We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“so a NO GO” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alma Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alma Lodge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“so a NO GO”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

The receptionist was pleasant....
There was no lift or porter to help us take our luggage up 2 flights of very steep stairs. As you went up the stairs the air got musty and hot, once we got to our room there was just no air. Our room was old, and it felt like they had just chucked an extra bed in to suit us without realising that we actually had to move around it to get to the bathroom. The beds were not comfortable at all. The door was a battle to open and close and not all the light switches worked. The lights in the passage were out and it felt like we were in the last forgotten corner of the hotel.

When we reported the problem with the door and lights in our room no real attempt was made to fix it.

Breakfast ended at 9:30 sharply whether you were still eating or not. While I was standing at the toaster the waitress asked me for the bread i had in my hand, i gave it to her thinking she was offering to help me with the toaster... She then promptly packed it away without blinking.

Needless to say we started looking for another hotel very fast.

Room Tip: choose a room in a reputable brand hotel, not the Alma lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank atichauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thanks for your points of view regarding the Hotel, all your comments have been brought up in our management meeting.
The hotel is constantly being upgraded, however, we are a small family hotel and renovation takes time and an awful lot of money. The family room for four is a budget room and is priced accordingly we are sorry if your expectations were for a larger room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    170
    59
    30
    9
See reviews for
133
103
28
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Very pleased with my stay here.Rooms were very clean and well equipped.Staff were very efficient and helpful. The hotel was very well organised throughout.Bar prices were reasonable,and the breakfast was first class,Choice of fruit juice,tea,coffee,cereal,Grapefruit,croissants,fried and scrambled eggs,bacon,chipolatas,tomatoes,beans,mushrooms ,black pudding and toast and marmalade.I would definitely return here and recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrfussyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Guest , Thank you so much for this perfect description of our hotel.
We constantly do whatever it takes to make our guests feel welcome, relaxed, and completely comfortable.
We looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind regards Jill Tavini.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

what a great hotel ! fantastic rooms, great food, first class service,presentation and staff 10/10
stayed at this hotel as our son chose it to have his wedding reception held there, we booked a total of 2 nights there and we also had family and friends in another 4 rooms, everybody was well satisfied with this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seanandmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Guest thank you for the superb score. We strive hard to provide excellent customer service ensuring each and every customer feels welcome and cared for while staying with us, we are very pleased you experienced this first hand. We hope you will visit the Alma Lodge again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Nice hotel right on the A6. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the car park and reception were very well presented, good bar area. The room was excellent for the price would definitely stay again, it was clean and well equipped. the breakfast was good except for the sausages, very strange, just wont order them at the next stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your stay. Our goal is to get 100% guest satisfaction and we will not be satisfied until we have achieved that goal. We read all of our reviews so that we can use the comments provided to help make necessary improvements. We are committed to making the necessary changes to enhance your stay. We will continue to improve the Hotel each and every day, we will be looking into your comment about our type of sausage.
We are pleased to hear you will return to the Alma Lodge Hotel when you next visit Stockport.
Kind regards Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Check in was quick and efficient.
No Lifts so have to carry bags upstairs i was here as part of a wedding party, the wedding planners were lovely and helpful

The room was very dated and old fashioned, looked like an old people's home.

the function room was stupidly hot, their air con was broken and everyone was uncomfortable ruined the night really. Food average, £21.00 for two vodka red bulls excessive !!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KateyLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thank you for your recent comments I will pass on your kind words to our Wedding coordinators they do a fantastic job.
I was disappointed to read that you were unhappy with your room, the bar prices & lack of AC in the Wedding Suite. My response to these comments are as follows.
1.The day you attended the wedding was the hottest this year, the likes of which we very rarely see. In the Eleven years we have owned the hotel we have not felt it a necessity to install AC in the Regis Suite, so the AC could not of been broken. In the Regis Suite we have large opening windows on both sides of the room & in the bar area. Four large fans also circulate fresh air.
2.The price of your drinks is incorrect for two single vodkas & two red bulls the price would have been £11.60 not £21.00
3.The room you stayed in was not refurbish however it has been passed by the AA as 3 Star rated & provides a comfortable bed with clean white linen, plenty of white 600g towels, large flat screen TV, Tea & coffee making facilities, work desk, wardrobe & large bathroom with a shower & bath. We feel we offer great value for money throughout all areas of the Hotel & excellent friendly service. We are constantly improving our bedrooms to meet with customers ever changing expectations please request a Superior or refurbished room when you next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

I tend to spend a lot of times in hotels and always look for something different when I can.I stayed here for three nights after looking for somewhere close to where I needed to be. The hotel had some good reviews on here so I decided to try it. I was disappointed. Their own website did say that some rooms where upgraded and some not, if the doors handles etc. are anything to go by, a mix of traditional key and "new" keycard locks then the refurbished rooms are in dire need of being refurbished again, so heavens knows what a non refurbished room looks like. The decor is pretty drab to start with, all browns and creams, very muted and almost institutional in a way, nothing bright and joyful here to lift your mood. I also discovered on my first morning that the towel on the rail had a large dirty mark on it. The furniture in the room is old, battered and in need of replacing as are the carpets, I even had a gap under the door big enough to be able to see the carpet in the hallway. Also lighting in the rooms is poor, The hallways are dark, gloomy places and stifling hot, not inviting at all. The food was also not up to the reported standard, I only ate in on two occasions, nothing startling and a very limited menu for both the bar and the restaurant, and for the bread used in the club sandwiches, they may as well have bought it in the petrol station across the road, and how do you make even chips so tasteless? Also does a garnish not consist of more than two pieces of lettuce leafs?

I know that a hotel cannot help what its guests are like, but the couple sat outside on my second night where obviously having a domestic and the language was enough to make even the coarsest of navvies blush, the second night was not much better and really the staff should have been ensuring that they toned it down in respect of other guests.

All in all, a very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ksmith38a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thank you for staying at the Alma Lodge Hotel and sharing your experience. I am sorry to read about your trouble with your door lock. I am sure it was extremely frustrating, we are in a constant refurbishment process and are installing new doors and a traditional key systems(no more electronic key cards) however this can be a long and difficult task when you are a busy hotel.
We do read all of our reviews so that we can use the comments provided by our guests to help make improvements where necessary. We are extremely committed to making these changes to enhance our guests stay, however l do feel some of your comments a little unfair as you did not sample a refurbished room. As l have said previously we are constantly reinvesting in the business making improvements each and every day to increase guest satisfaction. I will forward your comments regarding the bar snack to our restaurant manager. If you are to stay with us again please request a superior room.
Kind regards Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Alma Lodge. Staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable. We were surprised that there was no in-room safe and that the heated towel rail in the bathroom could not be switched off, as it was part of the hot water system, making the bathroom very hot. We were also surprised that the hotel did not have a lift (though stairs are not a problem for us, and we were offered help with our luggage).

As it was very hot, we sent an email before our arrival requesting a fan; it was in our room when we checked in. We were very pleased that we were allocated a north-facing room, so we never had direct sun into the room.

Breakfast was good; we did not eat other meals in the hotel.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MSDSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Dear guest thank you for your review, we are delighted that you have chosen the Alma Lodge Hotel for your visit to Stockport. We were happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt you received good customer service and value for money.
During the recent hot spell, we had ensured all bedrooms had fans for our customers added comfort, we will endeavour to provide fans as standard in all rooms. The heated towel rail in your bathroom is as you mentioned part of the hot water system so is very effective during the cooler weather. Any rooms that have recently been refurbished no longer use this system, if you are to stay again please request a superior or refurbished room. Thank you again for your business we hope to see you again.
Kind regards Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockport hotels
1.4 mi away
Wycliffe Hotel
Wycliffe Hotel
#4 of 15 in Stockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stockport South Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#7 of 15 in Stockport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Davenport
The Davenport
#14 of 15 in Stockport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stockport Central Hotel
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Lodge Hotel

Property: Alma Lodge Hotel
Address: 149 Buxton Road, Stockport SK2 6EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stockport
#5 Family Hotel in Stockport
#6 Business Hotel in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alma Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming 3 Star Hotel Restaurant Conference & Events venue which encapsulates all the elegance & style of a bygone era Carved oak panelling & open fireplace creates a welcoming ambience Our 52 bedrooms are comfortably furnished & equipped breakfast is complimentary & Wi-Fi is free. Versatile event facilities comfortable accommodation & friendly service all these amenities has earned the Alma Lodge Hotel & Restaurant its enviable reputation as one of Stockport’s premier venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Alma Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Hotel Stockport
Alma Lodge Hotel Stockport, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing