We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quick check in. OK for 1 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Stockport
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very quick check in. OK for 1 night stay”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We booked this for a night stay before airport travel and on return. Quite basic but clean. If anyone has ever seen the Titanic you will remember the lifts. This hotel has the same one. It gave us a laugh trying to get in and out with luggage was near impossible but at the same time was an experience I will never forget.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfan1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    190
    295
    216
    633
See reviews for
263
451
88
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hull
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

If you're booking this hotel expecting a 5 star place you'll be disappointed but if you want a fairly clean, if dated and in need of some attention, bed for the night on a budget then it's ideal! If you're booking on a park and fly just check where you're actually parking for the duration of your holiday, we had to drive to another hotel on the morning of our flight, bit of a chore but totally my fault for not reading it properly!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILoveHolidays03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

After reading the reviews I was dreading our stay at the hotel which was arranged by Caledonian Travel. However, we were pleasantly surprised as the lounge and dining area was bright and airy, checking in was carried out efficiently, considering the whole group of us arrived at the same time. Our room was very comfortable, number 142 above the reception area, nice fresh bedding and fresh towels every day which I wasn't really expecting going by other reviews. Also, toiletries provided as well as the information that all toiletries and tea making items could be readily replaced by contacting Reception. Really didn't bother about the TV. The hotel is dated, but it would cost so much to refurbish etc. and what do you expect at £99 per night for dinner, B& B plus all your travel? Some folks only paid £89 , so even better value.
The buffet breakfast and dinner suited us as you could eat as little or as much as you liked and there was a good variety of food , particularly at dinner, during the three nights we were there. Certainly, my husband wasn't fussy on the sausages either,but other than that,fine. I found the staff all very helpful and happy to replace coffee with fresh flask etc. However, at busy times you did have to wait a little bit. Plenty of staff and tables were quickly reset for the next set of guests. We also enjoyed the Happy Hour and a half as well as the wee bit entertainment on the Wednesday night. Not often do you get to hear Poco's Rose of Cimarron in a public place. The Bingo was very short and a wee distraction which some of us enjoyed. You can't suit everyone all of the time.
I can't understand the comments about the car park and location of the hotel in previous posts. We had several walks around the quiet residential area after being on the bus or after dinner. The fitness facilities looked quite well used and was open long hours, but unfortunately we did not have time to try the swimming etc. for ourselves. All in all , a very pleasant break and great getting everything done for us.

Room Tip: Fine for a short stay, would consider staying here if flying out from Manchester airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Booked an overnight stay here for 2 adults and an infant using lastminute.com. Arrived early evening to find no cot for my son, requested one from reception to be told that all cots are locked up at house keeping and I should have requested one earlier. Not a good start. I then discovered a sizeable piece of broken glass on the bathroom floor and only 2 very small hand towels rather than bath towels provided in the bathroom. We were placed in a ground floor room and awoken at 11pm by a large steel trolley being pushed back and forth outside our room window which in turn woke me, my partner and son. Then to top it all 2 guests were checked into the room directly above ours at 3.40am. We again were awoken and could hear every single footstep on the creaky floor and pretty much the entire conversation of the two gents in the room above. It happens these guests who were in no hurry to get to sleep and chatted until sunrise. If you can stay in a modern travelodge or premier Inn then do so! At least they can provide basic facilities like a cot and are designed to reduce the noise between rooms. I genuinely considered checking out and going home even though home is a good 3 and half hours away! Just awful.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomasjones1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stockport hotels

York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Nothing special, but clean and cheap enough for a night before a early morning flight from Manchester airport... Walls could be thicker as i could hear someone enjoying their night...

Would stay again...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filipino_chino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed for 1 night whilst helping our daughter to move house. Many years ago (40) it was an excellent hotel but now everything about the place is shabby and tired looking. Our room was reasonably clean but again really needs modernising and decorating. Breakfast was help your self and I have to say I have had better in a cheap transport cafe. Bacon fatty and undercooked, eggs looked as though they had been on a hot plate for hours, sausages which were such poor quality tasted only of breadcrumbs and so it went on. It would appear that it survives on coach parties paying £99 pp for 3 nights Dinner B&B, so really what can you expect but we paid £58 for 1 night B&B and felt it was probably worth no more than £20. The dinner menu was laughable (we did not eat there).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carriefie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed 1 night on a coach trip break. Room quite small but the beds were comfortable and the bed linen spotlessly clean. Bathroom very dated but again, clean towels and toiletries provided. Meals were buffet style and hot and plentiful. Staff were very nice and efficient. Would be happy to stay there again on a short break.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandraK60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockport
2.2 mi away
Trivelles Mayfair
Trivelles Mayfair
#10 of 15 in Stockport
77 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
0.6 mi away
Alma Lodge Hotel
Alma Lodge Hotel
#7 of 15 in Stockport
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#8 of 15 in Stockport
958 reviews
4.8 mi away
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Stockport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Stockport

Property: Britannia Hotel Stockport
Address: 67 Dialstone Lane | Offerton, Stockport SK2 6AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Stockport 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Stockport is a modern hotel situated in a quiet residential district close to Stockports bustling town centre, with a wide range of shops and entertainment. The Hotel features the spacious Jenny's cocktail bar offering a relaxing atmosphere where locals and guests can unwind. Jenny's restaurant serves delicious food at breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Hotel Stockport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockport Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel Stockport Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing