We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great musuem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stockport Story Museum

Stockport Story Museum
Ranked #17 of 57 things to do in Stockport
Attraction details
Stockport
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“great musuem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

This place is great! wonderful stories of stockport, things you probably never knew before. All i will say is mills, robinsons brewery amongst some things i did not realise. There are many floors and rooms all accessable by lifts and stairs. army, movie theatres with film clips which are great. All era's covered. Old fashioned toys, old house layouts to name but a few. Dont want to spoil it but saw lots of things from my past and that used to reside in my grandmas house :) Definitely worth a visit. Also look out for oldest part of the house near the entrance to the musuem. Free entry.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank shaljones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    9
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Next to staircase house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

This is free and well worth going round it has a lift i enjoyed my visit very much so have a look at th cockleshell heroes exhibition .Toys from the past lots of things to see here.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank dottybee393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Stockport's James Conway,one of the Cockleshell Heroes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

By chance I picked up a leaflet about the free exhibition located in the basement of the Stockport Story Museum when we were already up in Stockport. We'd already visited the museum on another occasion with our 6 year old when we were left free to explore at our own pace. This time we were intrigued by the tale of the Cockleshell Heroes and the Stockport link, having fairly vague recollections of the 50s film. The exhibition is very moving, with one of the canoes, various artifacts and letters to and from James Conway's family, with the exchanges with the French who helped him and others as much as possible and the inexactitude as to the date of James' death heightening the emotion. To see the letter from the King to his family was amazing and so sad. As I read some of the panels to our son, my voice broke several times. It was interesting to see the map made by local art college students showing the progress of the canoes, the detail about various alternative craft and the timeline of events for such a fateful attack. Our son loved listening to some of the audio and seeing the footage from the 50s film, albeit portraying a loose version of the truth but typical of the era it was made. The beautiful plaque commemorating James Conway deserves a prominent place in Stockport with a meaningful connection to his all too short life. Well done Stockport and the curators, to show that heroes come from all walks of life to confront all sorts of challenges, sometimes with little regard to their own fate but knowing that good will prevail. Not necessarily suitable for young children, though we explained to our son that it was about a group of real men who tried to do something remarkable, rather than imaginary superheroes. Fascinating, moving and well worth visiting... Remember, it's only a short distance from the railway station and therefore not far from Manchester!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ginnymarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“ruined by the 'presenters'”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

just don't go on the guided tour, the huband and wife team seem to think it's their private pantomime. They are not funny and they bore you when you just want to get on and have a look round. We walked out before we fell asleep.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Learac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stockport Story Museum also viewed

Stockport, Greater Manchester
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 
Stockport, Greater Manchester
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Stockport Story Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing