We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Comfortable”
Review of Alma Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alma Lodge Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean & Comfortable”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

My mum & I stayed here last Oct for one night. Room was clean & comfortable. Restaurant food was lovely. Hotel has a lift but you still need to climb stairs before you get to your room.
Overall, nice hotel for a quick stopover.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest
We greatly appreciate your feedback and are glad to read that your stay at the Alma Lodge was a pleasant one on so many levels. We are sorry that you found the stairs to your room difficult, unfortunately we have not been unable to put a lift in due to the design of the Hotel we will however be refurbishing twin rooms near to the reception area later this year. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    174
    63
    30
    10
See reviews for
136
106
28
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I discovered this nice middle of the road hotel a while back. It is very handily placed for visiting Manchester and most importantly offers a free on site car park. Fairly priced and offers a decent standard of service. I would have no qualms staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margatekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
Dear Guest we appreciate you taking the time to comment on your experience at the Alma Lodge.
We are very pleased you had a positive experience and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Our family of 7 stayed at the Hotel on 30th and 31st May 2014 to celebrate our Golden Wedding Anniversary. We stayed in 3 very good rooms which were spotlessly clean. We had a 4 course lunch on the Saturday for 21 people which was excellent.

We must highlight especially the friendliness of ALL the staff. They were efficient, helpful and cheerful. Nothing was any trouble.

I have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel and we will definitely be returning at some time in the future; maybe our Diamond Wedding Anniversary!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
Dear Guest we would like to take this opportunity to congratulate you both on your Wedding Anniversary a wonderful achievement. Thank you for writing such heartfelt comments we are so pleased your day was so enjoyable. We will pass on your kind words to our waiting on staff, chefs and events team Zoe, Clair and Adelle. You are most certainly welcome anytime to pop in for a chat.
Kind regards Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Our last contact with the Alma Lodge was for our wedding reception over 40 years ago. Returning to Stockport for a family celebration we needed somewhere nearby, not too expensive and of a reasonable standard. We were not disappointed.

Whilst the extension that contains the majority of the bedrooms looks a little out of place, nevertheless there is plenty of parking and access is simple. The rooms are of a good size and spotlessly clean and well supplied with necessaries. We stayed on a Saturday night, and weddings remain a vital part of the business. The advantage of the rooms being in the extension is however that the noise does not carry.

Breakfast was fine. Self service from chafing dishes, but perfectly acceptable. Cannot comment on dinner as we did not eat there.

Nice to see a privately run business doing well yet being competitive with the obvious chains. We will not bother to look elsewhere for future visits.

Room Tip: Look for rooms in the extension at weekends. Family rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Guest thank you for taking the time to give such a detailed review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Alma Lodge Hotel and that you have happy memories of your Wedding here over 40 years ago. We hope you will return in the future.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
226 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel is one of a type that I have stayed in many times for work over the years. Inexpensive, characterless but with completely acceptable levels of accommodation. The room, looking a little tired in beige, brown and orange, was spotlessly clean, the bed was fine and everything worked. On a work trip you really need no more. However, I made the mistake of having dinner in the dining room where I was the sole occupant (at 7.30 in the evening) and the food was mostly dire. Whitebait as a starter just about OK but main course of fillets of sea bream with vegetables mostly inedible. Cauliflower tasted of absolutely nothing whatsoever and fish was slimy. No wonder the room was empty.
Breakfast was OK but I didn't have hot food.
Staff encountered throughout the stay were pleasant and helpful but if I have to come this way again I will be finding somewhere else to eat.

Room Tip: Side rooms in the new wing do not overlook the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Highgateglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your comments we are introducing a new menu this summer which is Italian based and includes Pizza's and Pasta's we hope you will be back to give it a try.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Booked this hotel for a motorbike event at near by Gods Garage. The hotel informed me in advance that there was a wedding on and there would be some noise. I thought this was very professional. I was reminded again on arrival, however noise was minimal. Many of the Staff are Greek or Italian and there is a real continental feel. Service is excellent and the staff are very polite and highly professional, better than many 5 star restaurants. The Room was large and had tea & Coffee facilities. The Breakfast was stupendous, best Full English I have had in years. The staff even kept an eye on my bike overnight which was very reassuring. As a motorcyclist I have received a frosty reception in other hotels, but the Alma was non Judgemental and Highly professional. I would definately stay there again when in Stockport, or Manchester

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sombochris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for the superb score, being a family run business we strive hard to provide excellent customer service ensuring each & every customer feels welcome & cared for.
We love to know when you have enjoyed your stay. Our team members work hard to provide amazing service to all of our guests so that they will want to return.
We hope to see you again in the future, kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Was going to stay in the city centre as it was close to work, however an event in Manchester forced me to re think my accommodation, the prices for a room were over my companies budget. A quick google brought up Stockport as a close destination. Chose the Alma Lodge as it included parking, breakfast and had the all important wifi, the prices were very reasonable as well. Was very impressed with the overall experience. Nice friendly welcome from staff, room good size with plenty of clean towels and toiletries. Chose to eat from the bar snack menu which offered a few vegetarian options. Nice touch was the freshly made Gluten free bread which l sampled at breakfast it's good they cater for people with special dietary needs. Would use the hotel again if working in Manchester.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jakeycakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear guest thank you for choosing the Alma Lodge Hotel, we appreciate your detailed feedback. We constantly strive to to create a good customer experience, lm so pleased we achieved this for you.
We do try to offer an individual service to customers with special dietary needs and introduced the home made Gluten free bread earlier this year, we can also provide goats and soya milk on request at time of booking. Many of our menus do cater for vegetarians however our new menu coming in July will include GF Pizzas and more Vegetarian options. We hope you will return to the Alma Lodge Hotel in the future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockport hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
1.3 mi away
Wycliffe Hotel
Wycliffe Hotel
#4 of 15 in Stockport
228 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#8 of 15 in Stockport
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Trivelles Mayfair
Trivelles Mayfair
#11 of 15 in Stockport
66 reviews
2.5 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Stockport, Heaton Chapel
0.1 mi away
The Davenport
The Davenport
#14 of 15 in Stockport
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Lodge Hotel

Property: Alma Lodge Hotel
Address: 149 Buxton Road, Stockport SK2 6EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stockport
#5 Family Hotel in Stockport
#6 Business Hotel in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alma Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alma Lodge Hotel and Restaurant is privately owned ensuring high standards are maintained throughout all departments. There is complimentary High Speed Internet access in all public areas, free onsite parking for 100 cars and BT Sports available in Luigi’s Bar. All 52 En-suite Guest Rooms offer Free, Unlimited WiFi, Free Breakfast and Flat Screen Location Alma Lodge is ideally situated in the town of Stockport. Close to rail, airport and motorway links, just a few minutes drive from J2 off the M60, 7 miles from the City of Manchester, 5 miles from Manchester Airport and the Trafford Centre. The famous Manchester City and Manchester United grounds are within easy reach if you are attending a match. The Spar Town of Buxton and the beautiful Peak District is only a 30-minute drive away, making the Alma Lodge a fabulous location for business or leisure, in the North West of England. Dining Ristorante Luigi specialises in Italian & Mediterranean cuisine at its best. The restaurant has a relaxed and informal atmosphere offering extensive Ala Carte or Table d Hote Menus. Families with children are very welcome, freshly prepared pizza and pasta menus available. A comprehensive Bar Snacks menu is also available in Luigi’s Bar. Banqueting and Special Events The Alma Lodge Hotel has a fabulous reputation for Banqueting and Special Events in the local area. Offering a choice of Events Suites the largest of which is The Regis Suite accommodating up to 250 delegates. It has a beautiful private courtyard entrance with ground floor access from the car park. In addition there are a further 4 Suites, the Congress, Bromley, Davenport and Luigi Suite, which all benefit from natural daylight. Conference Great business amenities with a comprehensive range of conference equipment to hire, daily and 24-hour delegate rates are available. Our experienced conference and events manager will also be available throughout the day to support your event ensuring it will be a success. The Friendly, and experienced staff at the Alma Lodge will always assure you of a warm welcome and look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alma Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Hotel Stockport
Alma Lodge Hotel Stockport, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing