We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but with problems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (Heald Green) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Certificate of Excellence
oswestry, england
Level Contributor
574 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“good but with problems”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Like most premier Inns, this is significantly better than your average travelodge. Lots of pillows (but a pretty thin double bed) tea coffee, big tv screen, easy checkin, good restaurant nearby.

However, there was, even with the window open, enough aircraft noise to keep me awake, though I am a light sleeper. And with the window closed, it was so hot in the room. The thermostat siad 24 degrees, and though I coudl set it lower, it kept springing back to 24 as there is no aircon, just heating. Not sure where the heat was coming from but it was uncomfortable.

A pity, as everythign else was good including the price, which if you book in one of the sales, can be as low as £29.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaunsouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    323
    78
    35
    20
See reviews for
269
372
60
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

PI Heald Green is very convenient for the airport and rail station. We have stayed there 3 times now and have no complaints. I have never had any problem with aircraft noise at all. We have used the hotel when arriving by air and travelling by train Northwards. It only takes 5 minutes on the train from the airport and is much cheaper than a taxi fare. The trains are frequent. It is very good value for money. If you dont want to use the restaurant next door there are several restaurants just along the street.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mr-harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I use the PI at Heald Green very frequently as I work just up the road. All the reviews about how nice, friendly and helpful all the staff are, are spot on. The hotel has recently been refurbished which has given it a lift. Also I can confirm that the Park and Fly deal is one of the best I have come across.

It is also very handy for Central Manchester as it is 2 minutes from Heald Green railway station.

Keep up the good work!!

Ian G (York)

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

This hotel is literally at the end of the landing runway. The noise of the planes cancels out the TV and then keeps you awake during the night. I raised this on check out with the desk staff regarding the so-called good night's sleep guarantee and was told in a surly way "well this hotel is near to the airport". There was no Wifi access in our room and the pub next door was rough. Stay 2 miles further away at the Premier Inn at Wilmslow, which we have stayed in many times and had a good stay and a sound night's sleep

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Manchester Airport (Heald Green) Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Thank you for your review.

It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and we sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured that all your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to meet all our customer’s needs.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

did one of those hotel parking deals for first time at premier inn man airport,firstly would reccomend if you have got early flight and usually use car parks to go for that type of deal (i book on holiday extras), room including parking for 10 days was about £80 so good value, taxi to airport another fiver each way. the hotel itself was very good,its a long time since i used premier inn and they have definately come a long way,check in was a liitle slow but very friendly,rooms very clean and comfortable,nice bar and restuarant too, on return to pick up car was easy and also very friendly. have just booked same deal for birmingham premier inn for £70 and 7 days parking.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tysoncoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We always look for a Premier Inn if we need to stay close to an airport, and as usual, we were not let down. Excellent reception staff, very comfortable, clean room, and although we were only actually there for about 8 hours, we still got a good night's sleep. Very quiet within the hotel and not as much aircraft noise as we expected being so close to Manchester Airport.
We didn't use the restaurant, as we'd already eaten having had a 2 and a half hour journey to get to Manchester, so arrived fairly late, and left before breakfast the next morning.
Value for money is second to none, will definitely use again if we have an early flight from Manchester in the future

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sidcup
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed for one night before a local business meeting. I often use premier inn as you know what you're going to get and it's nice and consistent.
The staff were so friendly-even some decorators gave us a friendly good morning! The room was spotless and quiet. Although we could hear some airplane noise it certainly didn't annoy us or disturb our sleep at all.
The breakfast was excellent and brilliant value. The waitress was friendly, helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janebSidcup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockport
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
1.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester Airport (Heald Green) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester Airport (Heald Green) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Manchester Airport (Heald Green) Hotel
Address: Finney Lane | Heald Green, Stockport SK8 3QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stockport
#3 Family Hotel in Stockport
#5 Business Hotel in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester Airport (Heald Green) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set back from the bustle of the city centre, this suburban spot is just two miles from the airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester Airport (Heald Green) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (Heald Green) Hotel Stockport, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing