We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time”

Cryptology Escape Rooms Barnsley
Ranked #1 of 18 Fun & Games in Barnsley
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Cryptology is an unforgettable team experience right in the heart of Barnsley Town Centre. Are you looking for something to do with friends, family or colleagues, an experience other than the generic activities of bowling, cinema, eating or drinking? If you want a unique crystal maze-esque experience in either a submarine or criminal rehabilitation unit then this is the place for you!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
Reviewed 11 August 2018

Went with some work colleagues,thoroughly enjoyed our visit , we even managed to escape despite the boss trying to vandalise the room , well organised a return trip to do the other room is planned.
Cheers to Simon for keeping us informed of what we should look for.
Would recommend it.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank philipc59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, Owner at Cryptology Escape Rooms Barnsley, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Thank you for your kind review and it makes it all the more worthwhile when hear such positive reviews for our rooms!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great puzzles"
in 4 reviews
"seconds to spare"
in 3 reviews
"helpful hints"
in 3 reviews
"sound effects"
in 3 reviews
"multiple rooms"
in 2 reviews
"rooms opening"
in 2 reviews
"escape room experience"
in 2 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 2 reviews
"simon"
in 13 reviews
"hms"
in 14 reviews
"cypher"
in 17 reviews
"clues"
in 10 reviews
"escaped"
in 6 reviews
"submarine"
in 4 reviews
"mission"
in 4 reviews
"challenging"
in 13 reviews
"brain"
in 3 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

What a fantastic activity, been today with a group of colleagues from work, i didnt even know this place existed. We did the cypher room. Its brilliant as a team building exercise or as a friends get together. Would work well as a teenagers birthday party or a pre drinks activity, its challenging but funny.
Well done, will hopefully be back to try the other room!!!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Willandbethsmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, Owner at Cryptology Escape Rooms Barnsley, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Thank you for your kind words, immensley fun game to run and hope to see you all again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

We had a great time in the Insanctuary rooms!! Such great fun we loved it. The owner is such s great guy and even had water ready for us on the mad hot day. Would highly recommend.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Supermumof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, Owner at Cryptology Escape Rooms Barnsley, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

British Summers! Thanks for returning and glad you had a great time! See you soon in Sheffield.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

We attempted the HMS Cypher this evening and it was great!

It was very challenging with a mixture of numerous puzzles to solve. The set up was great, with sound effects to add to the atmosphere of the game.

Unfortunately we didn't make it out, we were 3 digits away from completing the final puzzle! But this did not ruin the experience in the slightest! The man who ran the escape room was great, he gave hints and clues throughout the hour and even slyly provided an extra pen for us when it ran out!

Great story and fantastic puzzles. We can't wait to try out the other escape room here!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Chloe0596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, Owner at Cryptology Escape Rooms Barnsley, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

If you had fun, you won! :)

Glad you had a great experience and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

What a fabulous way to spend an hour as a family with no phones involved for the whole time.
Clever puzzles, totally engaging and a fab series of rooms. Even though we didn’t escape it didn’t spoil the experience.
Thanks for the hints to keep us moving!! We will be back to attempt the other room soon.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank KazC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, Owner at Cryptology Escape Rooms Barnsley, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

An absolute pleasure and glad you had the most important thing...fun!

See you all soon

Regards

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cryptology Escape Rooms Barnsley also viewed

Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Cryptology Escape Rooms Barnsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing