We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel? Hostel more like!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Stockport
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hotel? Hostel more like!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night due to company booking error...nearest to airport due to Man Utd European tie. In no way a hotel, but more a hostel. Rooms were a disgrace, staff friendly & helpful, but place is a disaster. Yellow staining and smearing on the walls was reminiscent of a dirty protest. Carpet was held together by stains. Avoid at all costs!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    190
    287
    211
    615
See reviews for
257
440
85
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Reasonable priced stay. Breakfast fresh and hot, good selection. Room ok. Bed very hard. Good powerful hot shower. Some of the staff need a bit of coaching in customer relations, but some are friendly enough. From the amount of 'older' couples I would say its a place that a tour group uses. Ok for short stays if no-where else available.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

My friend and i stayed in this hotel for only one night as we booked through National Holidays to see the Miranda Show. I know you say you get what you pay for but come on i think cleanliness shouldnt be out of the equation...! We entered via the rear entrance and were greeted (if thats what you call it) by a member of staff who didnt give us the right directions to our room and resulted in us getting lost in the hotel. Mind, when we approached a cleaner he was more than happy to help us and he took the luggage and showed us where our room was. He spoke very little this may be due to the fact i dont think he could speak much english maybe. We entered the room and we had a giggle as the tv was a small square grey box and the cupboards were awfuly dirty and dusty. The beds were so high my friend was unable to reach the floor when sat upon it lol. The curtains were too short and looked like they were about to fall down. BUT...the bedding was very clean and the beds were comfortacble so couldnt complain there. Hot water plentyful and room warm. I think the hotel should maybe read some of these reviews and makes some changes even if its just to put the curtains on the rail properly and give the rooms a thorough cleaning it would be really benefical. As for the evening meal and breakfast we could not complain...the food was delicious but the quing for the meal wasnt so great could have been staggered out a little maybe. Fire Alarm went off at 3 am but hey ho! made us have a giggle ;-) overall it wasnt too bad a stay just needed a clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1976Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here for the night of 15th March as part of an organised coach tour that was taking-in a show at the Manchester Arena. Check-in was quick and efficient, and our room was acceptable for a one-night stay. The heating made the room comfy, and controls were easy to use and responsive. There were tea-making facilities, but the TV in the bedroom was small and could not get BBC or ITV. The bathroom was basic but acceptable, with all the hot water you could want. One dining-room was set aside for our coach party, and although queuing for the buffet evening meal was a bit on the uncivilised side the actual food itself was plentiful and of a good standard. Serving was easier next morning for breakfast, and once again the quality and quantity of food was of a very high standard. We were a bit concerned when woken at 3.00am by the fire alarm only to find that no action was taken, no evacuation of the room was required, and no information was given out at any stage. Fortunately we had a ground floor bedroom so we felt reasonably confident that we could have made our escape if necessary.

Overall we found the hotel comfortable even if the decor was a bit dated. The food, on the other hand, was a distinct success especially as it was catering for a coach party.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stay here in 2010 and it was ok so we said we stay again this year we got told on our last visit in 2010 they having a cocktail bar put in so in 2014 march I ask for a cocktail
They said it not a cocktail bar it just a bar so I said do u have any cocktail he said no but I can google how to make them it not good service at the bar and on check in the guy behind the desk look at my boyfriend funny because he was paying by card and on check out they did not even ask how we sleep or have u enjoyed ur stay I find that this hotel need help or shut down

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth200913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Whilst the checkin was friendly and straight forward, the hotel leaves a lot to be desired. the rooms are very dated, the bathroom especially being in dire need of a refurb. The bed was possibly the most uncomfortable i have ever slept in, the base of the bed was in two parts which had a tendency to move apart whenever you turned over. The hotel also has the noisiest floorboards i have ever known, if somebody on the same floor moved the squeaking could be heard along the entire floor, guests leaving at 6.30am were an excellent alarm call as they moved along the noisy corridors. The breakfast was borderline inedible, Everything tasting heavily of salt and items such as the black pudding so overcooked to render it so dry that it shattered when you attempted to cut it, the eggs were of a similar consistency to chewing gum and i wont mention the porridge as i don't care to revisit that culinary disaster! As for the staff, the chap on check-in was friendly enough and the girl behind the bar on Thursday evening was helpful, friendly and very approachable. The staff in the breakfast room spoke very little English and did not even respond when guests greeted them with Good Morning and could best be described as surly. Checkout was pretty bad, I waited at reception for 15 minutes before a member of staff showed up, i said that i wanted to check out, my key was taken from me and i was just told 'thats fine' as the staff member took my key and walked away. I won't be back and I think its very unlikely i will ever use the britannia hotel chain again.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sparkybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Just stayed in this hotel on a National Holidays trip with myself and 4 others. We were allocated 3 rooms but when we opened the door to the first room we were greeted by the strong smell of stale smoke. We decided not to even go in never mind sleep in it. Fortunately the other 2 rooms were triple so there was room for us all to bed down. On entering the next room we found this also smelt of stale smoke and the room was dirty and shabby, plus bedding was ripped.
As for the food it was VERY basic and unappetising, there was no tables for us to sit together so had to move tables around ourselves. It felt more like a works canteen rather than a restaurant. The public toilets were also disgusting I actually had to walk out as I was borking at the smell. We did complain but just got told to complain to National Holidays which we will but I also think its down the hotel to keep standards up. I know this is a budget hotel and gets busy but its not on.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockport
0.6 mi away
Alma Lodge Hotel
Alma Lodge Hotel
#5 of 15 in Stockport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
2.2 mi away
Trivelles Mayfair
Trivelles Mayfair
#13 of 15 in Stockport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stockport South Hotel
4.8 mi away
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#8 of 15 in Stockport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Stockport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Stockport

Property: Britannia Hotel Stockport
Address: 67 Dialstone Lane | Offerton, Stockport SK2 6AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Stockport 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Stockport is a modern hotel situated in a quiet residential district close to Stockports bustling town centre, with a wide range of shops and entertainment. The Hotel features the spacious Jenny's cocktail bar offering a relaxing atmosphere where locals and guests can unwind. Jenny's restaurant serves delicious food at breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Hotel Stockport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockport Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel Stockport Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing