We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cracking Market”
Review of Stockport Market

Stockport Market
Ranked #1 of 9 Shopping in Stockport
Attraction details
Stockport
Level Contributor
197 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A cracking Market”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Plenty to do and see at this historic market, great indoor food hall, with brilliant selections of cheeses, and meats, also brawn available to purchase. lovely fish stalls and bread stalls. ALso great other indoor market, great gloves and hat stall, and plenty of other interesting places, usual goodies outside, great fruit and veg stalls, as well as plenty other besides.Also St Marys the Market place church is always worth a visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bazonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    9
    8
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“stockport shopping”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

decided to travel by train (cross country trains)to stockport to do some shopping the train journey from stoke station was more like a cattle train we were packed in like sardines no excuse for this they need to sort themselves out it must be health and safety.stockport it self a family friendly shopping in the large Mersey side complex well worth a visit also take a walk to the old market and vintage shopping plenty of bargains in the shops not just poundland plenty of places to eat in or take out main shopping is approx. 15 minutes walk from the train station ample signs to follow not asbusy as Manchester but well worth the visit we will be returning in the future but definitely not with cross country trains any other or by car also try stockport hat museum free entry

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank philip h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Book and record fair”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Just returned from a really great book and record fair in Stockport Market. Apparently it's run a few times a year but I discovered today's by accident; and I'm glad I did! There were lots of stalls selling a massive variety of books and records - some real bargains as well as some collector's items if you had a bit more to spend. No charge to get in (a huge bonus given the number of times I've paid in places that just weren't worth it) and easy free parking nearby. I also discovered a little gem cross the road from the main marketplace; a whole floor of vintage clothes, bric a brac, furniture, suitcases and so on, as well as a really lovely book and record shop. Definitely worth going upstairs to take a look. It's refreshing to find somewhere that doesn't seem to equate 'vintage' with 'add a nought to the price'! I'll definitely be going to the next fair.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank JHHwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be....”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Being a stockport lad, at one time the market was vibrant and more stalls that you could wish for.
I visit the market nowadays maybe once a month, the sad thing is there is only a few stalls compared to the days gone by. Friday and Saturday still is worth a visit as its still a lovely place and lovely people. This is my birth place so I cannot criticise my heritage too much.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely unappreciated market hall”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We found this market by chance on a trip to Stockport, very glad we did as there are some great stalls in there and the building is beautiful. Well worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Little_Birchmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stockport Market also viewed

Stockport, Greater Manchester
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Stockport Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing