We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Listen to the warnings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Stockport
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Terrible miserable receptionist to greet us. No get up and go about her at all. I know it's not a nice place to work a little bit of effort would be good. Room very dated and bits of rotten wood throughout the bathroom. Worst thing is the temperature. Probably the hottest room I have ever stayed in. Even with the windows open. Shower varied in temperature so much during a shower , very dangerous.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

712 - 718 of 1,427 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

just back from this hotel was really worried after reading the reviews first impression not good we stayed with a coach party of 52 but on arrival it was very very busy guy at deak very rude to people and unhelpful durin our 4day stay there were bus loads of people each night and it was very hard and almost impossible to get a seat on the plus there are two pubs a few mins walk away to go at night the food was good and plenty of it our room was basic but dated but you get what you pay for folks bar didn't open until 530 for happy hour so hard luck if you were first dinner sitting but we all basically had a laugh about it faulty towers big brother

Room Tip: top floor very warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Very. Worried. About this. Hotel because. Of reviews. On TripAdvisor. But could. Not fault It food good service at bar okay room clean towels changed every day. And beds made up to. spa was very Good type of hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Dirty room toilet not working reported each day, rang my husband at home n he said fill bathroom bin with water to throw down toilet which is what we r having to do, i am 67 n walk with stick my sister is 70 and has copd!!!! Room window opens very little big extractor things on roof making awfull noise n making rooms very hot so they gave us small fan heater!! SHOWER CURTAIN is filthy so asked for a new one which we havent had so reverting to good old fashioned wash down because libel to pick up more germs off curtain as it comes around in circle around your body nothing to put on floor to step out onto and we informed hotel before stay disabled low floor please. Music from gym totally unacceptable

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kath D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my 8-year old for two long weeks after my husband fell seriously ill during our holiday in Buxton and had to be taken to Stockport Stepping Hill Hospital. Due to the circumstances, at some point I was kindly granted a special rate. The food is good and the restaurant serves until late (for British standards, that is), the staff is helpful and friendly, and there's a cosy feeling about the common areas. But that's about it. I had to keep changing rooms (4 times I think) because there was always something wrong - faulty shower, no internet connection, some permanent annoying noise that no one cared to fix. Other recurring unfortunate episodes included the fire alarm going off frequently during the night, flickering lights that could trigger an epileptic fit, an old lift in the back that wouldn't work most of the time because it was hard to handle, and the indescribable noise kids on school trips can make, keeping you desperatly awake for most of the night. At some point I told the on duty manager that it wasn't my job to go on pointing at all things that needed improvement. Also, make sure you keep an eye on your personal belongings because when I complained about a small gadget going missing I was basically taken for a liar. Two more things: although the gymn staff is very friendly, the swimming pool is only small and not very child friendly (members from the outside come at all times for some serious swimming). Also, the hotel is located in a quiet and nice residential area but if you have to rely on public transportation it isn't the best of choices.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vera P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed as part of a coach group booking, which for some reason choose this hotel instead of the usual Days Hotel we normally use.

The receptionist was okay, not too helpful, but not rude either, we were supposed to have a 3 course meal on arrival but did arrive slightly late, and our starter had disappeared so we had no starter, then the main meal had been left under heat lamps so was not very nice, and also the waitressing staff were also helping themselves to the food the same time we were which was very unprofessional, desserts had been left out to long and were not very nice.

There is a 'leisure centre' on site but we did not use.

Bar is reasonably priced for a hotel, the room we stayed in was a triple supposed to be double and single bed ended up with 3 singles, (Room 217) huge hole in the wall leading to bathroom, was clean but very very basic.

Altogether the hotel was okay for one night.

Room Tip: All the same really
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed at britannia for 1 night on business in Stockport. Believe the reviews! Public spaces were dirty. Room stank of smoke despite requesting a non smoking room. Net curtains were grey, no light bulb in lamp, filthy light fitting, ripped quilt cover, mouldy bathroom ceiling, dirty doors, have seen better tVs in a skip...could go on. Only saving grace is the staff are quite nice. Feel sorry for them having to deal with all this stuff! It's not hard, this place is making plenty money, just invest a bit back in and clean it up!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sjh1121963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockport
2.2 mi away
Trivelles Mayfair
Trivelles Mayfair
#10 of 15 in Stockport
95 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
1.2 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#8 of 15 in Stockport
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alma Lodge Hotel
Alma Lodge Hotel
#6 of 15 in Stockport
521 reviews
4.8 mi away
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Wycliffe Hotel
Wycliffe Hotel
#4 of 15 in Stockport
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Stockport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Stockport

Address: 67 Dialstone Lane, Stockport SK2 6AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Price Range: £33 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Stockport 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Stockport is a modern hotel situated in a quiet residential district close to Stockports bustling town centre, with a wide range of shops and entertainment. The Hotel features the spacious Jenny's cocktail bar offering a relaxing atmosphere where locals and guests can unwind. Jenny's restaurant serves delicious food at breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Britannia Hotel Stockport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockport Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel Stockport Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing