We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate for the price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Barnsley
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Adequate for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Having stayed a week here during a business trip to Barnsley, this Premier Inn is much like all the others apart from the terrible parking.
The room was small and comfortable although the bathroom was tired and although clean, it didn't feel it.
The amenities were standard but I found the staff, during my particular stay, were very helpful and friendly.
Premier Inn advertise their rooms starting from £29.00 but this one ranged from £50 to £70. These a decent hotel prices and I believe that Premier Inn need to improve their accommodation or set their prices slightly lower.
Overall, it did what it said on the tin but it was an expensive tin!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShoghunUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    163
    41
    18
    10
See reviews for
157
195
49
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Nice new clean and tidy building close to centre of city, family room sofa bed not made up on arrival and was told no house keeping (18:00) to do it so had to sleep on sofa with no bedding not the best guaretee for a good nights sleep

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guest have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this. Your comments have been noted and will be duly followed up by both our Customer Services Team and the Management team at this hotel. Once again thank you for your review we do hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

I stayed in the Premier Inn Barnsley Central on 4th March as part of a business trip. This Premier Inn does exactly what it says- its a new premier inn in the city centre and easily walkable from the Barnsley interchange transport hub (although up a steep hill), its convenient to a couple of modern pub type eating places if you don't want to use the premier inn restaurant, the reception manager was friendly and helpful, check in was swift, the room was clean, tidy, quiet and with a good view over Barnsley (3rd floor) the bed was comfortable and did deliver on the premier inn guarantee- a good nights sleep1. Breakfast was as you would expect for a premier inn- basic but nothing to complain about and again friendly staff

Room Tip: choose a room on an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pogleswood186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

When we arrived at the premier inn we were warmly welcomed, are room was tidy and clean. When we went downstairs to go for a meal, we were greeted by unwelcoming staff, we were shown to are table and he informed us that half the menu was not available to order. The food was great but was ok. It took us about 30mins to find a waiter to get the bill on the evening. In the morning we went down for breakfast, we were shown to are table and asked if we wanted to order are cooked breakfast before we even sat down. When we said can u give us a min we didn't expect a 30min wait to even see a server so we could order a cooked breakfast. There was no fresh juices and mugs available. When we ordered are cooked breakfast there was a 45min wait to get are breakfast which we wasn't told about and nobody came to see if everything was ok with our breakfast. The morning staff were very rude when dealing with customers I found and uninterested to what the customers wanted/needed. All in all we would not be stay in this premier inn again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

if you want a great value, comfortable hotel in the centre of barnsley and ideal for the town centre and easy access by car the the premier inn Barnsley central is ideal and book in advance on line and its a bargain

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

The staff were very friendly, helpful and hardworking. The hotel maintains the consistently good standard and value of the Premier Inn chain. The interior design is very professional, making the public spaces comfortable to spend time in.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Trevortore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Quiet clean spacious room with good sized bathroom and full length bath. Excellent staff, all very courteous and helpful and easy hotel to find off the M1 whilst being located in centre of Barnsley.
Hotel is in great condition after being built about four years ago.
Got special offer and additional costs were breakfast £8.25 and car parking £2.50 for the four hours I had to pay for on the Monday( it's free Saturday and Sundays.
Breakfast was of very good quality and bar and restaurant were very comfortable and relaxing.
After a poor stay recently in a Premier Inn at Manchester Deansgate Locks , this was excellent.
I can thoroughly recommend the Barnsley Central Premier Inn.
Oh, and there's a express supermarket , opens 6 am , 1 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cagedavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnsley
1.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Holiday Inn Barnsley
#2 of 3 in Dodworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Barnsley (Dearne Valley) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Fairway, Barnsley
The Fairway, Barnsley
#3 of 3 in Dodworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel
4.4 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel
Address: Shambles Street | Gateway Plazza, Barnsley S70 2SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Barnsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Barnsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Barnsley Central Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Table Table restaurant for a fresh new twist on eating out. Barnsley Town Centre is only a short distance away. Directions: Exit M1 at J37 and follow A628 (Dodworth Road) signposted to Barnsley. After approximately 1 mile take the second exit at the roundabout onto Shambles Street, the entrance to the car park is immediately on the left. Parking is chargeable (please contact site for charges). Height restriction 6'. Postcode S70 2SB. The pedestrian entrance to the hotel and Table Table restaurant is on Sackville Street where alternative parking is available. Postcode S70 2RD. Sat Nav Directions: When programming your Sat Nav device, use the following postcode: S70 2SB Hotel Parking: There is no parking available on-site at this hotel. Chargeable off-site parking is available nearby costing £5 overnight or £2 for 2 hours, or £4 up to 8 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Barnsley Central m1 j37 Hotel Barnsley
Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel South Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing