We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars for great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Barnsley
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“5 stars for great value for money”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Quiet clean spacious room with good sized bathroom and full length bath. Excellent staff, all very courteous and helpful and easy hotel to find off the M1 whilst being located in centre of Barnsley.
Hotel is in great condition after being built about four years ago.
Got special offer and additional costs were breakfast £8.25 and car parking £2.50 for the four hours I had to pay for on the Monday( it's free Saturday and Sundays.
Breakfast was of very good quality and bar and restaurant were very comfortable and relaxing.
After a poor stay recently in a Premier Inn at Manchester Deansgate Locks , this was excellent.
I can thoroughly recommend the Barnsley Central Premier Inn.
Oh, and there's a express supermarket , opens 6 am , 1 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cagedavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    177
    45
    18
    10
See reviews for
173
212
54
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Only stayed one night. but would have stayed longer if able. Good hotel. The staff were pleasent and friendly, and the rooms very nice We didnt eat as we were there for a dinner event,but the food looked very good and would eat next time we stay at the Premier Inn.



  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronwen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My Partner and I stayed at Barnsley Premiere Inn (Central M1 J37) for 1 night in mid Feb 2014 while visiting family in the area, having made a reservation for a B&B deal via booking.com

The hotel was easy to find from the M1 and has (paid) parking available. It's just a 5 minute wander from the town's shops museum, and bars, and we opted to visit the nearby 'Lazy Pasta' for our evening meal (which was lovely, btw).

The only available rate online at the time of booking was for an Accessible Room, which during check-in we explained was not essential and we were offered a 'regular' double, which we were more than happy to accept, leaving specialist facilities for those more needy. Unfortunately, the alternative room was positioned directly opposite the lifts and we felt the associated 'bing-bong' noise might hinder our rest, so we asked to move. The staff on reception were very friendly and helped us with these details/our check-in.

Both the initial room and the one in which we stayed were spacious, bright and warm. The room where we spent the night had comfortable bed and pillows, good kettle, TV and shower/bathroom, as you'd expect from the Premiere Inn chain. Over all I would say the whole place, including public areas, was very clean, appearing 'newly finished'.

Breakfast was nice with a good choice of food and drinks, we enjoyed cooked breakfast with the option to choose a selection of items from the menu and the help-yourself cereal, drinks and toast, etc.

My only issue during our stay was with room 210, which had an adjoining door with the neighbouring room. Far from 'a good nights sleep guaranteed' the door meant I was awoken early on a Sunday morning when the occupier of the next room opted not to follow the 'quiet hours' rule (suggested between 11pm and 7am) and I listened to their TV breakfast news from around 5.55am. If you're a light sleeper, who is disturbed by such things, I would definitely avoid a room that includes an adjoining door!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with adjoining doors, unless you need them, they are not sound-proof and noise could hin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulawaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

A very comfortable stay over two nights. Clean, tidy accommodation with all the basics included. Staff were very helpful and greeted us brilliantly. Special thanks to Amy in the restaurant who was polite, friendly and helpful especially during the very busy Sunday am shift. Thank you all!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caths2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Greeted with smile when we arrived and always a hello when passing through reception. Hotel can give some great views if your on the right side. Car parking under hotel, good service at the attached Table Table with great views from the bar.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I always try to stay at Premier Inn's when I'm away on business, as you get a excellent hotel at a very reasonable price. This week's trip sent me to Barnsley, and the Premier Inn was a no-brainer. Was a bit dubious when I found out I had to pay for parking, but very happy when I could pay for it at Check in as the pay machines don't accept card.

The room was your standard Premier Inn room, but had been fairly recently upgraded. This night was a night with high winds, buy I was happy to be warm in my room all night. The restaurant was good (highly recommend the Mixed Grill), however there was the issue with the water going off (I'm assuming it was due to the inclement weather), but the night receptionist was doing everything she could to keep everyone informed while trying to sort out the problem, but didn't fail to keep a smile on her face, so Kudos to her for dealing with a stressful situation. The water was switched back on in the middle of the night.

The bed was comfortable (as per every other Premier Inn), and the breakfast was excellent. I had the Continental option as too many Full English's isn't great for the regular traveller. This was enough to fill me up :).

Overall, another excellent stay with Premier Inn.

Room Tip: Those facing the Plaza are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMed_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Good location, 24h check-in, friendly and helpful staff, clean spacious rooms. What's not to like for £53?
WIFI coverage is USELESS!! As a business traveller, this is critical. For that reason I cannot use this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured that we will investigate the Wifi service with our service provider and get this matter fully resolved. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnsley
1.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Holiday Inn Barnsley
#2 of 3 in Dodworth
533 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Barnsley
Travelodge Barnsley
#5 of 8 in Barnsley
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Fairway, Barnsley
The Fairway, Barnsley
#3 of 3 in Dodworth
367 reviews
4.4 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
5.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel
Address: Shambles Street | Gateway Plazza, Barnsley S70 2SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Barnsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Barnsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Barnsley Central Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Table Table restaurant for a fresh new twist on eating out. Barnsley Town Centre is only a short distance away. Directions: Exit M1 at J37 and follow A628 (Dodworth Road) signposted to Barnsley. After approximately 1 mile take the second exit at the roundabout onto Shambles Street, the entrance to the car park is immediately on the left. Parking is chargeable (please contact site for charges). Height restriction 6'. Postcode S70 2SB. The pedestrian entrance to the hotel and Table Table restaurant is on Sackville Street where alternative parking is available. Postcode S70 2RD. Sat Nav Directions: When programming your Sat Nav device, use the following postcode: S70 2SB Hotel Parking: There is no parking available on-site at this hotel. Chargeable off-site parking is available nearby costing £5 overnight or £2 for 2 hours, or £4 up to 8 hours. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Barnsley Central m1 j37 Hotel Barnsley
Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel South Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing