We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good Hotel”
Review of Wycliffe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wycliffe Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Stockport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My family and I have used the Wycliffe numerous times over the last 3 years, members of my family have stayed here, we've had Sunday lunches and family meals in the evening, we held my sons Christening party here and celebrated our Christmas meal here in 2013.
The staff are friendly and helpful and the food has always been excellent. The function room downstairs is excellent for small (30-40 people) celebrations and family parties.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeanP512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wycliffehotel, Manager at Wycliffe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear Guest,

It is great to hear of you and your family's past and on going association with the Wycliffe hotel. As a family business we are here for the long term and aim to supply great accommodation, food and service to our fantastic clients. Thank you for your very kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel, where we attended a wedding reception. The staff were the best that I have ever met at a hotel and went out of their way to help, the food was fabulous and the hotel spotlessly clean..I would thoroughly recommend this venue for a wedding reception or similar function.

Room Tip: We had room 17 which was quiet,large and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sclandersburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wycliffehotel, Manager at Wycliffe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear Guest,

I am delighted to hear that you all enjoyed the wedding reception held at the Wycliffe hotel. It is a very important day and we are pleased to know that everything went well. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

What, with the wonderful ambience, great service and fantastic food; what more could you expect from this family run hotel? How about king size beds, free WiFi and a well stocked bar.
This hotel has all of these as well as great hosts. Just don't tell everyone as I would hate to be disappointed.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank Somersetshady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wycliffehotel, Manager at Wycliffe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear Guest,

It is so nice to hear that you feel at home while staying at the Wycliffe Hotel. As a regular at the hotel it is always nice to welcome you back. Once again, thank you for your kind words from all of the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a short stay at this wonderful family run hotel, upon arrival we were greeted by their very helpful staff and then booked our evening meal. I would like to mention that this hotel is 3 star rated and is spotlessly clean, but the real surprise was the quality of the food offered at the restaurant. Having eaten at various places around the World I was astounded to the quality of the food on offer-its worth a stay just for the food. Some reviews have mentioned the location being under a flight path, this was not an issue as we hardly noticed the planes and they did not fly at night. Enjoy you stay and meal  : )

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Darrell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wycliffehotel, Manager at Wycliffe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for posting a wonderful review of your stay at the Wycliffe Hotel, you can be assured that your kind comments will be passed to all our staff. We are delighted to read that you appreciate our clean bedrooms and the high quality of food which where possible we source locally and our chefs prepare to order. We very much appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Words cannot express my gratitude to Mark and his team for making our special wedding anniversary a night to remember! The warm welcome,attention to detail and superb food were just perfect! The Wycliffe has been a favourite restaurant of ours for many years and last Saturday served to remind us of how infrequently we visit nowadays! This will be rectified this year! Our friends who were Wycliffe virgins will also be returning. What a fantastic gem of a place!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Gayehillary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wycliffehotel, Manager at Wycliffe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Congratulations for your special wedding anniversary! We are pleased to hear that the Wycliffe’s restaurant has been your firm favourite for many years, delighted that you choose us to host your special dinner and that you so much enjoyed the whole experience. We thank you for your fantastic review and your kind comments will be passed to our team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

My partner and I stayed here over Christmas and were favourably impressed. Room clean and nicely presented. The staff were pleasant, friendly and professional. Although our room overlooked the car park and the outside smoking area and was situated above the bar/dining room space, we weren't bothered by noise (despite busy Christmas funcitions). The breakfasts were promptly served and the food was well-cooked and hot. Two minor problems were fixed within minutes (with the shower and the heating). One very small grouse which I've experienced in other hotels: the bathroom mirror was too low - I'm just over 6 foot and had to crouch over the sink to shave (I shave my head and had to kneel to do this!). We have decided to use the Wycliffe for our future visits to Stockport.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wycliffehotel, Manager at Wycliffe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for "Highly Recommending" the Wycliffe Hotel. We are very pleased to learn that you were impressed with your experience and your comments will be appreciated by our staff. We have checked the height of all bedroom mirrors (unfortunately the room you occupied had the lowest mirror, as you can appreciate we have to accommodate guests of various heights), but we are looking into rectifying the matter in the near future. However, if you would like to contact me directly when you make your next reservation, I will ensure that your allocated bedroom has a more higher placed mirror. We look forward to seeing you in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

I havnt stayed at this hotel but I have eaten here many times The food is lovely and the staff are helpful and friendly. However they used to have a sweet trolley with a wonderful selection of deserts I can understand why they no longer have the trolley if they were wasting a lot of food but when I went there earlier this month the selection of deserts was very disappointing.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wycliffehotel, Manager at Wycliffe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased to hear that you had a “super meal”.
I have passed your kind comments to our staff - we all very much appreciative them.

Unfortunately we were unable to continue with the sweet trolley due to hygiene standards. However, our chefs are now able to freshly prepare and present our desserts individually to a much higher standard than when they were served in the restaurant. I hope we can welcome you back to the Wycliffe Hotel in the future, perhaps for an overnight stay to take advantage of our brand new kingsize beds and bedlinen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockport hotels
1.3 mi away
Alma Lodge Hotel
Alma Lodge Hotel
#6 of 14 in Stockport
540 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
2.4 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#8 of 14 in Stockport
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Trivelles Mayfair
Trivelles Mayfair
#11 of 14 in Stockport
114 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Stockport South Hotel
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Stockport hotel
Travelodge Stockport hotel
#9 of 14 in Stockport
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wycliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wycliffe Hotel

Address: 74 Edgeley Road | Edgeley, Stockport SK3 9NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stockport
#1 Business Hotel in Stockport
#1 Green Hotel in Stockport
#2 Family Hotel in Stockport
Price Range: £80 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wycliffe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to the Wycliffe Hotel! This family owned and run hotel offers the personal touch for guests staying away from home.Our immaculately clean bedrooms most with kingsize beds are en-suite with flat screen TV, a selection of toiletries, tea & coffee making facilities, room door spy hole for security, trouser press, hair-dryer, iron and free wi-fi internet access. Our full English breakfasts are freshly cooked to order with waitress service. There is ample free car parking, and the bar also serves drinks teas, coffees and bar snacks. Our restaurant offers a wide choice of fixed and individually priced menus throughout the week including Business Lunches, Sunday Lunch, Open Dining, A La Carte, and Resident's Menus, together with a superb wine list. This is also the ideal venue for that special occasion including birthdays, anniversaries, family parties, christenings as well as being a wedding venue. There is a variety of menus to suit every occasion and we can also cater for conferences in our fully self-contained Cortona Suite and funerals for which we have a selection of buffet menus available. Throughout the year we offer a variety of special event menus for:Valentine's Night, St Patrick's Night, Mothering Sunday, Easter Day, St George's Day, Father's Day, Gourmet Evenings and Christmas dinners and discos and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wycliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wycliffe Hotel Stockport, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing