We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time around”
Review of Alma Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alma Lodge Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Second time around”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Still as good as the last time we visited, staff food and service great.
Some rooms are quite a walk frim the main reception but that wasnt an issue for us.
The hotel is a good base for days out to peak district and manchester. Will be back next year.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggiemagpag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Reviewer Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. Its always nice to receive reviews that have been posted by guests that have visited the Hotel on more than one occasion,
it proves we must be doing something right. l have passed on your positive comments to all departments, its always nice to be commended. We hope you will visit us again when you are next in Stockport.
Kind Regards Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    174
    63
    30
    10
See reviews for
136
106
28
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Room was spotless and the bed comfy. Ate in the restaurant and found the food excellent plus the service friendly and professional.
It made a change to stay somewhere that wasn't part of a huge chain as I was made to feel like a valued customer rather than just another face in a line.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank luckybrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for choosing the Alma Lodge Hotel for your recent stay in Stockport, the management and staff would like to thank you for your excellent review.
Its always lovely to receive reviews from customers who have enjoyed their stay, l will pass on your comments to our staff.
We hope you will consider using us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keele, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed for one night only in room 35. Large bright room. Plenty of white fluffy towels and very clean bathroom. Good to be able to make a nice cup of tea before going down to the restaurant. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sazzysaraht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you so much for this perfect description of a Superior Room.
We constantly do whatever it takes to make our guests feel welcome, relaxed, and completely comfortable.
We looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

On arrival the receptionist was very polite and chatty.
They have a good scheme with Laterooms as they don't charge your card in case of changes of plans and cancellations which we didn't realise.
The hotel is very clean and tidy.
Bedroom doors look a bit shabby but all the same our bedroom was nicely decorated and clean as was the bathroom.
Couple of faults the bed wasn't very comfortable. I had to hold on practically to the side of the bed as it sloped in the middle and the pillows were too high and I woke up with a bad neck in the middle of the night so I ended up with no pillows.
Traffic noise can be quite annoying.
We were in room 26.
The room above us or to the side at one point we thought they were coming through to us as their bathroom was making a lot of noise.
For £65 including breakfast we were neither disappointed or extremely happy to be fair.
It served its purpose of us seeing our friends before they moved to Spain.
We can't comment on the bar or evening meals as we went out as soon as we arrived.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay at the Alma Lodge.
We are pleased to read your very positive comments about many areas of the Hotel however we were saddened to learn you had a disturbed nights sleep due to the softness of the mattress.
In regards to your pillows, they are new so are very plump. Feather pillows are available inside our wardrobes for customers who require a softer pillow. We tend not to put the feather pillows on the beds due to many customers having allergies to feathers.
We are continually upgrading our bedrooms and refreshing our bed stock to ensure our customers have an enjoyable nights sleep. Although Room 26 has been refurbished recently it was not felt necessary to replace the bed at this time, however after your comments we will investigate this decision.
Thank you for your business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
149 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Being "greeted" by reception staff intently chatting to each other and ignoring the desk was not a good start - I felt like I was intruding into something far more important to them.

However, we then found the room equipped with a double bed that was so slack in the middle that you couldn't help rolling into each other. If you owned one of these you would have chucked it out a long time ago. What on earth is the hotel thinking keeping such a dilapidated bed in its room? If I'm booking a room for the night I expect to have a bed that is better than something that should be thrown on the tip!

The bathroom made me think I had been transported back to the 1970's. Maybe that's when the place was last renovated?

Breakfast was also very disappointing - cooked food quality was one of the worst I have experienced, and the other choices were not that impressive or extensive.

Checking out was a relief, even though I was again made to feel guilty for interrupting the receptionist's other activities.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainPacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thanks for your points of view regarding the Hotel, all your comments have been brought up in our management meeting.
The hotel is constantly being upgraded, however, we are a small family hotel and renovation takes time and an awful lot of money. We will get there in the end and i do hope to see you again.
I would like to hear from you regarding which room you stayed in, so that the bed can be replaced immediately, if necessary. please email reception with your room information.
Thanks once again.
K Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Spent 4 nights here before flying out of Manchester Airport.
The hotel is on the busy A6 road, but you hear no traffic noise at all.
No lift but we were offered assistance with our luggage.
We had an upgraded twin room, plenty of space, a double and a single, a notice in the bathroom, offered a non slip mat, this made having a shower quite safe.
We had dinner on one night and a bar snack on another, all the food was was excellent and plenty of it, in fact there were too many sadwiches for me. The food at breakfast could have done with being a bit warmer.
The plus of this hotel is it sits on a very frequent bus route, 192 to Stockport & Manchester (about every 5 minutes & every 10 minutes throughout the night), 199 to Buxton or Manchester Airport (every half hour). We visited the Peak District on 1 day, we went to the Trafford Centre fo fantastic shopping on another, we also went to the Palace Theatre in Manchester, all of this was one by this great bus service.
On our departure, we just crossed the road to catch the bus to the Airport, about 20 minutes.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at the Alma Lodge Hotel. Being a small family run business we try hard to maintain a consistently good service to our customers. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Alma Lodge and have been able to provided future customers with helpful information regarding the local area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Checked in on Sunday, signed the paperwork and all seemed fine. Second day Franco made me feel very uncomfortable. Not professional and made me want to leave!
The hotel itself is not to bad whilst being dated on so many levels. If it was not a business trip I would have checked out by now. Following this experience, I would never stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Inspectorpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
CONCERNS WITH THIS REVIEW Not only has this reviewer repeatedly refused to pay & still has not paid his bar account bill extras (which was not covered by his company account). He has also chosen to pick on an individual member of staff who had requested the outstanding bill to settled. The Alma Lodge Hotel operates a standard room account policy which is to request immediate payment for extras on a room bill or at least for credit card details to be held.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockport hotels
1.3 mi away
Wycliffe Hotel
Wycliffe Hotel
#4 of 15 in Stockport
228 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
1.7 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#8 of 15 in Stockport
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Trivelles Mayfair
Trivelles Mayfair
#11 of 15 in Stockport
65 reviews
2.5 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Stockport, Heaton Chapel
0.1 mi away
The Davenport
The Davenport
#14 of 15 in Stockport
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Lodge Hotel

Property: Alma Lodge Hotel
Address: 149 Buxton Road, Stockport SK2 6EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Stockport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stockport
#6 Business Hotel in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alma Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alma Lodge Hotel and Restaurant is privately owned ensuring high standards are maintained throughout all departments. There is complimentary High Speed Internet access in all public areas, free onsite parking for 100 cars and BT Sports available in Luigi’s Bar. All 52 En-suite Guest Rooms offer Free, Unlimited WiFi, Free Breakfast and Flat Screen Location Alma Lodge is ideally situated in the town of Stockport. Close to rail, airport and motorway links, just a few minutes drive from J2 off the M60, 7 miles from the City of Manchester, 5 miles from Manchester Airport and the Trafford Centre. The famous Manchester City and Manchester United grounds are within easy reach if you are attending a match. The Spar Town of Buxton and the beautiful Peak District is only a 30-minute drive away, making the Alma Lodge a fabulous location for business or leisure, in the North West of England. Dining Ristorante Luigi specialises in Italian & Mediterranean cuisine at its best. The restaurant has a relaxed and informal atmosphere offering extensive Ala Carte or Table d Hote Menus. Families with children are very welcome, freshly prepared pizza and pasta menus available. A comprehensive Bar Snacks menu is also available in Luigi’s Bar. Banqueting and Special Events The Alma Lodge Hotel has a fabulous reputation for Banqueting and Special Events in the local area. Offering a choice of Events Suites the largest of which is The Regis Suite accommodating up to 250 delegates. It has a beautiful private courtyard entrance with ground floor access from the car park. In addition there are a further 4 Suites, the Congress, Bromley, Davenport and Luigi Suite, which all benefit from natural daylight. Conference Great business amenities with a comprehensive range of conference equipment to hire, daily and 24-hour delegate rates are available. Our experienced conference and events manager will also be available throughout the day to support your event ensuring it will be a success. The Friendly, and experienced staff at the Alma Lodge will always assure you of a warm welcome and look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alma Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Hotel Stockport
Alma Lodge Hotel Stockport, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing