not expect 5-star hotel chains. We were checked in very promptly and the room and bathroom were very clean and both were of a good size. Dinner was buffet-style with choice of starters and main courses and a good selection of vegetables. The staff were kept busy re-filling the trays which were empty and as there must have been over 100 of us, there was not too long a wait. Breakfast was at staggered times but there were some delays also at these times. The Eastern European girl serving the soup did not know if there was any alternative starter (there was) or even the name of the soup she was serving! I understand that it is a bit of a headache getting hotel staff these days so I would not be too critical. Would I stay here again - yes, most certainly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennisgee2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    192
    298
    222
    638
See reviews for
270
459
89
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, England
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

First of all let me say that I think some of the ridiculously scathing reviews on here need to be taken with a pinch of salt. I know it's all about opinions but some people's expectations seem to be somewhat beyond the their outlay when staying at this hotel. Sure, it's not the Hilton but the Hilton doesn't cost £42 for a double room with breakfast.
We arrived around 4pm on a Saturday afternoon and were greeted on reception by a pleasant young man who dealt with our check-in in a professional and courteous manner. The whole foyer and bar/restaurant area looked clean and tidy albeit totally deserted. The reason for this is that the bar does not open until 5pm and annoyingly it closes again at 11pm. More on that later.
We were directed to our rooms, there were 4 of us (2 couples) and we had been allocated rooms 165 and 166 on the first floor. It was quite a circuitous route to the stairs and we by-passed the lift which looked a bit like a service lift rather than a guest lift. As it happened it didn't appear to be in working order. Never mind, we were only one flight of stairs away from our floor so the stairs were OK with our small amount of luggage.
On arrival at the rooms it was immediately obvious that ours wasn't ready. There was a pile of fresh towels and toiletries outside waiting for the room to be serviced. The previous occupants had left a 'Do not Disturb' sign on the door and the staff had taken this literally and it had been overlooked. When we brought this to the attention of the housekeeping team they remedied the situation immediately and were very apologetic. The room was quickly serviced and when we entered we were quite impressed with the cleanliness of everything despite reading a lot of reviews to the contrary. There appeared to have been a recent redecoration of the room and the white and neutral colours used looked good. The furniture is fairly old but it all matched and it is more than adequate with ample storage for a short stay. The bed was firm but clean and comfortable with crisp white sheets and decent pillows provided. The one thing that irked me slightly was that there wasn't a bedside cabinet of any kind on one side of the bed which leaves you somewhat frustrated if you fancy a brew and you're on the cabinet-less side of the bed. There is simply nowhere to put your cup while you relax and watch a bit of TV. Also, even though the brewing supplies were plentiful, there were no biscuits provided. The quality of the tea and the coffee is as good as you'd expect in a moderately priced hotel so no real complaints there.
If you do run out of supplies replacements are available for you to help yourself on the desk in reception.
The bathroom was quite dated but included a full size pedestal that was not enclosed in some narrow alcove which usually causes me endless problems being a big guy. There is a bath which I would guess was probably 3/4 size but again is more than adequate for a short stay. There are ample supplies of toiletries and, although not particularly good quality, there is ample toilet roll supplied also. In general the bathroom was a bit tired but certainly clean enough and well enough equipped for your needs.
The view from the room was not fantastic but it is in Offerton so it's probably as good as it could be. The window is restricted in the amount that it can be opened and I guess this is as much for security as anything else. It does allow sufficient fresh air if required.
As reported in other reviews there is an amount of noise from other rooms and old piping but none of it was loud enough to prevent me from enjoying a decent nights sleep.
The reason for our stay was that we were attending a function at a nearby pub called the Fingerpost which has had a recent refurbishment and looks great. We came down around 7pm and the whole place was packed with people. The bar was in full swing and populated by a mixture of people from locals, coach party guests and users of the attached Spindles Leisure facility. Everyone seemed to be having a good time but our drinking was to be done elsewhere on this occasion. The hotel is very popular with coach parties and, I think, there were 3 coaches parked up as we left for the evening. It was with this in mind that we decided to attempt an early breakfast in the morning.
Breakfast is served from 7 - 9:30am and I really didn't know what to expect after reading several awful reviews. We assembled at 8:30 and made our way to the restaurant. After giving our room numbers to the girl at the restaurant entrance we were left pretty much to our own devices as everything is self service buffet style. All the usual breakfast fayre was available including porridge and, my personal sign of quality for a buffet breakfast, black pudding. There was plenty of available seating despite how busy it was and we dived straight into the cooked buffet. I had sausages, bacon, fried eggs, hash browns, beans and the aforementioned black pudding. Everything was hot and was being regularly replenished by the efficient staff. The good thing about the buffet was that it included ready made toast so there is no faffing about with poorly maintained toasters that wouldn't melt butter let alone burn bread.
So that was it really and, on the whole, all of our party were delighted with the value for money and the quality of the services and facilities. We had all had a good nights sleep and a decent breakfast for which we paid less than £85 for the four of us.
After our evening out locally we returned thinking that we could have a night cap before turning in. Not a hope as I previously mentioned, the bar closes at 11pm with no exceptions even for residents which I think is a poor do. I'd heard a whisper that they had lost their late licence for some reason but I can't elaborate on that so I won't speculate.
Hopefully this review has put some peoples minds at rest who may be booked to stay here and are worrying about it. Please don't take any notice of the really bad reviews as these appear to be either from some people with their own personal agendas, people whose expectations vastly outweigh what is realistic for the price or those few who may genuinely may have had a bad experience for whatever reason. I anticipate that the latter category are few and far between.

Room Tip: Don't really know what to say here, 165 and 166 were both OK. Don't expect the views to be v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Came to this hotel with a trip to see Michael buble it's terrible national holidays need to look into the hotels they use on these trips also anyone there tonight and Thursday be careful as people on our bus got 75pound tickets for the lower tier and like me I got a66pound ticket for the upper tier but paidedthe same has everyone else for the trip 338pounds for 2people the food in the hotel I just couldn't eat it sausage casserole anyone the rooms where dirty the cupboard door was falling off the bathroom door hadn't been cleaned in weeks cobwebs in the corners stains on the carpets will never book a trip like this again with national holidays Michael was great that was the best bit about the trip

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stockport hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as a stopover before flying from manchester airport, room comfortable and clean. Transfer quick and easy, had to drive to sister hotel 10mins away to get the transfer bus to the airport. Would stay again in same circumstance.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mireille M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We arrived at the hotel on a busy Saturday evening for our flight transfer the following day! We checked in only to be told 2 of us were booked into the hotel and 3 of us were booked at a different one! Once checked in we were told evening dinner was available! Hilariously the menu was scribbled in pen on a piece of A4 paper!! We opted for pizzas instead which could only be described as a plate of slop!! There is no customer care in this hotel and the staff are very inexperienced! When we asked the male receptionist how many stars the hotel has he said 'I dont know!' 'You can look on the plaque outside!!!'
We then settled down for the night only to be awoken by an all night rave!!!! NO SLEEP!!! Stained walls and dirt are evident throughout this hotel and furniture and decor has not been changed in a very long time!
On checking out there was no 'How was your stay?' my key was just taken from me. Then again I would have been there
all day!!! Just AWFUL at every level!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whit36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We didn't arrive until 8pm reception/bar area were very busy, however no one at reception and had to wait 10 minutes to check in. Went to our room...... On opening door to the corridor leading to our room there was a fog and stink of cigarettes! Other guest even commented how awful it was. We went down to the dining room again waited 5 minutes to be acknowledged, inclusive dinner is a hot buffet that was sorry the only word I can use is disgusting. At that point we left and booked a premier inn same price clean and welcoming.
I will say all staff were polite and pleasant there just weren't enough for the number of people but the general atmosphere was just grim

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

There is a lot of truth in the saying "you get what you pay for". I you are looking for somewhere cheap and cheerful, away from the city and not expensive, then this hotel is ideal. It does not advertise itself as a four or five star or pretend to be a one. It is clean and the rooms are adequate for what you're paying for. The staff work hard and are professional. Seems a popular destination as a stopover for coach trips. Given that the owners are holiday camp - orientated, it is no suprise to see the latest Pontin's brochure on the bedside cabinet and "special" weekends taking place. The lesiure centre appears ok, although there is a charge. Food is as expected in this type of holiday company chain. It's not bad place, but if you're looking for quality and luxury - this is not on the first 5 or 6 pages of the list.

Room Tip: Check the room you have been given is in range of the internet/wifi. THe older part of the hotel ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supastar147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockport
2.2 mi away
Trivelles Mayfair
Trivelles Mayfair
#11 of 15 in Stockport
86 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
0.6 mi away
Alma Lodge Hotel
Alma Lodge Hotel
#7 of 15 in Stockport
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#8 of 15 in Stockport
969 reviews
4.8 mi away
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Stockport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Stockport

Property: Britannia Hotel Stockport
Address: 67 Dialstone Lane | Offerton, Stockport SK2 6AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Stockport 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Stockport is a modern hotel situated in a quiet residential district close to Stockports bustling town centre, with a wide range of shops and entertainment. The Hotel features the spacious Jenny's cocktail bar offering a relaxing atmosphere where locals and guests can unwind. Jenny's restaurant serves delicious food at breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Hotel Stockport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockport Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel Stockport Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing