We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where is the parking?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Barnsley
Certificate of Excellence
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
1 review
“Where is the parking?”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

A short review of the problems encountered. The parking in a multi-story was hard to find and not sign posted. I booked a meal deal but it was not made clear that I would have to select from a limited menu. Service in the restaurant was slow and I was expected to pay for a 2nd drink immediately, during the meal rather than at the end. I had to chase up my dessert.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    177
    45
    18
    10
See reviews for
173
212
54
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The Glasshouse is the restaurant at the Premier Inn. We found an extensive menu, with a range of vegetarian dishes. The service was good, and the food served hot. The wine list gave a good choice of dinner wines.
We attended with friends,one of who is disabled and needs his wheelchair at all times. This did not pose a problem for the staff, and a suitable table was allocated. Disabled facilities were good and there is a large car park opposite.

Very good for a pre theatre meal when visiting the Lamproom Theatre next door.

The Glasshouse is a very popular eatery,especially at weekends,and I would advise booking to ensure your table.

Room Tip: Booking advisable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyke92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Room was spotlessly clean including bathroom which was better than some much more expensive hotels we've been to. We had an amazing view which we weren't expecting and the meal in the restaurant was lovely. Staff were great and really helpful. Incredible value. Will be coming back

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - the staff are happy to help
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizziew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

From booking to arriving premier inn Barnsley was a breeze. The staff on arrival were friendly and welcomed the children with a little goodie bag. The rooms were excellent and comfortable. We booked for an evening meal which was fantastic lots of choice and the children's menu was great. Good value. Breakfast was excellent too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I was really pleasantly surprised by this place. The room was spacious and spotless, bed was really comfy with a choice of pillows. Bathroom again spotless - apart from a few flies between the net and the window (which we couldn't work out how they got in, since the window doesn't open) I really couldn't complain about anything, and particularly not at the price we paid (which I think was about £35, for a saturday night). Check-in staff were lovely, I liked the auto check-in machine. Didn't use the restaurant for dinner or breakfast so can't really comment on that, but would absolutely stay here again if i was in the area.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Morgie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Reasonable weekend prices makes a family weekend away possible. clean, quite and comfortable. Make sure you book if you want to eat at the table table restaurant it was a busy Saturday night. The hotel is built on top of its own car park which you have to pay for! We found alternative free parking.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I recently had the opportunity to stay briefly at the above hotel; superb accomodation, spotlessly clean, quiet and extremely comfortable. Nothing too much trouble for the attentive and courteous staff. Would definitely recommend excellent value for money.

Room Tip: park your car on the fourth floor of the car park, saves unnecessary waiting for lifts etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnsley
1.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Holiday Inn Barnsley
#2 of 3 in Dodworth
534 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Barnsley
Travelodge Barnsley
#4 of 8 in Barnsley
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Fairway, Barnsley
The Fairway, Barnsley
#3 of 3 in Dodworth
370 reviews
4.4 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
5.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel
Address: Shambles Street | Gateway Plazza, Barnsley S70 2SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Barnsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Barnsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Barnsley Central Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Table Table restaurant for a fresh new twist on eating out. Barnsley Town Centre is only a short distance away. Directions: Exit M1 at J37 and follow A628 (Dodworth Road) signposted to Barnsley. After approximately 1 mile take the second exit at the roundabout onto Shambles Street, the entrance to the car park is immediately on the left. Parking is chargeable (please contact site for charges). Height restriction 6'. Postcode S70 2SB. The pedestrian entrance to the hotel and Table Table restaurant is on Sackville Street where alternative parking is available. Postcode S70 2RD. Sat Nav Directions: When programming your Sat Nav device, use the following postcode: S70 2SB Hotel Parking: There is no parking available on-site at this hotel. Chargeable off-site parking is available nearby costing £5 overnight or £2 for 2 hours, or £4 up to 8 hours. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Barnsley Central m1 j37 Hotel Barnsley
Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel South Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing