We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Really interesting

We were en route to Derbyshire and looking for somewhere to visit on the way. I looked up things to... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Rovers09
,
Preston
excellent museum of local industry

One of a small number of excellent museums in Stockport, this one features the hatting industry... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Dave_Cowley_Road
,
Oxford, United Kingdom
Read all 298 reviews
  
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
173
101
18
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
101
18
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour on display making process working machinery rabbit worth a visit fascinating history free entry two floors interesting visit learn how couple of hours wander around great insight all ages for sale own pace
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 298 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2018

I have been to this museum on numerous occasions. It is fully wheelchair accessible, with lifts throughout. Go down to the first floor, where you get a introduction to hats of all shapes, designs and sizes, hats from around the world, hats of different religious faiths, hats which famous people have worn, hats through the ages, materials used to make hats and tools, with a lovely dress up area and try on hats for the children, through to temporary displays of hats in fashion, and posters and advertising relating to various hat companies associated with Stockport and Denton. A real highlight is to watch some of the numerous numbered documentary videos about hats, including my favourite one about a hat block maker.

On the ground floor, there is a display about a Bow Garrett, then various displays about the making of hats, then loads of different machinery and tools used in various stages of hat-making, a great display of a hat block makers workshop and office.

Look out for temporary exhibitions.

Great friendly staff, and they sometimes have guided tours and events on.

Only 2 downsides, parking is difficult and there is no cafe. Otherwise brilliant.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank bazonian2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

This was a truly brilliant museum and very well worth the visit if you are in the area. It covers 3 floors and Level 2 is the reception and shop, the next level is Level 1 and is where the Gallery and Exhibition areas are and the Ground Level if the machinery gallery and a tour of how felt is made over the centuries. It is truly fascinating and excellent of anyone studying history and/or art. The staff were very helpful and very knowledgeable. Our tour guide made the whole thing come alive and he was very helpful and kind. There was a short movie at the start about the history of hat making in general and then you went on a tour of how felt and therefore felt hats were made. This was a step by step guide and it also showed how the processes had changed over the years. Level One was where the guide left you to your own devices and you could look around all the hats displays, listen to the voice recording or watch the short movie clips. There was an area where you could try on some hats and take some pictures if you liked. There was also a great area for the kids where they could play. The whole things was well thought out and laid out. It is well worth the stop and it is very good to support places like these as they are an excellent educational resource and the saving of a piece of history which could easily be lost. Take the time to support it and others like it.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Shirlee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BronwenS48, Museum Officer at Hat Works Museum of Hatting, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Thank-you for your lovely review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

I went here to please my wife, but was pleasantly surprised! Ruth, our guide was professional, extremely knowledgeable and made the tour really interesting. The museum is brilliantly set out and I am now almost an expert in the hatting industry. Stockport is a lovely town and this museum should be top of the list of places to visit there.
Many, many thanks to Ruth and her colleagues.

Date of experience: September 2018
2  Thank ccimjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

The Stockport Hat Works is certainly one of the more unusual places to visit. It has,a fine display of many fancy and striking hats, many of which have an interesting history. However, I would strongly recommend that you take the guided tour as this gives an excellent insight into how hats were made. You end up with a lot of admiration for the hatmakers, who put a great deal of very demanding work into each creation! I had never realized exactly how much effort was involved. Hats off indeed!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Christinekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen S, Museums Officer at Hat Works Museum of Hatting, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Thank-you for this brilliant review. Our guides really are brilliant at bringing the history to life! Come back to see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018

Not the longest visit to a museum, but worth a trip. Our grandkids enjoyed it. The guide was lovely and made the kids laugh. It's a hat museum, who doesn't like trying on hats for a laugh. Very inexpensive for a good couple of hours spent

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank eveles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews