We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious buffett” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alma Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alma Lodge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious buffett”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Enjoyed the most delicious afternoon buffet. Yummy cream scones, delicious Danish pastries, scrumptious sandwiches and the best cup cakes I've ever tasted. Lovely hotel, friendly staff, made the occasion very memorable..

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you for choosing the Alma Lodge Hotel for your recent Afternoon Tea Party, the management and staff would like to thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    170
    59
    30
    9
See reviews for
133
103
28
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moissac, France
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

What a lovely afternoon on Sunday 26.05.2013.
A farewell afternoon tea with a French theme.
Quiche; a variety of sandwiches; pastries & beautiful themed cup cakes. All were delicious.
The bar area was very pleasant as we're all the staff.
I would not hesitate to recommend the Alma Lodge.

Room Tip: No comments made re rooms as we were not resident.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you very much for your fantastic review. I am so pleased that you found the hotel & our team of staff to be very pleasant . I have passed on your review to all the staff and told them to keep up the good work!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perthshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed here for one night following a wedding reception. Our room had been recently refurbished and was lovely. Some biscuits with the tea/coffee would have been good but that's minor. We thoroughly enjoyed the wedding meal and the buffet breakfast was very good too. Excellent value at £65 for a double room.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank troony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad your experience with us was an enjoyable one. We will pass on your kind words to all members of staff.
(Unfortunately to keep the great value we offer on room rates we no longer provide biscuits in the rooms however if you are to stay with us again please ask the receptionist she will be more than happy to provide biscuits for you to take to your room)
We are delighted you were left with a positive and pleasant view of the Alma Lodge and hope to see you in the near future. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

Easy parking and clean rooms. No lift but helpful staff. Wifi very intermittent and on occasions non existent in room. Evening meal in restaurant very disappointing. Minute steak (medium rare) was boiled and tasteless.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am very pleased to read your positive comments on our large free car park, helpful staff and the cleanliness of the bedroom. The WiFi is a great service we offer free of charge to our customers, we do advise customers they may have to re login when they are staying a few days as the WiFi does have a time out mechanism.
I am disappointed to read you did not enjoy our pan fried minute steak, our 3 course table d'hôte menu offers excellent value for money at just £21.50. I am sorry you did not notify our restaurant manager at the time maybe we could have offered you an alternative.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Have stayed here several times with a party of friends and it is a nice hotel with pleasant staff, although I have arrived twice to find my booking not made correctly, ie a single room allocated instead of a double. However the staff are helpful and have always corrected the problem promptly.
On this last visit the breakfast was not up to standard. It is served until 10am and we went down at 9.30 to find everything rather dried up, no tomatoes left, and the coffee served was stewed to say the least! Most of our party made do with toast!
Other than that the rooms are well furnished, the beds comfortable, and everywhere is clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for your positive and negative comments regarding your recent stay with us. Being a small family business we try hard to maintain a consistently good service to our customers. I was sorry to read that the buffet breakfast was not to your satisfaction however we would have been more than happy to make freshly plated Full English Breakfasts for your party, if you had made a member of staff aware of your issues at the time.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunbury on thames
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Arrived at 22.30, first impression on arrival was very good,large car park and pleasant looking hotel.The receptionist was pleasant and polite,all looked to be a great stay.
The Alma lost marks when it come to my room, although it was very clean it lacked on a couple of basics.The tea/coffee facility was just that, no biscuits or a hot chocolate/ optionfon for a late night drink.
The en suite was a problem although it was clean again the Alma skimped on basics no showeg gel or shampoo, not that it mattered as the shower did not work anyway.
A note on the wall said to use the shower run the hot water tap for a few minutes.
I tried this for 3 minutes didn't work, only a dribble from the shower head, tried again leaving the hot tap for 7 minutes, same result.After tryng a third time, I gave up on the shower..
The breakfast was fine nice selection of cereals,fresh fruit & yogurts.Buffet fried breakfast was ok, not as nice as a fresh cooked breakfast but acceptable.Plenty of toast ,coissants and jams, tea or coffee.
I give The Alma Lodge an average 6 out of 10,not value for money for me,even though it was at a discount price of £45.
Barry D (titan travel).

Room Tip: There are no lifts ,so if you have problems with stairs get a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for choosing the Alma Lodge Hotel for your recent stay in Stockport, the management and staff would like to thank you for your review.
Its always beneficial to receive positive and negative reviews from customers, l have personally inspected the shower in the single room you stayed in and found it in good working order. l do understand the shower fitment is difficult to master however step by step instructions are on the bathroom wall.
We hope you will consider using us again on your next visit to Stockport, the same internet discount can be found on our web site, may l suggest you upgrade to a double room which have new shower fitments, complimentary shower gel and shampoo. (Complimentary Hot chocolate sachet can also be provided by reception on request)
Kind Regards
Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Handforth, null, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Arrived on Friday afternoon for a wedding reception. All was great on the Friday , staff friendly and room cumfortable and clean.
On Saturday morning we came down for breakfast at 09.45 (breakfast served until 10.00) to find no food in any of the trays. Had a very difficult time convincing the staff we were down in time and had ask several times before any food was brought out, and when it was we were told in no un certain terms that what was there would have to go round the 5 people waiting for the breakfast we had all paid for. One egg, one rash of bacon, one and a half sausages, and then had to ask for the beans. No ideal, sering till 10am should mean just that,not stopping at quarter to.
Having said that the food was very good, just not use to having to almost beg to be fed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
At the Alma Lodge we care about your comments & treat every customer as an individual. I am disappointed to read your comments about our Buffet Breakfast. Freshly cooked plated breakfasts are usually offered to customers arriving late by our staff, especially at the end of breakfast service. We will look into your review & see if we indeed do need to make some changes at breakfast.

Kind Regards
Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockport hotels
1.4 mi away
Wycliffe Hotel
Wycliffe Hotel
#4 of 15 in Stockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stockport South Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Davenport
The Davenport
#14 of 15 in Stockport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#7 of 15 in Stockport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stockport Central Hotel
2.5 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Stockport, Heaton Chapel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Lodge Hotel

Property: Alma Lodge Hotel
Address: 149 Buxton Road, Stockport SK2 6EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Stockport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stockport
#6 Business Hotel in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alma Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming 3 Star Hotel Restaurant Conference & Events venue which encapsulates all the elegance & style of a bygone era Carved oak panelling & open fireplace creates a welcoming ambience Our 52 bedrooms are comfortably furnished & equipped breakfast is complimentary & Wi-Fi is free. Versatile event facilities comfortable accommodation & friendly service all these amenities has earned the Alma Lodge Hotel & Restaurant its enviable reputation as one of Stockport’s premier venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alma Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Hotel Stockport
Alma Lodge Hotel Stockport, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing