We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant venue ”
Review of Alma Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alma Lodge Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Brilliant venue ”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

We have just had our wedding here and it was amazing. The planning team of Zoe & Clair worked very hard and the staff were great..right from the start they were professional and all went to plan. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The food was excellent, breakfast too. Its not the first time I've been here as I've attended Christmas parties and theme nights and I've never been disappointed, but most of all you excelled at making our wedding perfect.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CountySteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for choosing the Alma Lodge for your special day, your kind remarks about our employees, service and food make us very proud. It is through kind and encouraging comments like yours that our team is constantly motivated to offer the best of care to each and every one of our guests.
Kind Regards Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    174
    62
    30
    10
See reviews for
136
105
28
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Just stayed 6 nights here. Great hotel at great price. Wonderful and kind staff---from Carl the owner to Lynda the breakfast waitress. Ample parking. BUS 192 stops right out front---going straight up the A60, Stockport into Manchester. Delicious breakfast which is included in the price.
I loved sitting in the lobby in front of the fireplace reading a book. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mal180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we truly hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards Jill and Karl Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

This is a nice hotel ... I stayed for my anties wedding 6 miles from the hotel ... located good aswell ... the only thing ia its loacted just of a road from the city centre ... so it can b hard to get out in a car onto main road ... the service was excellent I left my GHD hair straighteners and a few bits and bobs I phoned up wen I got home in glasgow and the girl adele says she would record deliver them ... brilliant place to stay !!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephenie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
We really appreciate that you took the time to record your experience and are delighted to hear that we were able to fulfil your expectations regarding staff as well as the location of the hotel. We have passed on your very kind words to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I've stayed at the Alma Lodge before and at that time it was a super room and I had nothing to grumble about. This time I made a booking through Laterooms at a cost of £40.00 including breakfast. I didn't expect it to be anything but great, however, the lower cost meant a lower quality of room. So where should I start, there was no hot water, no heating except for the wall mounted fan heater in the bath room. They provided nothing in the way of toileteries and so I had to go to reception to get shampoo and shower gel. Having now experienced the lower quality rooms I would advise against making a booking here at this price. Better to go to a Travel lodge, Holiday Inn type hotel and then at least you will know what you are going to get for your money.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank peeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest after previously staying in a superior room at double the price of a single room why did you choose to book a single room. The budget single rooms are generally booked by contractors for their workmen. Single rooms have an en-suite shower, LCD TV, tea and coffee making facilities, free Wifi and breakfast included. Heating and hot water are readily available in all the single rooms, when making a booking please click on the double for solo tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I often stay here when I'm staying overnight in Stockport. It's a really nice old style hotel with very friendly staff and nice food. The rates are very reasonable, it's a short bus ride from the town centre and a nice breakfast is included.

There is free wifi throughout the hotel which is fast and quick to connect to. No device limits or messing around with registration pages, you just connect.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hullcitysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.
Thank you very much for sharing your views about your recent stay at the Alma Lodge on tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton-le-Clay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed for one night whilst passing through. Although only 2 floors, we were on the top floor and had to go up a flight of stairs then down a flight, along a bridging corridor to the room. OK if I had not had my knee replaced 3 mths ago and there was no offer nor anyone available to take bags to the room. Apart from that the room was basic but clean. Quite a quant building inside and intimate bar. Came down to breakfast a half hour before it finished and food was buffet style, just warm and stodgy poor produce. I am sure there are better in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for room in main building on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments feedback is an essential tool for us to measure customer satisfaction. l was sorry to read you were disappointed with your breakfast, l wish l had been made aware of your problem at the time, l would of ensured you received a freshly cooked breakfast. We only offer buffet breakfasts to speed up service when we have busy periods.
In 2014 we will be installing an electric hot plate system to keep our buffet breakfast very hot. If you are to visit again please request a room near the reception stairs, unfortunately we do not have bedrooms on the ground floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Friendly staff, comfortable and clean but a bit battle worn and tatty room. The public areas were very well presented and tasteful (except perhaps for the awful and eye watering bright geometric print carpet in the dining area) but the decor in the bedroom seemed to be from early 90s. Got a good night's sleep - the bed was comfortable, and the room was a good size with working TV and plenty of space.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for your recent review of the Alma Lodge Hotel, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I am delighted to read your appraisal of our Hotel & l know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks & recognition of their efforts. The restaurant carpet will be changed during the Easter bank holiday in 2014 and redecoration of bedrooms is ongoing. Complete refurbishments of 6 bedrooms will begin mid february 2014. We hope to see you again in 2014 when you will be able to see quite a few changes.
kind regards Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockport hotels
1.3 mi away
Wycliffe Hotel
Wycliffe Hotel
#4 of 15 in Stockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stockport South Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#8 of 15 in Stockport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Davenport
The Davenport
#14 of 15 in Stockport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stockport Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Lodge Hotel

Property: Alma Lodge Hotel
Address: 149 Buxton Road, Stockport SK2 6EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Stockport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stockport
#6 Business Hotel in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alma Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alma Lodge Hotel and Restaurant is privately owned ensuring high standards are maintained throughout all departments. There is complimentary High Speed Internet access in all public areas, free onsite parking for 100 cars and BT Sports available in Luigi’s Bar. All 52 En-suite Guest Rooms offer Free, Unlimited WiFi, Free Breakfast and Flat Screen Location Alma Lodge is ideally situated in the town of Stockport. Close to rail, airport and motorway links, just a few minutes drive from J2 off the M60, 7 miles from the City of Manchester, 5 miles from Manchester Airport and the Trafford Centre. The famous Manchester City and Manchester United grounds are within easy reach if you are attending a match. The Spar Town of Buxton and the beautiful Peak District is only a 30-minute drive away, making the Alma Lodge a fabulous location for business or leisure, in the North West of England. Dining Ristorante Luigi specialises in Italian & Mediterranean cuisine at its best. The restaurant has a relaxed and informal atmosphere offering extensive Ala Carte or Table d Hote Menus. Families with children are very welcome, freshly prepared pizza and pasta menus available. A comprehensive Bar Snacks menu is also available in Luigi’s Bar. Banqueting and Special Events The Alma Lodge Hotel has a fabulous reputation for Banqueting and Special Events in the local area. Offering a choice of Events Suites the largest of which is The Regis Suite accommodating up to 250 delegates. It has a beautiful private courtyard entrance with ground floor access from the car park. In addition there are a further 4 Suites, the Congress, Bromley, Davenport and Luigi Suite, which all benefit from natural daylight. Conference Great business amenities with a comprehensive range of conference equipment to hire, daily and 24-hour delegate rates are available. Our experienced conference and events manager will also be available throughout the day to support your event ensuring it will be a success. The Friendly, and experienced staff at the Alma Lodge will always assure you of a warm welcome and look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Alma Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Hotel Stockport
Alma Lodge Hotel Stockport, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing