We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great weekend”
Review of Alma Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alma Lodge Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Stockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2007

We stayed in the Alma Lodge for 3 nights for our neice's wedding. We found all the staff were very professional, friendly and helpful at all times. Our room was clean, comfortable and well equipped. The actual wedding and reception were held in the hotel and everything ran smoothly, the food was excellent as were our other meals in the hotel, and I think everyone attending the wedding enjoyed themselves. We would certainly stay here again. Our only criticism is the lack of a lift, but we understand the problem of siting one in the building, but even this did not spoil our stay. Well done and thank you to all the staff

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Alma Lodge Hotel, we are very pleased you enjoyed so many aspects of your weekend with us. All your party were very complimentary about the Hotel and its facilities, it's always rewarding to receive positive feed back from happy customers l will pass on your comments to all our departments.
Kind regards Jill Tavini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

517 - 523 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2007

Another great night at this friendly hotel, ignore the other low reviews, go there you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bradphilbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2014

What a great review we are very pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Alma and we will pass on your lovely comments to our staff. Many thanks Jill and Karl Tavini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2007

For Father's Day I was treated to a most delicious meal and overnight accommodation for myself and my wife at the Alma Lodge Hotel. What a day I had! It began with a fabulous meal in the beautiful surroundings of Luigi's Restaurant. The service was friendly but professional and the food delicious - couldn't fault it. The double bedroom was large enough to accommodate a single bed as well, so there was plenty of room. The room itself was immaculately clean with lots of tea/coffee etc. Breakfast the next morning was freshly cooked and served by most welcoming staff. Overall we had a super stay and would not hesitate to return. I cannot think why it has received such poor reviews in the past.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Thank you for the superb score, being a family run business we strive hard to provide excellent customer service ensuring each & every customer feels welcome & cared for. We are very pleased you experienced this first hand.
We hope you will remember the Alma Lodge Hotel when visiting Stockport in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2007

Not knowing the area I was booked into this hotel for an overnight stay with work. Although the staff were great, the hotel was shabby and in desperate need of being dragged into the 21st century. Everything looked very tired, although the bed was very comfortable, good pillows, and the bathroom was clean. It was cleaner and cheaper than the holiday inn express at Warrington which I have to stay in regularly, so I can't complain. Shower scalded me at times, seemed to spend most of the time running round the bath to avoid getting burnt! Not a bad experience, but would probably prefer to stay elsewhere in future. Not expensive though, so not bad if you're on a budget. Room service was prompt and food was good for the faily ltd menu on offer.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ClaireH30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tramsmit, Conference & Events Manager at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2007

We have tried to retain the style and elegance of what was originally a well appointed house, and combined that with the modern day demands of a hotel. Refurbishment of the bedrooms has commenced and it is planned for all 52 rooms to be brought up to the standard of our new Executive bedrooms. The boilers are also being replaced by a more ergonomic system.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2007

The hotel looks good from outside, but as soon as you venture in it all begins to look a little dated. My room was in need of re-decoration, shabby in places, the bathroom needed a proper clean (filthy around the taps), the fan didn't work etc.
The most amusing experience was ordering dinner from the room service menu. I needed an oxygen tent after reading the prices, but I was hungry and not feeling up to the restaurant (I had a cold). I rang to order, but was told I could only have 2 courses on room service. I asked why and was told it was because it was A la Carte... When I questioned what that had to do with anything, the woman told me it was actually because of the tray size. In fact, two people delivered the meal, so this seemed to be the most ridiculous rule I've come across in any hotel. The food was mediocre at best, a few sad little prawns, which had obviously been frozen and defrosted, swimming in a cream sauce around an over-cooked piece of salmon (£15). I was charged 15% for dining in my room - because a colleague was eating with me this amounted to over £8 and a total cost in excess of £65 - spectacularly overpriced.
On the plus side. Stockport isn't exactly brimming with quality hotels, the Alma Lodge is bearable for the odd night - the bed was very comfortable, I slept well and found the staff helpful and friendly, even if the hotel is past its prime.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigChrisR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2015

Thank you for your feedback, I will personally investigate your comments on the bedroom. I am disappointed that certain aspects of your stay were below your expectations, but on a more positive note I am pleased to read your comments on the friendliness of our staff and the comfort of our bed.
Kind regards Jill Tavini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2007

Stayed just one night, decent enough accomadation, kind of Travel Inn standard, good breakfast included and price was £80.00 for the double room. Stay in the new part (we were in 23) as noise at the weekends from evening events seemed a bit much.

Not within walking distance of anything, although there is a good bus connection into Manchester which runs about every 10 mins during the day.

Stayed: June 2007
1  Thank crushertim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2015

We encourage all customers to give constructive feedback and over the last 14 years the restaurant has acquired a high percentage of positive feedback.
We do endeavour to listen to all guests’ feedback both positive and negative to help us constantly improve the level of service and standards that we are able to provide to our guests thank you for your contribution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2007

Stayed here recently, hotel is fine, however the restaurant is way over priced and poor quality given the price. I can eat in a good London restaurant for the same price if not less, and it was far from comparable. Two of us spent £60 total on starter and main course, with no drinks.

It is one of those places that Gordan Ramsey needs to visit and turnaround!

Stayed: April 2007
2  Thank Misc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2015

Thank you for your feedback, I am disappointed that certain aspects of your stay displeased you, but on a more positive note I am pleased to read your comments on the friendliness of our staff and the service you received.
Kind regards Jill Tavini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockport hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
1.7 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#8 of 14 in Stockport
1,033 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wycliffe Hotel
Wycliffe Hotel
#4 of 14 in Stockport
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Stockport South Hotel
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stockport Central Hotel
2.5 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Stockport, Heaton Chapel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Lodge Hotel

Address: 149 Buxton Road, Stockport SK2 6EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stockport
#5 Family Hotel in Stockport
#6 Business Hotel in Stockport
Price Range: £65 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alma Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alma Lodge Hotel and Restaurant is privately owned ensuring high standards are maintained throughout all departments. There is complimentary High Speed Internet access in all public areas, free onsite parking for 100 cars and BT Sports available in Luigi’s Bar. All 52 En-suite Guest Rooms offer Free, Unlimited WiFi, Free Breakfast and Flat Screen Location Alma Lodge is ideally situated in the town of Stockport. Close to rail, airport and motorway links, just a few minutes drive from J2 off the M60, 7 miles from the City of Manchester, 5 miles from Manchester Airport and the Trafford Centre. The famous Manchester City and Manchester United grounds are within easy reach if you are attending a match. The Spar Town of Buxton and the beautiful Peak District is only a 30-minute drive away, making the Alma Lodge a fabulous location for business or leisure, in the North West of England. Dining Ristorante Luigi specialises in Italian & Mediterranean cuisine at its best. The restaurant has a relaxed and informal atmosphere offering extensive Ala Carte or Table d Hote Menus. Families with children are very welcome, freshly prepared pizza and pasta menus available. A comprehensive Bar Snacks menu is also available in Luigi’s Bar. Banqueting and Special Events The Alma Lodge Hotel has a fabulous reputation for Banqueting and Special Events in the local area. Offering a choice of Events Suites the largest of which is The Regis Suite accommodating up to 250 delegates. It has a beautiful private courtyard entrance with ground floor access from the car park. In addition there are a further 4 Suites, the Congress, Bromley, Davenport and Luigi Suite, which all benefit from natural daylight. Conference Great business amenities with a comprehensive range of conference equipment to hire, daily and 24-hour delegate rates are available. Our experienced conference and events manager will also be available throughout the day to support your event ensuring it will be a success. The Friendly, and experienced staff at the Alma Lodge will always assure you of a warm welcome and look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alma Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Hotel Stockport
Alma Lodge Hotel Stockport, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing