We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 3 Star”
Review of Alma Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alma Lodge Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good 3 Star”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

It's a bit basic and on a busy main road, but I cannot fault the service and cleanliness. My room (20) was spotless. One of the cleanest I have stayed in. Good linens, comfy bed, powerful shower and fast, easy to use wi-Fi.
Lots of parking. Easy to find. I would recommend. V good value £65 for double for single occupancy inc breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are very pleased to read your positive comments on our staff, food, Wifi, shower, cleanliness of the room & the comfortable bed. We hope you will choose the Alma Lodge Hotel the next time you are in Stockport.
Kind regards Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    176
    63
    30
    11
See reviews for
139
107
28
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Alma loge hotel had a great atmosphere, excellent food staff were so helpful. Lovely function room and court yard. Large smoking area.
Would definitely recommend to friends and family for future events.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest thank you for your very positive feedback in regards to your overall experience at The Alma Lodge Hotel. I will communicate your kind words to our team, l know our staff will be pleased to have been commended for their professionalism. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed here with family members. Staff were fantastic,helpful,informative and with a good sense of humour. They made our stay very enjoyable. Rooms were great, a good size, plenty of space for belongings. Spotlessly clean, and bright. Food was excellent and well priced. We would definitely stay here again. A lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Talk to the staff, they will help with your requirements. They are really helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your stay. We love to know when guests have enjoyed their visit to the Hotel. Our team members work hard to provide great service to all guests so they want to return again and again we are glad you experienced this.
kind regards Jill tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
900 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed here after a friend of mine held a function at the hotel. The hotel was easy to find, easy to park and on check in the staff were very friendly and informative. Our room was quite dated, you're not going here for the wow factor, but they were clean and offered us all we needed. Unfortunately the room was so ridiculously warm and there was no AC so I wasn't able to sleep at all in my nights stay. I stayed in room 43 and while it was cool in other parts of the hotel as soon as we climbed the stairs to the top storey of rooms there was such a noticeable shift in humidity, I think some AC needs to be sorted for those rooms!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Dear Guest thank you for your informative review we can certainly look into the costings for AC as the English Summers do seem to be improving (fingers crossed)
The next stage of refurbishments for our double and triple bedrooms start this weekend and will continue throughout 2015, please request a superior room if you are to stay again, you will not be disappointed.
Kind regards Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I am probably breaking some sort of rule by writing this review 9 months after the fact, but that shouldn't mean the comments are any less valid.

First of all, I have to make a point about the staff as we booked. They were so informative about the possibility of noise from the function room directly underneath us it was almost as though they were trying to get us not to book it. Well, we did, and thanks to their information we were able to plan an evening out so it didn't bother us in the slightest. Top marks for that.

Secondly, the staff were in general friendly and helpful, not least on the first day when we had a little bit of trouble "breaking in" to our room. The key system is a little... strange, but we soon had it down to a fine art by the end of the week.

The only down side I could find to breakfast was that on "buffet" days, things needed draining a little better. The bacon and eggs were dripping in whatever fat had been used to cook them in. It was just those days, though, as when things were cooked fresh there didn't seem to be a problem. The tea was missed one morning (although my travelling partner got his coffee), but I'm sure had I brought it up at the time they would have provided it. And why else would they provide a kettle in your room!

The room was actually well-spaced for three beds, with enough space to move between them and store your stuff without needing to use the wardrobes. I can agree with other reviewers who comment that the shower was a bit weak, and also the rather unnerving notice about not drinking the water. Reception explained it was due to some work they had had done months before, but surely the notices could be removed?

Cleanliness was good, but perhaps a little too good - we could barely go a day without having the soap replaced, whilst a towel used for drying your hands a few times in the evening (having been out all day) disappeared every day, without fail. In these days of environmentalism, perhaps the ever more usual "if it's on the floor, change it, else leave it" system might be well used here.

And with the excellent bus and train links to Buxton and Manchester, a great place to stay to avoid prices in the centre of Manchester.

Room Tip: Any potential functions aside, the rooms at the back are probably going to be quieter. There is only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Dear Guest thank you for your detailed feed back, we were happy to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. Its always encouraging to receive positive comments about our staff we will pass on your kind words to them. We are due to upgrade our Buffet area later this year giving customers a better breakfast experience. It was pleasure to have you as our guests and we truly hope to welcome you back in the near future, thank you for sharing your Alma Lodge experience on Trip Advisor.
Kind regards Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for several nights and thought that we got a great deal on some decent rooms. The rooms were spotless clean, but date to the 70's. Shower was a little weak. No A/C but that was only an issue one day. Communal ironing board and iron at the end of the hall. Great restaurant on site and plenty of car parking.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 73F250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Dear guest thank you taking the time to inform Trip Advisor of your excellent comments we are delighted you had a wonderful stay. If you are to stay again please allow us to upgrade you to our new superior rooms. We hope to have upgraded all our rooms to superior standards by 2016.
Kind regards Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I stayed at the Alma Lodge Hotel for one night while on business in Stockport. I had a single room which was clean and had tea and coffee available along with other amenities such as TV, hair dryer, electric fan and heater. The breakfast was fantastic and all for £55.00 per night.

The hotel is near to Stockport Town Centre, Shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Thank you for your complimentary review. All our single rooms are budget rooms however they offer all the ammenities a 3 Star Hotel should offer we are pleased you appreciated this and we're able to give a true representation of the Hotel.
We hope you will return to the Hotel in the future.
Kind regards Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockport
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
1.7 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#8 of 15 in Stockport
958 reviews
2.2 mi away
Trivelles Mayfair
Trivelles Mayfair
#10 of 15 in Stockport
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Davenport
The Davenport
#14 of 15 in Stockport
165 reviews
2.7 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Macclesfield Adlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Lodge Hotel

Property: Alma Lodge Hotel
Address: 149 Buxton Road, Stockport SK2 6EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Stockport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stockport
#6 Business Hotel in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alma Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alma Lodge Hotel and Restaurant is privately owned ensuring high standards are maintained throughout all departments. There is complimentary High Speed Internet access in all public areas, free onsite parking for 100 cars and BT Sports available in Luigi’s Bar. All 52 En-suite Guest Rooms offer Free, Unlimited WiFi, Free Breakfast and Flat Screen Location Alma Lodge is ideally situated in the town of Stockport. Close to rail, airport and motorway links, just a few minutes drive from J2 off the M60, 7 miles from the City of Manchester, 5 miles from Manchester Airport and the Trafford Centre. The famous Manchester City and Manchester United grounds are within easy reach if you are attending a match. The Spar Town of Buxton and the beautiful Peak District is only a 30-minute drive away, making the Alma Lodge a fabulous location for business or leisure, in the North West of England. Dining Ristorante Luigi specialises in Italian & Mediterranean cuisine at its best. The restaurant has a relaxed and informal atmosphere offering extensive Ala Carte or Table d Hote Menus. Families with children are very welcome, freshly prepared pizza and pasta menus available. A comprehensive Bar Snacks menu is also available in Luigi’s Bar. Banqueting and Special Events The Alma Lodge Hotel has a fabulous reputation for Banqueting and Special Events in the local area. Offering a choice of Events Suites the largest of which is The Regis Suite accommodating up to 250 delegates. It has a beautiful private courtyard entrance with ground floor access from the car park. In addition there are a further 4 Suites, the Congress, Bromley, Davenport and Luigi Suite, which all benefit from natural daylight. Conference Great business amenities with a comprehensive range of conference equipment to hire, daily and 24-hour delegate rates are available. Our experienced conference and events manager will also be available throughout the day to support your event ensuring it will be a success. The Friendly, and experienced staff at the Alma Lodge will always assure you of a warm welcome and look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alma Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Hotel Stockport
Alma Lodge Hotel Stockport, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing