We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NEVER AGAIN!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Stockport
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“NEVER AGAIN!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Myself and a friend was on a coronation street tour with sunrise coaches.
When we got to the hotel it looked ok from outside with nice big car park.a man was there in the car park to give our keys and we went straight to the rooms top floor).the public areas looked very dated and dull.we got to our rooms they were cleaned and looked tidy but my old style tv did not work so asked if i could move rooms.the guy on reception was good and sorted it..and had a bit better room and the tv worked!.Anyway the worst thing about the rooms is they were so hot even with a fan and window opened(which only opened 2 inches)it made no difference.I had 4 hours sleep each night which caused me to not enjoy my break away.everyone on our coach and other guests at the hotel said the same thing!and did the managers care NO!!I also moved my chest of drawers out and that had not been cleaned for weeks rubbish and chewing gum stuck to carpets!anyway the maids did clean rooms everyday but they missed a few people on my coach party as they were more interested in cleaning hotel for new coach coming in and for a wedding that day.And guests and myself had seen the maids were chatting drinking coffee while working!
Anyway as for the meals well low budget food.allways hot thou and allways stocking up but the soup and deserts were the best.the only thing was we did not eat till late at night as thats the time our coach party were given which upset alot of people.As for breakfast that was better apart from nasty sausages and warm coffee.
I am not a snob and do a lot of cheap coach hoildays and have been with sunrise a few times and have never had any problem before but sunrise really needs to think about using another hotel in the near future.but I could not fault the driver or the trips apart from the corrie tour needed to be a bit longer!! but would like to say the only good thing about the hotel is the staff.they are so friendly and work so hard and try their best but needs new managers and a good dame clean. oh and nice firm beds not that i could sleep! but would i return again?NO.

Room Tip: do not bother all hot book elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roseriddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    190
    285
    211
    615
See reviews for
257
439
85
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gosforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed for one night as part of a coach tour. First impression when entering from the car park at the back wasn't good. The receptionist dealt with us promptly and with a friendly smile. Our room was on the first floor, it was adequate size, nice and light, with twin beds pushed together but they were very comfortable. The bathroom was very tired and the toilet lid was unclean (not sure why).

The self service restaurant experience was ok, average food but plenty of it. The young waiter was slightly surly and slow, dirty plates were not removed which resulted in the table becoming very cluttered.

Happy hour in the bar with football blaring from the wide screen tv didn't make us feel relaxed in this area, so as there was know where outside to sit we went to the room early and watched the tiny portable tv!!

After a good nights sleep and a hot shower, we went down to a good breakfast but dreadful coffee. Other guests were not very happy with their rooms or the hotel experience.

To sum up, this is a budget hotel and very tired and I think this rubbed off on the staff. It is in need of a lot of modernisation but was ok for a one night stay!!

Room Tip: Ground floor probably better than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

stayed here for 3 nights over Easter,along with my daughter and mother.we had requested a triple room but were very surprised to find that a relatively small twin room had another bed squeezed in,meaning there was hardly any room to move,the mattresses were ok and the sheets were clean, but the bathroom was in a poor condition,chipped tiles and dirty grouting.
It was reasonably clean but the hotel is in desperate need for renovation.
The food was ok,there were options but the basic ingredients were not of the best quality.
As it was part of a coach trip alongside 2 other coaches,you had to rush for a table and whenever any food ran out you had to wait quite a while for it to be restocked.
it is not a hotel that I would like to revisit

Room Tip: try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elapatrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

NOTHING about this hotel is good. Nothing. This hotel is dirty, filthy, disgusting. The rooms fall apart, the bathrooms fall apart, The chairs and bedding and curtains and carpets smell and are stained, the woodwork hasnt been painted since WOII. The showers lead on the food on the buffet (this really happened!!) the rooms smell discusting, there are pubes everywhere, and often the rooms are rented for 'pleasure' per hour. Absolutely disgusting!! Do not go here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Booked in for 3 night business trip and couldn't stay for one night - booked into premier inn instead. Damp musky smell in room, very dated. It was an absolute disgrace. After complaining, the second room was just as bad. Carpet was taped together, a rickety old bed with grey sheets and bathroom just awful also. After complaining again, offered free bottle of wine but refused it. The hotel were unwilling to refund any of the costs for the 3 night stay and appear to be in complete denial about the standards, Head House Keeper advised there were no issues with either of the rooms booked out. Surprised that Environmental Health have not shut the place down. Even Gordon Ramsay would have his work cut out for this one! This has been the worst ever experience of a 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
motherwell
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

stayed here last week for 3 nights. didnt know what to expect as reviews are not good. we were in room 7 on the ground floor and it was very nice. the food was ok and plenty of it. breakfast a bit busy and had to scramble about a bit for a table but always plenty to eat. we were with a coach party and some of them were not pleased with rooms etc .. for what we paid we were pleased enough..what i would say to manager is get the public area chairs cleaned as it looks bad when they are all stained..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaretmotherwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

I have waited over a year for a proper response from the manager after complaining about my stay as I wanted to give a fair chance but after a lot of emails only to received a couple back. One did offer a discount on another stay but after asking what discount ,I have never heard a response since!!
When we arrived at the hotel the drive all the way up the side of the hotel was covered in fag ends.
We arrived and there was a wedding on so the staff were very busy which is understandable.
We bedroom was old fashioned, had tea, coffee stains down the wall and a tar like substance on the carpet.
When we went for tea which was supposed to be a wine and dine deal in the restaurant we waited and waited but the restaurant didn't open, the staff were again very busy with the wedding. We asked at reception to be told we could just get something from the bar menu as the restaurant wouldn't be opening , but if we wished we could eat there on our own. We couldn't believe what we'd wasted our money on. It was supposed to be a treat spending more after usually stopping in travelodges but id stay in a travel lodge any time over this hotel!! It is just over a year since we stayed (18th April)so things might have changed but I wouldnt risk it unless you manage to get the cheapest deal ever!!!!!! Ours was about £74 for the wine and dine deal, massive waste!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asilyates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockport
0.6 mi away
Alma Lodge Hotel
Alma Lodge Hotel
#5 of 15 in Stockport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
2.2 mi away
Trivelles Mayfair
Trivelles Mayfair
#13 of 15 in Stockport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stockport South Hotel
4.8 mi away
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#8 of 15 in Stockport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Stockport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Stockport

Property: Britannia Hotel Stockport
Address: 67 Dialstone Lane | Offerton, Stockport SK2 6AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Stockport 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Stockport is a modern hotel situated in a quiet residential district close to Stockports bustling town centre, with a wide range of shops and entertainment. The Hotel features the spacious Jenny's cocktail bar offering a relaxing atmosphere where locals and guests can unwind. Jenny's restaurant serves delicious food at breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Hotel Stockport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockport Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel Stockport Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing