We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Really interesting

We were en route to Derbyshire and looking for somewhere to visit on the way. I looked up things to... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Rovers09
,
Preston
excellent museum of local industry

One of a small number of excellent museums in Stockport, this one features the hatting industry... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Dave_Cowley_Road
,
Oxford, United Kingdom
Read all 298 reviews
  
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
173
101
18
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
101
18
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour on display making process working machinery rainy day small charge worth a visit rabbit fascinating history free entry interesting visit learn how couple of hours wander around great insight all ages own pace
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 298 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2018

A fascinating insight into one of the lesser known industries which boomed at a time when everyone seems to have worn a hat ! Very informative and superbly presented along with the original production machinery which was also made locally and reflects Stockport's notable history in both fashion and engineering.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank lyndaandpaul2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

I went there as part of a theatre conference and was shown round by one of the excellent guides. Sadly not all the exhibits were working due to H&S but it is a fascinating place and you must visit to see a part of our history as sadly hats are nolonger made in the UK.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Wilmslow_People
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018

I have been meaning to visit the hat museum for a long time, I’m so glad I finally went today with my wife .The guide was excellent a local I would guess,he answered all my questions and made the museum come alive for us . I would highly recommend taking the guided tour .This museum is a little gem

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank mikesalernita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BronwenS48, Museum Officer at Hat Works Museum of Hatting, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2018

Many thanks for your review - so glad you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2018

Had an excellent guided tour of this museum and learnt so much. Hatters make hats for the gentlemen and milliners make the ladies hats. Loads of beautiful hats on display including some which could be tried on. Very complex machinery for stretching the hoods - the basic conical shapes which are the basis of most of the hats. The hatters used mercury (hence the term "mad as a hatter" because of the terrible side-effects) and urine to make the felt (from fur or wool) for the hoods and the women who worked at the mill had to wear clogs as they often had to paddle round in sulphuric acid as part of the hat making process.
Well worth paying for the guided tour as the guides are so knowledgeable and friendly.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank CAH1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2018

Who knew that the making of hats could be so interesting. Whilst this is not a working museum, the tour guide brought it all to life. People, working conditions, machinery equipment and methods (no health and safety in the past!!) plus a wonderful display of hundreds of hats made it a fascinating visit.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Hazel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews