We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Stay”
Review of Alma Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alma Lodge Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Booked this 2 days before going as we were at a wrestling show. First impressions were good plenty of room in car park and a nice look to outside of hotel. Entering the hotel the surroundings were nice and the woman on reception very pleasant. Our room was in the extended bit to the hotel but was nice and clean and plenty of space and an extra single bed. Bathroom was a nice size and clean. Bar area was small but nice to have a drink in. Breakfast next day was ok not the best ive had but had a decent selection but limited for vegatarians. Having to remove lids off of food and then find somewhere to put it to get food wasnt ideal but luckily the dining room wasnt very busy. Overall i enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TUFFLUFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for your detailed feedback, I was happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regarding breakfast we have been listening to other customers comments and will now be investing in electric hot plates with easy access to the food in the new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    173
    62
    30
    10
See reviews for
135
105
28
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
477 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Not sure where the 5 star ratings are coming from for Alma Lodge. Don't get me wrong, it is a perfectly reasonable place to stay. The receptionist was very friendly and welcoming and the room was clean, decent in size and well maintained. The corridor was being repainted showing signs that they care about the appearance of the hotel which is good. With all that said, there was nothing in the room to set it apart from anywhere else we have stayed recently. The shower was not particularly the powerful, the TV was not particularly big, the wifi was a bit patchy, the tea and coffee in the room was all pretty basic. Nothing bad, all just average. The breakfast matched the rest of the stay. It was OK, but nothing special.

Nothing to complain about and reasonable value, but just like a million other places you could stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
We are delighted, that you chose the Alma Lodge Hotel for your visit to Stockport and are happy to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.
Please try us again in the future we have many exciting plans for the Hotel in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times now. Each time I have had very good service. The hotel is aways clean, the staff are aways helpful. One can not say enough about the breakfast, full English or continental the choice is yours as much as you want. Penty of car parking, aways a bonus. We went to see quarry mill (the T.V series) which is only a few mile away. Liverpool just up the road with easy access. I must thank the staff once again for a very comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Room towards the rear are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maleve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
We are delighted to learn that you and your husband had a great time in Cheshire and enjoyed your visit to the Alma Lodge again.
Kind regards Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The receptionist was pleasant....
There was no lift or porter to help us take our luggage up 2 flights of very steep stairs. As you went up the stairs the air got musty and hot, once we got to our room there was just no air. Our room was old, and it felt like they had just chucked an extra bed in to suit us without realising that we actually had to move around it to get to the bathroom. The beds were not comfortable at all. The door was a battle to open and close and not all the light switches worked. The lights in the passage were out and it felt like we were in the last forgotten corner of the hotel.

When we reported the problem with the door and lights in our room no real attempt was made to fix it.

Breakfast ended at 9:30 sharply whether you were still eating or not. While I was standing at the toaster the waitress asked me for the bread i had in my hand, i gave it to her thinking she was offering to help me with the toaster... She then promptly packed it away without blinking.

Needless to say we started looking for another hotel very fast.

Room Tip: choose a room in a reputable brand hotel, not the Alma lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank atichauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thanks for your points of view regarding the Hotel, all your comments have been brought up in our management meeting.
The hotel is constantly being upgraded, however, we are a small family hotel and renovation takes time and an awful lot of money. The family room for four is a budget room and is priced accordingly we are sorry if your expectations were for a larger room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Very pleased with my stay here.Rooms were very clean and well equipped.Staff were very efficient and helpful. The hotel was very well organised throughout.Bar prices were reasonable,and the breakfast was first class,Choice of fruit juice,tea,coffee,cereal,Grapefruit,croissants,fried and scrambled eggs,bacon,chipolatas,tomatoes,beans,mushrooms ,black pudding and toast and marmalade.I would definitely return here and recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrfussyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Guest , Thank you so much for this perfect description of our hotel.
We constantly do whatever it takes to make our guests feel welcome, relaxed, and completely comfortable.
We looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind regards Jill Tavini.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

what a great hotel ! fantastic rooms, great food, first class service,presentation and staff 10/10
stayed at this hotel as our son chose it to have his wedding reception held there, we booked a total of 2 nights there and we also had family and friends in another 4 rooms, everybody was well satisfied with this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seanandmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Guest thank you for the superb score. We strive hard to provide excellent customer service ensuring each and every customer feels welcome and cared for while staying with us, we are very pleased you experienced this first hand. We hope you will visit the Alma Lodge again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Nice hotel right on the A6. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the car park and reception were very well presented, good bar area. The room was excellent for the price would definitely stay again, it was clean and well equipped. the breakfast was good except for the sausages, very strange, just wont order them at the next stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your stay. Our goal is to get 100% guest satisfaction and we will not be satisfied until we have achieved that goal. We read all of our reviews so that we can use the comments provided to help make necessary improvements. We are committed to making the necessary changes to enhance your stay. We will continue to improve the Hotel each and every day, we will be looking into your comment about our type of sausage.
We are pleased to hear you will return to the Alma Lodge Hotel when you next visit Stockport.
Kind regards Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockport hotels
1.3 mi away
Wycliffe Hotel
Wycliffe Hotel
#4 of 15 in Stockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stockport South Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#8 of 15 in Stockport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Davenport
The Davenport
#14 of 15 in Stockport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stockport Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Lodge Hotel

Property: Alma Lodge Hotel
Address: 149 Buxton Road, Stockport SK2 6EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Stockport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stockport
#6 Business Hotel in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alma Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alma Lodge Hotel and Restaurant is privately owned ensuring high standards are maintained throughout all departments. There is complimentary High Speed Internet access in all public areas, free onsite parking for 100 cars and BT Sports available in Luigi’s Bar. All 52 En-suite Guest Rooms offer Free, Unlimited WiFi, Free Breakfast and Flat Screen Location Alma Lodge is ideally situated in the town of Stockport. Close to rail, airport and motorway links, just a few minutes drive from J2 off the M60, 7 miles from the City of Manchester, 5 miles from Manchester Airport and the Trafford Centre. The famous Manchester City and Manchester United grounds are within easy reach if you are attending a match. The Spar Town of Buxton and the beautiful Peak District is only a 30-minute drive away, making the Alma Lodge a fabulous location for business or leisure, in the North West of England. Dining Ristorante Luigi specialises in Italian & Mediterranean cuisine at its best. The restaurant has a relaxed and informal atmosphere offering extensive Ala Carte or Table d Hote Menus. Families with children are very welcome, freshly prepared pizza and pasta menus available. A comprehensive Bar Snacks menu is also available in Luigi’s Bar. Banqueting and Special Events The Alma Lodge Hotel has a fabulous reputation for Banqueting and Special Events in the local area. Offering a choice of Events Suites the largest of which is The Regis Suite accommodating up to 250 delegates. It has a beautiful private courtyard entrance with ground floor access from the car park. In addition there are a further 4 Suites, the Congress, Bromley, Davenport and Luigi Suite, which all benefit from natural daylight. Conference Great business amenities with a comprehensive range of conference equipment to hire, daily and 24-hour delegate rates are available. Our experienced conference and events manager will also be available throughout the day to support your event ensuring it will be a success. The Friendly, and experienced staff at the Alma Lodge will always assure you of a warm welcome and look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Alma Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Hotel Stockport
Alma Lodge Hotel Stockport, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing