We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than all the reviews!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Stockport
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Better than all the reviews!!!!!”
Reviewed 5 January 2011

I booked 11 rooms for our works christmas Party in December 2010, and after reading all the previous reviews on here we were very weary of booking.
I have stayed in some very nice expensive hotels in my time, and i have stayed in one really bad one, but this wasn't it, this one impressed me for the value.
I dealt with the deputy Manager when booking, and it couldn't have gone more smoothly, she couldn't have done more for us. There was one thing they didn't tell us and that was about the £2 booking fee on a Debit or Credit Card.
The appearence isn't the best but as my mum says never judge a book by its cover!!
The room was nice, nice and big, and recently decorated to a high standard.
The Breakfast was nice, and especially after a heavy night the night before it was well earned.

Above all if i were needing a room to sleep in, in Stockport again i would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JP8844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager702, Manager at Britannia Hotel Stockport, responded to this review, 22 January 2011
Thank you for the positive comments, especially regarding the deputy manager Theresa who is customer focused.
Hopefully we will see you again in the future, and thank you for recommendation

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    192
    298
    222
    638
See reviews for
270
459
89
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

when we entered our hotel room no 166 the smell was appalling, the carpets were very dirty and stained, the toilet was stained from previous occupants and the dust on the television and elsewhere around the room was about 6 inch thick.
on a positive side the towels and bedlinen were clean, the food was very nice,
did not enjoy my stay there because of the disgusting smell, we did report it to the reception staff, they didn't seem too interested really, i think it was because we were with a tour group booking.
certainly would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perrin16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager702, Manager at Britannia Hotel Stockport, responded to this review, 22 January 2011
Room 166 is newly refurnished room,
I visited the room all appears in order, If any one had contacted the reception we would have gladly re serviced, My apologies for the carpet as it had been cleaned by contactor that morning the odour from cleaning products can linger sometimes, We are sorry if it caused you concern,

Thank you for your comments

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stockport hotels

Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2010

We had great night (abba night )we was in room 83 warm ,clean (no problem)brother and wife in 81 ,the staff very friendly (Rachel from the entertainment did a great job )the room and tables was set up lovely with crackers and candle' ,forgot to say the shower was great,will be back ,very good value for money (we laugh all night )that is what its all about thank you see you soon Bev and paddy

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager702, Manager at Britannia Hotel Stockport, responded to this review, 22 January 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write with positive comments, the ABBA night went very well great atmosphere and we will probably repeat this year


General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

food awful, service awful, no room service, rooms very outdated and scruffy, carpets dirty, toothpaste all over curtains in our room, no cold wine!, blocked bathroom sink, staff didnt know way around hotel when asked directions to rear exit as it is a large hotel, didnt know how to make liquer coffees, no entertainment, dishes left in corridor for whole of our stay, room phone dirty, bathroom clean but in great need of refurb, only one sheet on bare mattress. only stayed as it was designated hotel through national holidays.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewer1northeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager702, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Stockport, responded to this review, 17 December 2010
Whoever this client is i was sorry to read they were unhappy. Had it been mentioned at the time, we could have rectified any issue either by re-servicing their room or allocating another room. As i have mentioned previously, entertainment is an additional cost which is either included or excluded on price agreement with the coach tour company. None was requested for this group. I am not aware of any other hotel that has more than one sheet on a mattress. If this client wanted an additional sheet then we would have been happy to supply it. Fortunately the comment cards that I received from the guests from national holidays were favourable. We do not leave dirty plates on the corridor. They are collected at night. Even if they had been missed at night, the housekeeping staff would collected the following day when servicing the rooms. As far as value for money, this particular group paid a little more than £20 per person for accommodation, breakfast and a 3 course dinner. The appreciation of the value was voiced by some in their comment cards. If this client wishes to return in the future, if they telephone the hotel we would be happy to look at a refurbished bedroom as a gesture of good will.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2010

My company booked three colleagues and myself into the Britannia for three nights. Prior to the visit, I read trip advisor and was dreading my sojourn there, However, my worst fears were not realised and our stay was quite pleasant. My mattress was quite lumpy on the first night, but I asked for a change of mattress and it was changed and the problem resolved that day. Our rooms were clean, the staff were friendly and attentive, and the breakfasts and three course set meal in the evenings were fine and value for money. My only slight concern was the noisy lift, but that was not a problem after 11pm. If you need a desk/dressing table to work on in the evenings it is advisable to check this on booking.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merlyn39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager702, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Stockport, responded to this review, 23 November 2010
Thank you for your positive comments. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your visit. As i have mentioned in previous reviews we literally can have thousands of residents in a busy month.
The vast majority are happy,they generally either pass a verbal comment complete a comment card or in the main dont bother at all.
Some guests have a genuine issue ,with over 4000 residents per month we are going to have something go wrong or we simply cannot meet someones expectations.or the complaint is not valid.
Slowly we are renovating our remaining old bedroom stock.
We look forward to your return. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2010

Had a 1 night stay here in Mid October, booked through the Central Reservations department and was able to get 4 poster bed room for a around £80 Dinner, Bed and Breakfast rate.

Ok, the hotel does look a bit tired from the outside, but everything has to be taken in proportion really, the first thing I noticed was that the car park is around the back of the hotel and can be quite a trek to reception if you have bags, there is an way in around the back of the hotel, however, this is not sign posted.

Check-in was quick and efficent, but they do have a weird system where you have to pay for you room up front and then they take another authorisation for any extras. It just seems a strange way of doing things, surely it would be easier to charge you when you check out.

Room was excellent really and I could not find any faults with it at all, bed was comfortable and there were plenty of pillows available.

Staff seemed friendly, although I think I confused the waiting staff in the restaurant. Dinner was included in the rate, but did not really fancy what was offered on the set menu. I asked for something off the bar menu and offered to pay extra to do this, but the waitress could not really get her head around this.

Not a bad stay really, but one tip I would give is to pay a little extra and get one of the better rooms.

Would I go back? I would if I could have the same room as it really was quite comfortable, however, I would not go back if it was one of the cheaper rooms. To be honest this would apply to any of the Britannia Hotels, pay for an executive room and you will be ok, pay for a cheaper room and it is pot luck.

Plus Points :- Nice room, Good Price, Friendly Staff

Negative Points:- Hotel looks a little tired in public areas

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welshtraveller36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager702, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Stockport, responded to this review, 23 November 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. The reason we require your card details on check in is simply to ensure that all clients are credit worthy.
That is a normal procedure in Hotels we can ensure that you have the credit to extend your account for drinks food etc.,
If you return in the future, we have a number of spacious, refurbished bedrooms that are being completed at the rate of one a week. Thank you for your comments. General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

The room was clean and tidy and well equiped. Breakfast and dinners were buffet style, with choices and no limit on quantity, and as well cooked and presented as a large 'canteen' can manage. Most on our tour were pleasantly surprised at the quality for the money.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oftenaway190730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager702, Manager at Britannia Hotel Stockport, responded to this review, 23 November 2010
Thank you for the positive comments. We view ourselves as a value for money hotel. Nearly all our food is prepared fresh daily. We are also producing wholesome sweets made on the premises which include spotted dick, treacle sponge/syrup sponge, fruit flans, crumbles, various fruit pies, bread and butter pudding etc. Hopefully we will see you again in the future. General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockport
2.2 mi away
Trivelles Mayfair
Trivelles Mayfair
#11 of 15 in Stockport
86 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
0.6 mi away
Alma Lodge Hotel
Alma Lodge Hotel
#7 of 15 in Stockport
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#8 of 15 in Stockport
969 reviews
4.8 mi away
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Stockport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Stockport

Property: Britannia Hotel Stockport
Address: 67 Dialstone Lane | Offerton, Stockport SK2 6AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Stockport 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Stockport is a modern hotel situated in a quiet residential district close to Stockports bustling town centre, with a wide range of shops and entertainment. The Hotel features the spacious Jenny's cocktail bar offering a relaxing atmosphere where locals and guests can unwind. Jenny's restaurant serves delicious food at breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Hotel Stockport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockport Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel Stockport Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing