We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alma Lodge Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$62
US$60
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Stockport(Stockport)(Great Value!)
US$62
US$51
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Wycliffe Hotel(Stockport)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deanwater Hotel(Stockport)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Stockport hotel(Stockport)(Great Value!)
US$52
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (549)
Filter reviews
549 results
Traveller rating
247
192
67
31
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
247
192
67
31
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsregis suiteno liftlovely hotelfunction roomsingle roomplenty of car parkingwedding venuebreakfast was includedgood sizeclean roomsfull english breakfastchristmas partyexcellent valuepleasant staffbeansstayed here for nightsplenty of hot water
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
358 - 363 of 549 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Being "greeted" by reception staff intently chatting to each other and ignoring the desk was not a good start - I felt like I was intruding into something far more important to them.

However, we then found the room equipped with a double bed that was so slack in the middle that you couldn't help rolling into each other. If you owned one of these you would have chucked it out a long time ago. What on earth is the hotel thinking keeping such a dilapidated bed in its room? If I'm booking a room for the night I expect to have a bed that is better than something that should be thrown on the tip!

The bathroom made me think I had been transported back to the 1970's. Maybe that's when the place was last renovated?

Breakfast was also very disappointing - cooked food quality was one of the worst I have experienced, and the other choices were not that impressive or extensive.

Checking out was a relief, even though I was again made to feel guilty for interrupting the receptionist's other activities.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CaptainPacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thanks for your points of view regarding the Hotel, all your comments have been brought up in our management meeting.
The hotel is constantly being upgraded, however, we are a small family hotel and renovation takes time and an awful lot of money. We will get there in the end and i do hope to see you again.
I would like to hear from you regarding which room you stayed in, so that the bed can be replaced immediately, if necessary. please email reception with your room information.
Thanks once again.
K Tavini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Spent 4 nights here before flying out of Manchester Airport.
The hotel is on the busy A6 road, but you hear no traffic noise at all.
No lift but we were offered assistance with our luggage.
We had an upgraded twin room, plenty of space, a double and a single, a notice in the bathroom, offered a non slip mat, this made having a shower quite safe.
We had dinner on one night and a bar snack on another, all the food was was excellent and plenty of it, in fact there were too many sadwiches for me. The food at breakfast could have done with being a bit warmer.
The plus of this hotel is it sits on a very frequent bus route, 192 to Stockport & Manchester (about every 5 minutes & every 10 minutes throughout the night), 199 to Buxton or Manchester Airport (every half hour). We visited the Peak District on 1 day, we went to the Trafford Centre fo fantastic shopping on another, we also went to the Palace Theatre in Manchester, all of this was one by this great bus service.
On our departure, we just crossed the road to catch the bus to the Airport, about 20 minutes.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kev012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at the Alma Lodge Hotel. Being a small family run business we try hard to maintain a consistently good service to our customers. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Alma Lodge and have been able to provided future customers with helpful information regarding the local area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Checked in on Sunday, signed the paperwork and all seemed fine. Second day Franco made me feel very uncomfortable. Not professional and made me want to leave!
The hotel itself is not to bad whilst being dated on so many levels. If it was not a business trip I would have checked out by now. Following this experience, I would never stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Inspectorpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

CONCERNS WITH THIS REVIEW Not only has this reviewer repeatedly refused to pay & still has not paid his bar account bill extras (which was not covered by his company account). He has also chosen to pick on an individual member of staff who had requested the outstanding bill to settled. The Alma Lodge Hotel operates a standard room account policy which is to request immediate payment for extras on a room bill or at least for credit card details to be held.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I stayed here last night with my hubby. The hotel is a bit dated in places and could do with updating in the rooms ( i stayed in room 41 ). the bedding towels and cleanliness of the rooms was very good. The staff were ok, i think they could have been more friendly but i suppose that would be a personal preference.
The breakfast this morning was ok, the food wasnt very hot and we went down for breakfast at 9am ( it opened at 8am )
Overall i would stay again but i would only stay as a last resort.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelly h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for your recent review of the Alma Lodge Hotel, we are pleased overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We do endeavour to listen to all guests’ feedback to help us constantly improve the level of service and standards that we are able to provide to our guests thank you for your contribution.
Your comments about R41 and the breakfast have been discussed with our teams here and will be acted upon.
Kind regards Jill Tavini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night at the Alma Lodge and had a comfortable and pleasant stay. The hotel is spacious and the rooms are clean. Luigi's serves up good food and the service is excellent. Front of house staff are friendly and efficient. Overall, very good value.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fcem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you so much for these perfect comments about the Alma Lodge Hotel.
We constantly do whatever it takes to make our guests feel welcome, relaxed, and completely comfortable.
We looking forward to welcoming you again.
kind Regards Jill Tavini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews