We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than I'd expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Stockport
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Much better than I'd expected”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here with Just Go for three nights at the end of March.
In view of other comments, I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel. Our room was clean and adequately furnished. The CRT TV was more reliable than some flat screens we have encountered elsewhere. The bed was very comfortable. The food (buffet style) was good and plentiful, although the staff sometimes struggled to keep up with demand. The service was friendly.
Just Go did not ask us if we wanted a smoking or non-smoking room and we were lucky to be allocated a no smoking room. Someone else, with chest problems, was allocated a room which had been used by a smoker, and felt that her problem was not as sympathetically received as she thought it should have been.
Ratings relate to what I think a hotel in this sector of the market might reasonably provide, rather than to some absolute standard.

Room Tip: Make sure to specify smoking or no smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    190
    295
    216
    633
See reviews for
263
451
88
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

I am currently sat in the hotel room, it's dirty & shabby. Old fashioned tv & sticky carpets. Advertises wifi yet I can't get it in my room & hotel full so I can't move rooms. I am on business here & need the wifi however the staff didn't seem to give a damn!
I won't EVER stay here again it's vile.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Pugsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stockport hotels

wiltshire UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a four night stay as part of a coach trip with Just Go. Having read the reviews prior to arrival, we were very apprehensive as so many of them were poor. The reality was, we were greeted by a friendly young lady, and given the key and room information. We were allocated room 179, although rather small, it was very clean and comfortable, the TV worked well and had two comfor,table chairs,, tea and coffee facilities, and good storage. The bathroom was clean and modern, and the shower was perfect, with lashings of hot water. It did get busy at times in the dining room, but the food was of good quality and plenty of it. The breakfast was exceptionally good. It may be that some of the rooms are not up to the standard of the one we had, but we had nothing to complain about.

Room Tip: all the ones in A wing on ground and 1st floor seemed to be fine...we were in 179
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishDeb_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Reading your results I thought that the hotel was a mistake but for 1 night so what the heck infact I was pleased very very pleased with this hotel the staff were excellent nothing was a problem food great plenty of choice the room was very clean WELL DONE TO YOU ALL AND NOT FORGETING OUR DRIVER TERRY WELL DONE AGAIN.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn15951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Arrived for an overnight stay before a morning flight. Went down to eat and was told the restaurant was full because of a coach trip and they weren't doing bar food because 'the chef is too busy'

Had to drive out to find a place to eat in a town we didn't know. Terrible customer service and the bar manager couldn't care less
If we were told about this on arrival we would have gone out earlier
As a travel consultant I feel obliged to post an honest review of the experience

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Cannot knock the food - however getting to it was chaotic ( who organises this) staff very helpful and friendly but also believe chaotic - rooms ok but need more deep cleaing - no chance of visiting again UNLESS

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We were on a four-day coach trip from the South Coast which only cost £140 per head including excursions, so we were expecting a modest hotel After reading other reviews, our expectations were diminished further. In fact, we were delighted. Our room was clean, recently decorated and well maintained. Shower and bath water were always piping hot and we had complete control over room heat. The food was hot and well presented with a reasonable choice and breakfast in particular was excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful. We can only praise the hotel. Interestingly it also seemed popular with 'white van men' and I reckon they know a thing or two about where to stay.
Pity you had to pay to use the on-site swimming pool. That was a first for us.

Room Tip: No idea, really, but we were in 177.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockport
2.2 mi away
Trivelles Mayfair
Trivelles Mayfair
#10 of 15 in Stockport
77 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
0.6 mi away
Alma Lodge Hotel
Alma Lodge Hotel
#7 of 15 in Stockport
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#8 of 15 in Stockport
958 reviews
4.8 mi away
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Stockport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Stockport

Property: Britannia Hotel Stockport
Address: 67 Dialstone Lane | Offerton, Stockport SK2 6AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Stockport 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Stockport is a modern hotel situated in a quiet residential district close to Stockports bustling town centre, with a wide range of shops and entertainment. The Hotel features the spacious Jenny's cocktail bar offering a relaxing atmosphere where locals and guests can unwind. Jenny's restaurant serves delicious food at breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Britannia Hotel Stockport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockport Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel Stockport Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing