We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We saved the best till last"”
Review of The Phad Thai

The Phad Thai
Ranked #32 of 558 Restaurants in Stockport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We saved the best till last"”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Just spent 3 weeks in the UK with mini visits to Switzerland and Italy.
Was determined to visit the Phad Thai before we left as we'd discovered this little gem last time we were over.
I had ribs for starters, the meat just fell off the bone, yummy...we shared 3 main meals between the 3 of us, everyone a winner, with the best coconut rice ever.
The restaurant has had a refurbishment since our last visit, but it still holds the wonderful cosy feeling.
Thanks again to all the staff for their outstanding customer service.
If you live local or in the area give it a go you won't be disappointed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lyndalove48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    28
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant Thai food, excellent value”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Really great Thai food, staff are really friendly and although it is small and can be a bit like eating in someone's front room, the food is so good you soon forget where you are. A massive plus is that you can also take your own alcohol. The portions are plentiful and it is really good value for money.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank naomibones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“mmmmmmmm!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

i came here after being given raving reviews from my friends, how right they were!!!! i booked a table of 18 for a surprise birthday party for my husband, food was prompt as was the service. brilliant value for money as well. i shared a banquet for 2 at £24 which consisted of 3 starters to share, 3 mains to share, which came with a choice of rice and banana fritters with ice cream and cream to finish. all was absolutely delicious, the flavours tasted unique and not 1 was bland. as the restaurant isn't licensed you can bring your own alcohol which they charge a very reasonable £1:50 corkage fee per bottle of wine. Overall was a wonderful time, will definatley be coming again!!!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JOLENE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
93 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Size does not matter”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

From the outside it appears as an unassuming shop frontage in a built up area. Once inside there is an intimate, simple, warm atmosphere. The food is outstandingly good, prepared with imagination and care by a chef with expert skills. The menu is extensive but entirely affordable and attractive. The welcome are friendly and helpful - it is so refreshing to meet staff who actually know how the food is made and what the main ingredients are! I only hope that the restaurant's quality and reputation do not spoil is intimacy and uniqueness. Small is beautiful and size does not matter. We have enjoyed a wonderful meal (and an equally superb take away).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kpf1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Small and friendly”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Not the nicest of settings but good tasty food, friendly service although sometimes a little slow and great value.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DannyM-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Phad Thai also viewed

Stockport, Greater Manchester
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 
Stockport, Greater Manchester
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Phad Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing