We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cryptology Escape Rooms Barnsley
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
HMS cypher & Insanctuary!

Did Insanctuary as a group of 3 last month - it was brilliant. Great decor, great puzzles and lots... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Alice T
Incredibly well-done room!

We recently went to Cryptology Barnsley to do the Insanctuary room as a group of three for some... read more

Reviewed 16 October 2018
Aislinnggg
,
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Read all 56 reviews
  
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
54
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great puzzles seconds to spare helpful hints sound effects multiple rooms rooms opening escape room experience amazing experience simon hms cypher clues escaped submarine mission challenging brain
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Went with friends and even though we didn't succeed, we still enjoyed it. The puzzles are challenging and the guy in charge was really helpful with hints everyone we got stuck. Really fun all in all. Will come again.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank bradleybrownlang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, Owner at Cryptology Escape Rooms Barnsley, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Thank you for your review, the way we see it is that you don't fail if you have fun! Hopefully see you again soon for some epic escapes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018

Went with some work colleagues,thoroughly enjoyed our visit , we even managed to escape despite the boss trying to vandalise the room , well organised a return trip to do the other room is planned.
Cheers to Simon for keeping us informed of what we should look for.
Would recommend it.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank philipc59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, Owner at Cryptology Escape Rooms Barnsley, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Thank you for your kind review and it makes it all the more worthwhile when hear such positive reviews for our rooms!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

What a fantastic activity, been today with a group of colleagues from work, i didnt even know this place existed. We did the cypher room. Its brilliant as a team building exercise or as a friends get together. Would work well as a teenagers birthday party or a pre drinks activity, its challenging but funny.
Well done, will hopefully be back to try the other room!!!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Willandbethsmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, Owner at Cryptology Escape Rooms Barnsley, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Thank you for your kind words, immensley fun game to run and hope to see you all again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

We had a great time in the Insanctuary rooms!! Such great fun we loved it. The owner is such s great guy and even had water ready for us on the mad hot day. Would highly recommend.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Supermumof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, Owner at Cryptology Escape Rooms Barnsley, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

British Summers! Thanks for returning and glad you had a great time! See you soon in Sheffield.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

We attempted the HMS Cypher this evening and it was great!

It was very challenging with a mixture of numerous puzzles to solve. The set up was great, with sound effects to add to the atmosphere of the game.

Unfortunately we didn't make it out, we were 3 digits away from completing the final puzzle! But this did not ruin the experience in the slightest! The man who ran the escape room was great, he gave hints and clues throughout the hour and even slyly provided an extra pen for us when it ran out!

Great story and fantastic puzzles. We can't wait to try out the other escape room here!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Chloe0596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, Owner at Cryptology Escape Rooms Barnsley, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

If you had fun, you won! :)

Glad you had a great experience and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews