We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy but tatty”
Review of Alma Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alma Lodge Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Stockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Friendly staff, comfortable and clean but a bit battle worn and tatty room. The public areas were very well presented and tasteful (except perhaps for the awful and eye watering bright geometric print carpet in the dining area) but the decor in the bedroom seemed to be from early 90s. Got a good night's sleep - the bed was comfortable, and the room was a good size with working TV and plenty of space.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for your recent review of the Alma Lodge Hotel, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I am delighted to read your appraisal of our Hotel & l know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks & recognition of their efforts. The restaurant carpet will be changed during the Easter bank holiday in 2014 and redecoration of bedrooms is ongoing. Complete refurbishments of 6 bedrooms will begin mid february 2014. We hope to see you again in 2014 when you will be able to see quite a few changes.
kind regards Jill Tavini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

A very good 3 star hotel.
I had a single room on the top floor (no lift- ask for ground floor if unable to 'do' stairs)
Reception very welcoming, bathroom was newly installed, no toiletries tho, but not a problem if you know, just a small bar of soap (always bring my own toiletries anyway)
There seemed to be lots of parking facilities available (dropped by taxi from the station, so didn't need it)
Room slightly dated with painted (peachy)anaglypta walls, but very clean , just like bathroom
Small but sufficient TV, not here to watch it, just visiting for a 'big' birthday party. No bedside lamp, and dated alarm/headboard.
Breakfast was very good, help yourself buffet of fried eggs, sausages, bacon, black pudding, beans, mushrooms etc.. bread, and croisants, cereals, and fresh juices tea and coffee- very good value as included in my £50 overnight weekend stay (probably a bit pricey if you have to pay the £9.00).
Would definitely stay again if in the area.
I would say it was a very good three star (in my opinion) ie not a 4 star, as no lift/elevator, that i could find, and lack of toiletries, or soap/shampoo dispenser,think room service was limited, and no newspaper room delivery (that i'm aware of ) but it says what it does on the tin!- and value for money.

Room Tip: Maybe on a lower floor, if not keen on stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hincheye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Your kind words about the location, room, service and the breakfast are very much appreciated. Your annotation regarding the pricing of the breakfast has also been acknowledged.
All our rooms now have LCD TV's we hope to welcome you back when you are next in the area.
kind regards Jill Tavini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I've attended other events at this hotel before but never a Wedding, this was a first for me, it was also my Mum who was set to be wed.

Upon arriving we were greeted by a friendly staff member at the door who asked which wedding we were attending today, apparently there were three, obviously a popular venue, and rightly so. We were shown to the rest of the guests who had already arrived just in time for the String Trio to start performing in front of the lovely big new windows near the front bar. The reception is full of big photographs of Venice, which were apparently taken by the hotel owners daughter, a real nice brightening touch to the place enforcing the fact it is family run.

We were moved into the back for the Ceremony/Wedding Breakfast and evening entertainment.

The room was dressed beautifully. A whole new carpet and curtain colour scheme occupy this big function room now, it looks brilliant. It’s so nice to see the owners constantly improving and changing things within the hotel. Constantly on the up.

Everything was organized by the events team and staff so well. The strings players were put on a small stage besides the guests during the Ceremony and everything went to plan.

The food was delicious as well, I’ve eaten here before as a customer just in the restaurant, and also at various other functions, tribute nights etc. The food is always great, the main course was a lovely roast beef which comes plated in a sauce, and the veg/roast potatoes are brought out and served fresh and hot to you all individually, another classy touch.

It’s safe to say I drank far too much, but hey, your Mum only gets married twice… I had a room booked when I finally called it a night around 3am. The rooms are of a generous size and the beds are really comfy. The room I was in had a brand new bathroom and what seemed to be a new flat screen TV, obviously in the process of refurbishing a lot of the rooms if not all? A good nights sleep was had.

Breakfast was included as well, and very much necessary! It just keeps getting better. Fresh tea and coffee was brought over to my family table, which was set very elegantly. The breakfast itself is buffet style serving fried eggs, sausage, beans, black pudding and fried tomato. There is also a fridge with milk and fresh juices in, a toaster and the option for cereals. The staff were great, the place is great!

A very memorable day for my family, and myself everyone had an excellent time and it all ended too fast. Thank you for making my Mum a very happy bride.

Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpedSpedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for your detailed write up on your families Wedding here at The Alma Lodge Hotel.
We are so pleased you enjoyed so much of the day and appreciated the newly refurbished Regis Suite
Every Wedding is special to us however it was more than a pleasure to host your families Wedding Day. I will personally pass on your kind words to our team - it's always fantastic to hear that they've gone above and beyond our guest's expectations. Best Wishes to your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I accompanied my Nanna, Grandad and Mother to a Wedding Fayre that was being held at the Alma Lodge Hotel in the Regis Suite. The open day was good and had a lot of companies showcasing their products and services.

Later, We had dinner in Luigi's Restaurant which was very clean and well presented. I ordered Prawn Marie Rose, Roast Beef and Yorkshire Pudding, and Tiramisu.

The meal was delicious, inexpensive and is highly recommendable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomSpedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and are delighted that the
the Wedding Fare was to your liking and the Sunday Dinner in Luigis restaurant was enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We have stayed in room 33 for 4 nights on 2 occasions in the last few months to visit our daughter.
Room 33 is a superior room and well worth the extra money, it is spacious with a double and single bed and was very quiet. the room has a brand new bathroom with an excellent shower.
The staff are all friendly and the breakfast very good especially on the mornings when it is freshly cooked rather than buffet style.
The car park is large and free.

Room Tip: pay the small supplement for a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mschorah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we truly hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Mid february 2014 we hope to have four more superior rooms to offer our guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Booked this 2 days before going as we were at a wrestling show. First impressions were good plenty of room in car park and a nice look to outside of hotel. Entering the hotel the surroundings were nice and the woman on reception very pleasant. Our room was in the extended bit to the hotel but was nice and clean and plenty of space and an extra single bed. Bathroom was a nice size and clean. Bar area was small but nice to have a drink in. Breakfast next day was ok not the best ive had but had a decent selection but limited for vegatarians. Having to remove lids off of food and then find somewhere to put it to get food wasnt ideal but luckily the dining room wasnt very busy. Overall i enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TUFFLUFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for your detailed feedback, I was happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regarding breakfast we have been listening to other customers comments and will now be investing in electric hot plates with easy access to the food in the new year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Not sure where the 5 star ratings are coming from for Alma Lodge. Don't get me wrong, it is a perfectly reasonable place to stay. The receptionist was very friendly and welcoming and the room was clean, decent in size and well maintained. The corridor was being repainted showing signs that they care about the appearance of the hotel which is good. With all that said, there was nothing in the room to set it apart from anywhere else we have stayed recently. The shower was not particularly the powerful, the TV was not particularly big, the wifi was a bit patchy, the tea and coffee in the room was all pretty basic. Nothing bad, all just average. The breakfast matched the rest of the stay. It was OK, but nothing special.

Nothing to complain about and reasonable value, but just like a million other places you could stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

We are delighted, that you chose the Alma Lodge Hotel for your visit to Stockport and are happy to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.
Please try us again in the future we have many exciting plans for the Hotel in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockport hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Stockport South Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#8 of 14 in Stockport
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Wycliffe Hotel
Wycliffe Hotel
#5 of 14 in Stockport
243 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stockport Central Hotel
2.2 mi away
Trivelles Mayfair
Trivelles Mayfair
#11 of 14 in Stockport
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Lodge Hotel

Address: 149 Buxton Road, Stockport SK2 6EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stockport
#5 Family Hotel in Stockport
#6 Business Hotel in Stockport
Price Range: £65 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alma Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alma Lodge Hotel and Restaurant is privately owned ensuring high standards are maintained throughout all departments. There is complimentary High Speed Internet access in all public areas, free onsite parking for 100 cars and BT Sports available in Luigi’s Bar. All 52 En-suite Guest Rooms offer Free, Unlimited WiFi, Free Breakfast and Flat Screen Location Alma Lodge is ideally situated in the town of Stockport. Close to rail, airport and motorway links, just a few minutes drive from J2 off the M60, 7 miles from the City of Manchester, 5 miles from Manchester Airport and the Trafford Centre. The famous Manchester City and Manchester United grounds are within easy reach if you are attending a match. The Spar Town of Buxton and the beautiful Peak District is only a 30-minute drive away, making the Alma Lodge a fabulous location for business or leisure, in the North West of England. Dining Ristorante Luigi specialises in Italian & Mediterranean cuisine at its best. The restaurant has a relaxed and informal atmosphere offering extensive Ala Carte or Table d Hote Menus. Families with children are very welcome, freshly prepared pizza and pasta menus available. A comprehensive Bar Snacks menu is also available in Luigi’s Bar. Banqueting and Special Events The Alma Lodge Hotel has a fabulous reputation for Banqueting and Special Events in the local area. Offering a choice of Events Suites the largest of which is The Regis Suite accommodating up to 250 delegates. It has a beautiful private courtyard entrance with ground floor access from the car park. In addition there are a further 4 Suites, the Congress, Bromley, Davenport and Luigi Suite, which all benefit from natural daylight. Conference Great business amenities with a comprehensive range of conference equipment to hire, daily and 24-hour delegate rates are available. Our experienced conference and events manager will also be available throughout the day to support your event ensuring it will be a success. The Friendly, and experienced staff at the Alma Lodge will always assure you of a warm welcome and look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alma Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Hotel Stockport
Alma Lodge Hotel Stockport, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing