We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good 4.5”
Review of Alma Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alma Lodge Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Certificate of Excellence
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A good 4.5”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I am probably breaking some sort of rule by writing this review 9 months after the fact, but that shouldn't mean the comments are any less valid.

First of all, I have to make a point about the staff as we booked. They were so informative about the possibility of noise from the function room directly underneath us it was almost as though they were trying to get us not to book it. Well, we did, and thanks to their information we were able to plan an evening out so it didn't bother us in the slightest. Top marks for that.

Secondly, the staff were in general friendly and helpful, not least on the first day when we had a little bit of trouble "breaking in" to our room. The key system is a little... strange, but we soon had it down to a fine art by the end of the week.

The only down side I could find to breakfast was that on "buffet" days, things needed draining a little better. The bacon and eggs were dripping in whatever fat had been used to cook them in. It was just those days, though, as when things were cooked fresh there didn't seem to be a problem. The tea was missed one morning (although my travelling partner got his coffee), but I'm sure had I brought it up at the time they would have provided it. And why else would they provide a kettle in your room!

The room was actually well-spaced for three beds, with enough space to move between them and store your stuff without needing to use the wardrobes. I can agree with other reviewers who comment that the shower was a bit weak, and also the rather unnerving notice about not drinking the water. Reception explained it was due to some work they had had done months before, but surely the notices could be removed?

Cleanliness was good, but perhaps a little too good - we could barely go a day without having the soap replaced, whilst a towel used for drying your hands a few times in the evening (having been out all day) disappeared every day, without fail. In these days of environmentalism, perhaps the ever more usual "if it's on the floor, change it, else leave it" system might be well used here.

And with the excellent bus and train links to Buxton and Manchester, a great place to stay to avoid prices in the centre of Manchester.

Room Tip: Any potential functions aside, the rooms at the back are probably going to be quieter. There is only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Dear Guest thank you for your detailed feed back, we were happy to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. Its always encouraging to receive positive comments about our staff we will pass on your kind words to them. We are due to upgrade our Buffet area later this year giving customers a better breakfast experience. It was pleasure to have you as our guests and we truly hope to welcome you back in the near future, thank you for sharing your Alma Lodge experience on Trip Advisor.
Kind regards Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    173
    62
    30
    10
See reviews for
135
105
28
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for several nights and thought that we got a great deal on some decent rooms. The rooms were spotless clean, but date to the 70's. Shower was a little weak. No A/C but that was only an issue one day. Communal ironing board and iron at the end of the hall. Great restaurant on site and plenty of car parking.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 73F250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Dear guest thank you taking the time to inform Trip Advisor of your excellent comments we are delighted you had a wonderful stay. If you are to stay again please allow us to upgrade you to our new superior rooms. We hope to have upgraded all our rooms to superior standards by 2016.
Kind regards Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I stayed at the Alma Lodge Hotel for one night while on business in Stockport. I had a single room which was clean and had tea and coffee available along with other amenities such as TV, hair dryer, electric fan and heater. The breakfast was fantastic and all for £55.00 per night.

The hotel is near to Stockport Town Centre, Shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Thank you for your complimentary review. All our single rooms are budget rooms however they offer all the ammenities a 3 Star Hotel should offer we are pleased you appreciated this and we're able to give a true representation of the Hotel.
We hope you will return to the Hotel in the future.
Kind regards Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Staff friendly and nothing too much trouble. Rooms clean and spacious. Had a triple room big double bed and single bed great stayed two nights and room cleaned both days Can't fault this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynphilted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for the superb score. Being a family run business we strive hard to provide good customer service, ensuring each & every customer feels welcome & cared for. We are very pleased you experienced this first hand. We hope to see you again soon, best wishes from the Alma Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
214 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I've stayed at this hotel and i will say that it was clean and comfortable, its just the small things that need addressing.

When you announce there is free wifi, I must have been in a dead spot as I couldnt get it. But then I also tried it downstairs and still nothing. Tried on my tablet and phone just incase but nothing.

Freeview tv - fantastic, I stay in a lot of chain hotels that basically give you 1 - 5 then they want to get you to pay for anything else. The problem was that at some points anything passed channel 9 wasnt a good signal at all. Tried the retune "usually works" but didnt do any good - Maybe a booster is needed.

Breakfast. This was ok. nothing to write home about. Quite a large selection of hot and cold. Bacon was still oinking so asked for it to be cooked. Thats just me though I like to see it "cooked" Sad lacking in flavor of jam - it was apricot or nothing. - not to everyones taste. Did ask if there was anything else, she went off to check but still waiting for an answer.

It was very warm which the hotel had put a fan into my room but needed so much more. Couldnt open window as the road noise was loud. But at least they tried

Friendly staff. Nice and clean, all my points are very minor, but when your away from home as much as I am small things matter. No comment card in room so couldnt leave my contructive feedback.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your constructive feedback. We constantly seek ways in which we can improve our business and use customers comments as a learning tool. We are dedicated to enhancing our guests experience and we will look into the issues you have raised, thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. It was clean, quite and comfortable. Breakfast was not that great, very basic. Staff were friendly and helpful. Quite a few stairs to get to the room. Had cancel some of my reservation and they refunded the money. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drika_Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor regarding your stay at the Alma Lodge Hotel. We strive to create a great guest experience at great value. We will continue to make improvements to our service on a daily basis so that we can enhance the guest experience. Thank you for your feedback.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Pleasant staff, great service at the front desk via ApriL. Reasonable value, the rooms are fairly comfortable I was there for just two nights and it was great for the time. Did not try the swimming pool or fitness centre so can't comment. Seems to be well run, the building is historic but that adds to the charm. Could have had more options for vegetarian breakfast. Overall very good, front desk service makes it stand out.

Room Tip: Room 26 is pleasant but faces car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at the Alma Lodge Hotel on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate your feedback and while we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Alma Lodge we are sorry that you didn't feel we offer enough vegetarian products for breakfast. Be asured we will discuss this further with our breakfast chefs.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockport hotels
1.3 mi away
Wycliffe Hotel
Wycliffe Hotel
#4 of 15 in Stockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stockport South Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#8 of 15 in Stockport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Davenport
The Davenport
#14 of 15 in Stockport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stockport Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Lodge Hotel

Property: Alma Lodge Hotel
Address: 149 Buxton Road, Stockport SK2 6EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Stockport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stockport
#6 Business Hotel in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alma Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alma Lodge Hotel and Restaurant is privately owned ensuring high standards are maintained throughout all departments. There is complimentary High Speed Internet access in all public areas, free onsite parking for 100 cars and BT Sports available in Luigi’s Bar. All 52 En-suite Guest Rooms offer Free, Unlimited WiFi, Free Breakfast and Flat Screen Location Alma Lodge is ideally situated in the town of Stockport. Close to rail, airport and motorway links, just a few minutes drive from J2 off the M60, 7 miles from the City of Manchester, 5 miles from Manchester Airport and the Trafford Centre. The famous Manchester City and Manchester United grounds are within easy reach if you are attending a match. The Spar Town of Buxton and the beautiful Peak District is only a 30-minute drive away, making the Alma Lodge a fabulous location for business or leisure, in the North West of England. Dining Ristorante Luigi specialises in Italian & Mediterranean cuisine at its best. The restaurant has a relaxed and informal atmosphere offering extensive Ala Carte or Table d Hote Menus. Families with children are very welcome, freshly prepared pizza and pasta menus available. A comprehensive Bar Snacks menu is also available in Luigi’s Bar. Banqueting and Special Events The Alma Lodge Hotel has a fabulous reputation for Banqueting and Special Events in the local area. Offering a choice of Events Suites the largest of which is The Regis Suite accommodating up to 250 delegates. It has a beautiful private courtyard entrance with ground floor access from the car park. In addition there are a further 4 Suites, the Congress, Bromley, Davenport and Luigi Suite, which all benefit from natural daylight. Conference Great business amenities with a comprehensive range of conference equipment to hire, daily and 24-hour delegate rates are available. Our experienced conference and events manager will also be available throughout the day to support your event ensuring it will be a success. The Friendly, and experienced staff at the Alma Lodge will always assure you of a warm welcome and look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, LateRooms, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Alma Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Hotel Stockport
Alma Lodge Hotel Stockport, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing