We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent venue for a function”
Review of Alma Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alma Lodge Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We came here for my grandads wake, the welcome and helpfulness from the staff was brilliant. The buffet food was hot, fresh and delicious, and I never known such a choice of yummy desserts. Rodrigo deserves a mention as he looked after us with wine, coffee and helped serve desserts and even though it was a sad time for us he was a smiling face and ever so polite. Thank you so much

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoorheadBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Thank you for posting such kind comments on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to the Alma Lodge hotel. I am delighted you and your family had such a positive experience on your first visit to the hotel and thank you for your recommendation. Feedback such as yours is a great motivator to our staff and we are most appreciative that you have taken to time to let us know. I very much hope to have the opportunity of welcoming back on a more happier occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

Myself and two friends stayed here on Friday night as we were going to a concert at Etihad. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, the hotel facilities were excellent and our room was clean and functional. It was fantastic value for money, with free parking and a full English breakfast included in the price. We enjoyed it so much that we are going to book here again when we go to a theatre show in September.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodeano1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Thank you for such great feedback after your recent stay at the Alma Lodge Hotel and a special thanks for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We realise you have a choice when selecting a hotel so it is even more rewarding for the whole Alma team to read such positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in september.
kind regards Jill Tavini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

When I arrived at reception I had to lean across the reception desk to get someone's attention, bad design to have the staff with their backs to the reception. Once i had my keys I had a walk through the decades as every part of the hotel was decorrated in a theme ranging from the 70's to 90's, my corridor was like that of a old cruise ship.

Went to bed around 11 and at 1 in the morning the lovely folks in the room next door decide to have a party. At around 2 I had to complain to reception and it was not until around 3 that they decided the stop and go to bed.


Things did not get much better in the morning at breakfast. The buffet was sort of a game, guess what is under the lid of the hot plate? Not one thing marked up, same theme for the juice and milks etc.

Second night was quieter and I managed to get some sleep although I had to close windows to block the noise from the main road, then the room became too hot.

Feed back for the management. Buy some new ironing boards as the ones you have like to collapse whilst ironing. Inform your guests of what is at the breakfast buffet, simple labels. Move your receptionist work station so that they are always facing the customer. Make your mind up about what decade you want your hotel to portray. Perhaps some bedding that does not have holes or love hearts drawn on them.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear Guest thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at the Alma Lodge Hotel. Being a small family business we try hard to maintain a consistently good service to our customers. I'm disappointed your stay with us has been marred by some minor issues. The Hotel was originally a Manor House and over many decades it has grown into a popular AA 3 Star recognised hotel,restaurant and events venue. We feel proud that the Hotel has managed to retain many of its original Edwardian features and has not been stripped of all its character and charm. The annexe area of the Hotel where you stayed is a later addition to the Hotel and this naturally reflects a style very different to the main hotel.
In regards to your other comments.. We are currently looking at ways to alter the receptionist desk as ideally we would also prefer the receptionists to be forward facing, we have also replaced the faulty Ironing board and re siliconed the bathroom floor.
Your idea of labelling the buffet tureens has been tried before, unfortunately customers did not replace the lids correctly causing confusion. Noisy neighbours, we can never predict customer behaviour we can only try to intervene when we are made aware of any issues and apologise.
Thank you again for your comments, kind regards Jill Tavini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Stopped at this hotel for 1 night with friends. The hotel was a great price for the night and included free parking cooked breakfast. The room was clean and modern. The hotel overall was of a good standard.
The staff were helpful if you asked, but I can say none of them were very welcoming or friendly. To be honest they were miserable! For example when we went down to breakfast there was no greeting by the staff, we did feel like we were an inconvenience. The lights were switched off in the breakfast room before we had finished! The waitress said she did not see us but given the welcome we received and that we were the last to leave, I not sure this was the case! Everyone jut seemed very negative.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Jackie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate your feedback and while we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Alma Lodge we are sorry that you also had some disappointing comments to make. Please rest assured we have taken all your points on board for immediate consideration as this was clearly not up to our usual standards. We have been fortunate to receive many complimentary reviews over the years and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again for a second visit.
Kind Regards Jill Tavini.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

If your looking for a wedding venue that won't break the bank then look no further, we were recently married here and it was superb. We had a buffet style meal and everyone of our guests commented on how enjoyable and tasty the food was, the Lancashire hot pot served at the evening reception was delicious too. Our room was modern, clean and a very comfy bed, none of our guest who stayed over had any negative comments about the rooms either. A fantastic breakfast awaits you in the morning, plenty of choice too.
Great venue, great hotel, great staff and great location

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2013

Dear Mr & Mrs Frain
Thank you for choosing the Alma Lodge Hotel for your Special Wedding Day. I am very pleased to read all your positive comments about our food, breakfast, staff, cleanliness of your room & the comfortable bed. l know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks & recognition of their efforts.
I wish you all the best for the future.
Kind regards Jill Tavini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Wanted somewhere close to Manchester Airport that wasn't a "Plastic Chain" hotel to stay after a long and late flight before the drive home to South Wales, and this place was recommended by a relative.

What a good find! Good secure car parking, and even though we didn't eventually get there until 3am the Night Porter knew we were coming, couldn't have been more helpful and showed us all the way to our room. Really comfy bed, good facilities, great breakfast and great staff.

One aside - I know that the tap water has to be at least a certain temperature to avoid nasty bugs, but you need mixer taps to make it safe, more so if we'd had kids in the room with us. Very minor comment, though!!

Will be booking here again whenever I fly from Ringway!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Telefonski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2013

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your short stay with us on returning from your holiday.
Thank you for your positive feedback in regards to your overall experience I will certainly communicate your kind words to my Team.
I will however be following up your comments on the temperature of the hot water thank you for bringing this to my attention.
Kind regards Jill Tavini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Really disappointed. Booked this hotel based on reviews on this website. The first night there was a wedding party, so we were kept up until 1pm by the loud music, then another half hour whilst they noisily packed away. It is now 10pm on our second night, and there is loud party music again, due to go on until 12.30am. The rooms are so hot, you have to keep the windows open. The hotel say they have no other rooms we can move to. I'm expecting some kind of compensation for the lack of sleep! We came here for a restful night after walking all day in the Peak District. Would definitely not recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IncognitoTraveler_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Dear Guest thank you for your comments l am very sorry your stay did not live up to your expectations & l sincerely apologise for Friday & Saturday evenings loud music.
At the Weekends we are a popular Wedding & Events Hotel which we do promote as such on our Web site. Our many reviews on Trip Advisor are proportionately from our happy Weddings & Events guests.
It was very hot weather the weekend you stayed so guest rooms & the function suite windows had been left open, when we realised the problem at around 10.30 on the Saturday evening we shut the events rooms windows & suggested to guest to close their windows, we provided fans to those who asked.
We were unable to facilitate your request to move you on the Saturday evening to a quieter area of the Hotel as we were full.
I have taken action immediately in regards to your comments about Bands & DJs loading up & have asked them to be more considerate of our Hotel Guests when leaving the Hotel & thank you for pointing this out.
Kind regards Jill Tavini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockport
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
1.7 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#9 of 15 in Stockport
1,013 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wycliffe Hotel
Wycliffe Hotel
#5 of 15 in Stockport
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Trivelles Mayfair
Trivelles Mayfair
#10 of 15 in Stockport
99 reviews
2.7 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle
4.4 mi away
Deanwater Hotel
Deanwater Hotel
#11 of 15 in Stockport
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Lodge Hotel

Address: 149 Buxton Road, Stockport SK2 6EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Stockport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stockport
#6 Business Hotel in Stockport
Price Range: £65 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alma Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alma Lodge Hotel and Restaurant is privately owned ensuring high standards are maintained throughout all departments. There is complimentary High Speed Internet access in all public areas, free onsite parking for 100 cars and BT Sports available in Luigi’s Bar. All 52 En-suite Guest Rooms offer Free, Unlimited WiFi, Free Breakfast and Flat Screen Location Alma Lodge is ideally situated in the town of Stockport. Close to rail, airport and motorway links, just a few minutes drive from J2 off the M60, 7 miles from the City of Manchester, 5 miles from Manchester Airport and the Trafford Centre. The famous Manchester City and Manchester United grounds are within easy reach if you are attending a match. The Spar Town of Buxton and the beautiful Peak District is only a 30-minute drive away, making the Alma Lodge a fabulous location for business or leisure, in the North West of England. Dining Ristorante Luigi specialises in Italian & Mediterranean cuisine at its best. The restaurant has a relaxed and informal atmosphere offering extensive Ala Carte or Table d Hote Menus. Families with children are very welcome, freshly prepared pizza and pasta menus available. A comprehensive Bar Snacks menu is also available in Luigi’s Bar. Banqueting and Special Events The Alma Lodge Hotel has a fabulous reputation for Banqueting and Special Events in the local area. Offering a choice of Events Suites the largest of which is The Regis Suite accommodating up to 250 delegates. It has a beautiful private courtyard entrance with ground floor access from the car park. In addition there are a further 4 Suites, the Congress, Bromley, Davenport and Luigi Suite, which all benefit from natural daylight. Conference Great business amenities with a comprehensive range of conference equipment to hire, daily and 24-hour delegate rates are available. Our experienced conference and events manager will also be available throughout the day to support your event ensuring it will be a success. The Friendly, and experienced staff at the Alma Lodge will always assure you of a warm welcome and look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alma Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Hotel Stockport
Alma Lodge Hotel Stockport, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing