We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible please read !” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balti Palace

Balti Palace
Ranked #55 of 314 Restaurants in Barnsley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$25
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Terrible please read !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Second visit ... First was terrible.... Thought id give them a second chance but never again. Salad was brown! Curry was freezing, wrong order, manager was very rude swearing at me down the phone, then wanted to charge me extra for them messing my order up! Never again ! AVOID BIG TIME!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessandantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    27
    6
    3
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good reasonable food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Called after a friends recommendation and we were pleasantly surprised. Whilst not the best curry I've ever had, it was certainly above average and not over priced. Friendly staff - attentive and accommodating and reasonably priced.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheWalrus235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“first visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

This restaurant was recommended by a friend, thought we would give it a go. There was only two of us going on this visit, my son and myself.
We ordered the sharing platter and is was gorgeous and not too spicy.
We both chose a house special - Garlic Chicken, it was gorgeous also, for those who do not like heat in any shape this is for you, we both can take a meal up to medium strength, but this was mild and so tasty, we both had rice with one portion of chips to share.
The staff constantly make sure you are happy with everything, which is lovely.
Both of cannot wait to visit again.
As we have only lived in Rotherham for six years we are not familiar with good places to eat, so we have to rely on other people to help us and this is was certainly worth it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Our favourite local curry house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We go 1 or 2 times a month, always a good curry, never too expensive, my wife says fabulous onion bhaji, I say super vindaloo. Friendly staff, clean toilets.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Regularly brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

I have been going to both the Darton and Wombwell branches and both are absolutely superb. I think the staff are friendlier at Darton, but Wombwell offer a delivery service which is convinent. The food is lovely (I personally would recommend the lamb balti) and quite well priced. They've had my custom for years and will have it for many years to come!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balti Palace also viewed

Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Balti Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing