We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service friendly staff defo a great recommendation!!”
Review of Alma Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alma Lodge Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service friendly staff defo a great recommendation!!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights between 7th august and 10th August I also had my wedding here on the 8th. I have to thank all the staff so much for making the day very special!! The food was amazing, relaxed atmosphere and the extra lil touches were definitely noticed! ! So a very big thank you!! Everyone and I mean everyone was exceptional in there jobs and nothing was an issue. Even before the wedding and after all guests that attended to at a high standard. Again massive thank you xx

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rnuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Its always a pleasure to host Weddings, we are very pleased you and your family enjoyed your special day. Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we wish you and your husband all the best for the future.
Kind regards Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    173
    62
    30
    10
See reviews for
135
105
28
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham,England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We have been to the Alma a couple of times for events in Manchester and found it to be very friendly and excellent value.
The rooms are very comfortable for the price,well furbished and fully functioning.The staff,especially those on reception,are extremely friendly and helpful.
The bar may lack proper draught beer but it is open as late as you want and again the staff are great.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandslam84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Guest thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are pleased you enjoyed all aspect of your stay. Please request a Superior room when you next visit we have just refurbished 10 rooms and are receiving great feed back from our guests.
Kind regards Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickmansworth
Level Contributor
130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed here prior to a family Funeral ,

has a free easy to use safe car park,

Bar has atmosphere ,

Restaurant worth a visit by it self ,

Great value bar meals , served till late ( other hotels take note !)

Bathroom worked

Very good value for money

much better than premier inn down road

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank don m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Guest thank you for your comments, you have obviously had some interesting experiences in other Hotels! We are very pleased that the Alma Lodge Hotel provided all the amenities you should expect from a 3 Star hotel and its nice to here you give Premier Inn the thumbs down.
Kind regards Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Relocated to the Alma Lodge due to walking in and out of another Stockport hotel l had been booked into by work. It was a welcomed relief, receptionist Sue was very welcoming and other staff l came into contact with were just as friendly. My room was great with flat screen tv and Wifi it had been recently decorated and was very clean. Breakfast was a good choice of tradtional english and continental. Would be happy to stay again in the future.

Room Tip: room 33 was a large room at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Guest thank you for your kind words we are very pleased with the 5 Star rating you have given the Alma Lodge Hotel and Restaurant. Thank you for providing detailed comments on the room you stayed in, we have recently refurbished some rooms and are receiving very positive feed back from guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
kind regards Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed over for our dear friends wedding, had a choice of booking few hotels down the road.
As the wedding venue was there though so they would be over book.
It turn to be a very good hotel with huge car park. lovely antics interior and a Christmas carol songs in the background at the reception in July.I guess they were ready for Christmas party invite ...!
Very good cleanness our room was great and comfy bed bath was extremely shining on arrival.
Powerful Wi-Fi and in general very helpful staff.
only cons I would say is we were very disappointed with the breakfast as they were serve very cold on the buffet.
I guess the management of the hotel let themselves down by poor presentation and lack of attention to details with the food service.
Breakfast room is very lovely but the food was awful served on buffet in half insert dip tray pan I had hold the insert bowl to get my cold bake been out. cold sausages !!!!

Room Tip: Ask for new block room as very comfy and cosy !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milka850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, however we are disappointed the Buffet Breakfast was not up to our usual standards and do apologise for this. We are exploring other serving alternatives however when the Hotel is full we have to revert to Buffet style to speed up service. if you are to stay again please request a cooked to order breakfast you won't be disappointed.
Kind regards Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at alma lodge for the second time. Room 33 was spotless, comfy bed ,free wifi ,great atmosphere,excellent food and staff were so helpful.
lovely function room would definelty recommend to friends and family this nice 3 star hotel grazie!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Franco L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Guest thank you for your excellent comments and full marks, Room 33 is a Superior Room and is one of our recently refurbished bedrooms. We are pleased to hear our staff looked after you and you enjoyed Luigi's new menu. We hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed here late May with my granddaughter as she was attending a course at the Hilton.It was just an over night stay but found the Hotel excellent value ,rooms nice and clean ,staff friendly,and breakfast good would recommend

Room Tip: All rooms on front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxwell l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear guest, thank you for your lovely comments we always appreciate positive feed back such as yours. It means so much to our staff to hear they are doing a good job. We hope you will choose the Alma Lodge Hotel again when next visiting Manchester.
Kind regards Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockport hotels
1.3 mi away
Wycliffe Hotel
Wycliffe Hotel
#5 of 15 in Stockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stockport South Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#8 of 15 in Stockport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Davenport
The Davenport
#14 of 15 in Stockport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stockport Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Lodge Hotel

Property: Alma Lodge Hotel
Address: 149 Buxton Road, Stockport SK2 6EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stockport
#5 Family Hotel in Stockport
#6 Business Hotel in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alma Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alma Lodge Hotel and Restaurant is privately owned ensuring high standards are maintained throughout all departments. There is complimentary High Speed Internet access in all public areas, free onsite parking for 100 cars and BT Sports available in Luigi’s Bar. All 52 En-suite Guest Rooms offer Free, Unlimited WiFi, Free Breakfast and Flat Screen Location Alma Lodge is ideally situated in the town of Stockport. Close to rail, airport and motorway links, just a few minutes drive from J2 off the M60, 7 miles from the City of Manchester, 5 miles from Manchester Airport and the Trafford Centre. The famous Manchester City and Manchester United grounds are within easy reach if you are attending a match. The Spar Town of Buxton and the beautiful Peak District is only a 30-minute drive away, making the Alma Lodge a fabulous location for business or leisure, in the North West of England. Dining Ristorante Luigi specialises in Italian & Mediterranean cuisine at its best. The restaurant has a relaxed and informal atmosphere offering extensive Ala Carte or Table d Hote Menus. Families with children are very welcome, freshly prepared pizza and pasta menus available. A comprehensive Bar Snacks menu is also available in Luigi’s Bar. Banqueting and Special Events The Alma Lodge Hotel has a fabulous reputation for Banqueting and Special Events in the local area. Offering a choice of Events Suites the largest of which is The Regis Suite accommodating up to 250 delegates. It has a beautiful private courtyard entrance with ground floor access from the car park. In addition there are a further 4 Suites, the Congress, Bromley, Davenport and Luigi Suite, which all benefit from natural daylight. Conference Great business amenities with a comprehensive range of conference equipment to hire, daily and 24-hour delegate rates are available. Our experienced conference and events manager will also be available throughout the day to support your event ensuring it will be a success. The Friendly, and experienced staff at the Alma Lodge will always assure you of a warm welcome and look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Alma Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Hotel Stockport
Alma Lodge Hotel Stockport, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing