We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed report...”
Review of Wycliffe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wycliffe Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Mixed report...”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I cannot a gree with many of the comments on this hotel. I have stayed a couple of times now and on both experiences have had issues with the rooms. first time got room 2. Big room, big shower, smelt terrible. It is positioned above the hotel's gents public toilet. The second time, room 14, there was no hot water for a shower and no water pressure. When I turned on the sink tap the shower stopped. Received apologies but no bill adjustment on either ocassion.
On the up side the food is good and the residents menu is really good value at £17.50 for three courses. The free olives and peanuts at the bar are a nice touch and the staff are attentive.
Overall it's disappointing and the decor throughout the hotels main public areas is ver 70s.

Room Tip: Avoid room 2 above the gents toilets
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wycliffehotel, Manager at Wycliffe Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Sir,

It is with great regret that you have had issues with the hotel on both of your stays with us.

I have monitored room 2 since your last stay and we cannot find an odour problem.

We, however, have found an issue with the water pressure in room 14. An air releasing valve had failed which caused an airlock to build up in the hot pipes your room. A mechanical failure can happen at any point and thanks to your comments the issue is now resolved.

I would like to thank you for your kind words about the restaurant and for staying with us. I sincerely hope that now the issues are reselved we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

If you wish I would be happy to discuss these issues further, please contact me at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    58
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
46
66
13
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

only ate in the restaurant for a family celebration but must say that the staff are friendly helpful and good fun . The food is very good and vegetables nicely cooked only fault I had was that my slow roasted pork did not have any crackling would recommend for family event

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wycliffehotel, Manager at Wycliffe Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your kind words about your experience at the Wycliffe Hotel. The whole team appreciates knowing that their efforts are helping guests to enjoy their experience here. We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the Wycliffe Hotel and Restaurant.
Kind Regards
Mark Tavini
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

A really nice hotel, spotless, comfortable with a great Italian restaurant - stay and food very good value. Under the flight path but so's the rest of Stockport - not a problem really.
I endorse all the positive comments on the right. Wanted to keep the place a secret but having just reviewed The Village at Cheadle I felt I had to prove I could do a good review. If this place is full next time I book I'll be well cheesed off but not surprised.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wycliffehotel, Manager at Wycliffe Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your kind words about the Wycliffe hotel and it's restaurant. They are always welcome and appreciated. As a family business you can rest assured we will always endeavor to provide a caring and quality establishment for our guests and diners.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Wycliffe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Staying one night this week and one night again next week.Hadn't got a clue what to expect as I was booked in 'blind' by my company. The hotel is easy to find and has secure parking. The staff are very pleasant,my room is spotless and well laid out with a good selection of hot drinks etc,but the real clincher is the resturant, I went for a meal from the residents set menu, it was absolutely superb. Can't wait for breakfast tomorrow morning.......

Room Tip: Room 6 is great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wycliffehotel, Manager at Wycliffe Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Thank you for your kind words, any positive feedback is gratefully appreciated. You can rest assured that both management and staff will work hard to maintain and improve on the standards you have noted. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Wycliffe Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

This is the second time we have been here and both the food and service are second to none.
A nice atsmosphere throughout, we sat and had drinks while waiting for our table, staff very pleasant, nothing to much trouble. A good selection of food choices, well cooked and very tasty there were eight of us and so had a variety of meals and everyone as happy with theirs as we were so that shows how good it is. It was very busy but once at your table you stayed there all evening which added that extra touch . Nothing worse than being hustled out after a certain time which happens in some places. Would strongly recommend this hotel for a good night out or a special celebration. You must book which is understandable, it's a popular place and I am not surprised. Prices are good too no more than what you would expect for this type of cuisine.

Room Tip: I haven't stayed overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wycliffehotel, Manager at Wycliffe Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Thank you for making us ware of your positive experience of the Wycliffe Hotel. It is always good to know we are on the right track. Both staff and management will try hard keep up the good work and look for any way in which we can to improve on the standards already laid down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 436 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We had lunch here with friends a few weeks ago. The place does look like it could do with a bit of a refurb.

The restaurant was very quiet, actually deserted and seemed staff had nothing to do until we arrived. We had good and speedy service and our meal was really nice and very good value.

Will certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazza-500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wycliffehotel, Manager at Wycliffe Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013 via mobile

My Brother, Sister and partners and myself and my hubby had a family lunch here on Motherimg Sunday to reflect on the many happy times we had spent there with Mum in the past. From the moment we arrived we were treated like Royalty. We sat in the comfortable bar area with a bottle of champagne to study the menu. Great choice of starters and mains with a soup course in between. The food was absolutely fabulous, nicely presented and the service was superb. Good choice of wines too. The staff make this Restaurant extra special they really ensure you have a lovely time. Thank you to you all for making the day so special. I hope we shall soon return.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kath I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockport
1.3 mi away
Alma Lodge Hotel
Alma Lodge Hotel
#7 of 15 in Stockport
499 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
2.4 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#8 of 15 in Stockport
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle
1.5 mi away
Trivelles Mayfair
Trivelles Mayfair
#10 of 15 in Stockport
77 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#53 of 118 in Manchester
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wycliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wycliffe Hotel

Property: Wycliffe Hotel
Address: 74 Edgeley Road | Edgeley, Stockport SK3 9NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stockport
#1 Business Hotel in Stockport
#1 Green Hotel in Stockport
#2 Family Hotel in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wycliffe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to the Wycliffe Hotel! This family owned and run hotel offers the personal touch for guests staying away from home.Our immaculately clean bedrooms most with kingsize beds are en-suite with flat screen TV, a selection of toiletries, tea & coffee making facilities, room door spy hole for security, trouser press, hair-dryer, iron and free wi-fi internet access. Our full English breakfasts are freshly cooked to order with waitress service. There is ample free car parking, and the bar also serves drinks teas, coffees and bar snacks. Our restaurant offers a wide choice of fixed and individually priced menus throughout the week including Business Lunches, Sunday Lunch, Open Dining, A La Carte, and Resident's Menus, together with a superb wine list. This is also the ideal venue for that special occasion including birthdays, anniversaries, family parties, christenings as well as being a wedding venue. There is a variety of menus to suit every occasion and we can also cater for conferences in our fully self-contained Cortona Suite and funerals for which we have a selection of buffet menus available. Throughout the year we offer a variety of special event menus for:Valentine's Night, St Patrick's Night, Mothering Sunday, Easter Day, St George's Day, Father's Day, Gourmet Evenings and Christmas dinners and discos and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Wycliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wycliffe Hotel Stockport, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing