We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Stockport
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights and although not palatial the prices reflect this. The staff were friendly and helpful. OK the rooms could do with decorating but were fit for purpose. The food was fine not 4 star quality but perfectly edible. We didn't spend much time in the room but our TV worked fine.Perfect for a stopover of a few nights.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saratcambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    190
    295
    216
    633
See reviews for
263
451
88
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We spent one night here as part of our trip to the Coronation Street tour. Although the room was quite small it was basically adequate for one night. I have to admit I would not want to stay longer than that as the facilities are not great. The very small wardrobe is filled with spare pillows and blankets and is blocked by a heavy chair in front of it. The TV is very old and does not have many channels to choose from but the bathroom was very clean and has both bath and shower. A shelf to put your sponge bag on would have been nice though. There was nowhere to put anything.
We were on the second floor and the ancient lift did not always work as people left the gate open when leaving it.
There were a few stains on the carpet but the bed was comfy and the room was warm.
We found it very quiet and certainly did not encounter any drunks. The food was adequate and edible even if there was not a great deal of choice. Service was fine. I asked if they had any soya milk and it was brought instantly.
We certainly had more than 3 tv channels and did not experience any flickering lights as experienced by the reviewer of "The worst Hotel in England". We found the staff helpful and friendly
I think the above reviewer was probably very unlucky.
I would like to say to the management though "Get the carpets cleaned or replaced. Ours looked as if someone had dripped blood on it at some time".

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor at the back. Much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maz03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This place is horrible, dirty and noisy. ALL the reviews are all true, and the only people that don't mind this hotel are the drunks that go there every evening and weekends, making the place more discussing and loud. DONT GO THERE EVEN IF YOU ARE DESPERATE!!!
Frequente things you will encounter : Dirty walls, Filthy Carpets, Disgusting Bathrooms, noises from slamming heavy room doors, flickering lights as you walk through the creepy hallway, Broken elevator, Broken Tube TV with no remote control and only 3 channels,you will hear EVERYTHING from the room next to you (paper thin walls) , Drunks everywhere, noisy cleaners, Fire alarm at 3 am almost every night!!!!! This place is a disgrace, it should be shut down!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Drika_Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stockport hotels

Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Didn't bother reading reviews before I booked this hotel so arrived with no prior knowledge.

The young girl on check in wouldn't win any prizes for her personality. She didn't tell me my room number, dining times or anything else for that matter. No conversation whatsoever.

Reception / communal areas are very dated and in need of an upgrade. Same can be said for the rooms... Wall paper hanging off, paint retouched with different shades, corridors stinking of cigarettes, paper thin walls (luckily the couple in the next room were arguing rather than anything else) and old style tv. On the plus... Comfy bed, very clean, nice shower & constant hot water, hairdryer & tea and coffee facilities.

The food, carvery style & self service. It was ok, everything cooked well and a choice of meals. Reasonable priced drinks at the bar.

The staff are friendly and attentive throughout the hotel and are holding the hotel up. It really needs some money spending on it to bring it up to the 21st century.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pinklady1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed here as part of a travelstyle coach tour had twin room on ground floor clean and plenty of space good shower and plenty of hot water. Nice firm bed and food was lovely + plenty of choice the hotel staff were friendly and very helpful and the days out with travelstyle were lovely thank you to coach driver Philip who made the whole weekend very enjoyable . Sue and friends / romford.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzywon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We were staying 2 nights while on a rugby tour hence a fairly animated group among others doing the same. For the price we thought it a good deal compared to rival options and were impressed by the staff smiling through our various needs. Fire alarms went off both nights with no reason, Food adeqaute and beer cheap. Showers excellent. Decor tired

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Most of the reviews have summed up this hotel very well. We were here for a rugby tour and it served its purpose well as we spent little time here and when we did it was in a well-stocked bar with very reasonable prices and excellent staff. The food was like school dinners and the decor very dated. The hotel is in need of a makeover and re-brand; some of the fixtures and fittings made my DIY (which is poor) look very professional!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank nisamajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockport
2.2 mi away
Trivelles Mayfair
Trivelles Mayfair
#10 of 15 in Stockport
77 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
0.6 mi away
Alma Lodge Hotel
Alma Lodge Hotel
#7 of 15 in Stockport
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#8 of 15 in Stockport
958 reviews
4.8 mi away
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Stockport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Stockport

Property: Britannia Hotel Stockport
Address: 67 Dialstone Lane | Offerton, Stockport SK2 6AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Stockport 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Stockport is a modern hotel situated in a quiet residential district close to Stockports bustling town centre, with a wide range of shops and entertainment. The Hotel features the spacious Jenny's cocktail bar offering a relaxing atmosphere where locals and guests can unwind. Jenny's restaurant serves delicious food at breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Hotel Stockport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockport Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel Stockport Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing