We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cryptology Escape Rooms Barnsley
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
HMS cypher & Insanctuary!

Did Insanctuary as a group of 3 last month - it was brilliant. Great decor, great puzzles and lots... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Alice T
Incredibly well-done room!

We recently went to Cryptology Barnsley to do the Insanctuary room as a group of three for some... read more

Reviewed 16 October 2018
Aislinnggg
,
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Read all 56 reviews
  
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
54
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great puzzles seconds to spare helpful hints sound effects multiple rooms rooms opening escape room experience amazing experience simon hms cypher clues escaped submarine mission challenging brain
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

We attempted the HMS Cypher this evening and it was great!

It was very challenging with a mixture of numerous puzzles to solve. The set up was great, with sound effects to add to the atmosphere of the game.

Unfortunately we didn't make it out, we were 3 digits away from completing the final puzzle! But this did not ruin the experience in the slightest! The man who ran the escape room was great, he gave hints and clues throughout the hour and even slyly provided an extra pen for us when it ran out!

Great story and fantastic puzzles. We can't wait to try out the other escape room here!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Chloe0596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, Owner at Cryptology Escape Rooms Barnsley, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

If you had fun, you won! :)

Glad you had a great experience and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

What a fabulous way to spend an hour as a family with no phones involved for the whole time.
Clever puzzles, totally engaging and a fab series of rooms. Even though we didn’t escape it didn’t spoil the experience.
Thanks for the hints to keep us moving!! We will be back to attempt the other room soon.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank KazC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, Owner at Cryptology Escape Rooms Barnsley, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

An absolute pleasure and glad you had the most important thing...fun!

See you all soon

Regards

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

This was our first escape room experience and it massively surpassed our expectations!
Firstly Simon was brilliant. The only day we were all free, due to work and childcare, was a Tuesday. Cryptology is normally closed on a Tuesday, but Simon offered to open just for us. He was an absolute star!
We did Insanctuary. The scene was set brilliantly, the atmosphere was fantastic and we were let loose to attempt to solve the variety of puzzles and piece together clues. Simon really helped to keep the game running with a range of subtle and sometimes hilarious hints! We escaped with about 1 min and 30sec to spare.
In summary, we had an amazing morning and laughed loads.
We left on a real high, desperate to find another day when we're all free so we can come back and try the other room!
We would all highly recommend Cryptology to everyone!

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank rachaelinwonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, Owner at Cryptology Escape Rooms Barnsley, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Thank you for this review, makes it all worth while! Glad you had a good time and it made me chuckle as well.

Hope to host you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

Great set up, great story and the puzzles were the perfect amount of tricky with being able to work it out yourself. However, we needed a number of clues and Simon did this excellently. If I'm in the area again I'd love to try their other room!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank jbreem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, Owner at Cryptology Escape Rooms Barnsley, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

A pleasure to host and so glad you enjoyed our unique addition to Barnsley town centre!

Kind Regards

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018

We've played both rooms at Cryptology Barnsley and they don't disappoint! HMS Cypher is a novel game with some excellent puzzling, and Insanctury takes a creepy theme and runs with it, delivering great puzzles in an atmospheric setting.

Simon is a great host, we can't wait to see if they open a 3rd room! We'll definitely return if they do!

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank brervixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, Owner at Cryptology Escape Rooms Barnsley, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Hi,

Glad you enjoyed your experience and appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. Keep watching for our next room, I suspect space may play a part in it!

Regards

Simon@Cryptology

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews