We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“day out with gardening club”

Wentworth Castle Gardens
Ranked #2 of 47 things to do in Barnsley
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Beautiful historic Gardens, open 10am - 5pm every day, with extensive deer park and unique wedding venue in Pennine Barnsley Stunning 50 acre Gardens with interest in every season, romantic follies and fabulous views out into the Pennines, plus miles of country paths to enjoy through our 500 acre deer park. Dogs welcome on short lead in deer park, but sorry not in the Gardens. Our Victorian conservatory now fully restored and open to visitors is occasionally closed for private functions, please check our website before setting out. Facilities include cafe, shop, adventure playground.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase, Baby buggy parking, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“day out with gardening club”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

What good day out only 45mins travel from home good car park We meet the other members in the café for coffee A member of staff gave us a introduction and map to gardens so we look round the garden at our own pace but one of the volunteers waited for us at the conservatory to answer question's about all the work that has been done. We had a pre-booked lunch above the café very good but looking at menu lots of chose in coffee shop and good gift shop Will be going again next time will go on one of the walks in parkland and see some deer

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mary186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire H, Manager at Wentworth Castle Gardens, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your group visit and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    165
    57
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Interesting Gardens and Woodland Walks”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Our first visit to Wentworth, the gardens were in full bloom with glorious rhododendrons and azaleas ablaze with colour. I did think though that once their season was over the gardens would appear a little bland.
The conservatory is spectacular and a wonderful transformation by skilled craftsmen. We had tea and cake in the new tea-room and a look around the gift shop. A good place to visit, and if you are a National Trust member you get half-price admission including free car-parking.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank dollymix7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire H, General Manager at Wentworth Castle Gardens, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Very pleased to learn you enjoyed your visit and discovered the gardens at their most colourful. Each season has a different kind of charm, and there are always lots of events to add interest to a visit. Worth noting that the offer for National Trust members only runs until December 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable day out”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Had a wonderful visit to these gardens and conservatory. Enjoyed a picnic with wonderful views of open countryside. Visited the cafe for coffee which was lovely. Helpful staff

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank fido00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire H, General Manager at Wentworth Castle Gardens, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Really glad to learn you enjoyed your visit and many thanks for taking the time to review the Gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“another fantastic day out”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We love visiting these beautiful gardens and conservatory at Wentworth Castle gardens.
Yesterday we booked on a house tour- which only occur a few times in the year. On arrival we had a superb cup of coffee in the lovely restaurant. Then had a walk to the conservatory and up to the castle amongst the most wonderful display of daffodils, tulips, bluebells, hyacinths, rhododendrons, magnolias and camellias with birdsong all the way.
Back to the restaurant for a sandwich before our house tour. I must congratulate the staff in the restaurant - especially the young lady on the till. It was busy and she had greetings and politeness and a smile for everyone. The food was amazing and the waitresses cleared tables and brought food out quickly and unobtrusively.
Now the house tour. Brian our guide was so knowledgeable and interesting. It was wonderful to get into the house at last. You have to remember that it is a working college- so set up as such. But you go to look at the architecture and listen to the story of how one cousin tried to outdo his other cousin in fame, fortune and opulence !!! Thanks Brian. We had an amazing afternoon. We will be back to the gardens again and again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire H, General Manager at Wentworth Castle Gardens, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review. It is a delight to discover that you have had such a good day and we have passed on your kind comments to Brian who is one of our hard working volunteers. The house tours have been very popular this year - thanks to our friends at the Northern College for permitting access.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BARNSLEY ENGLAND
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE FOR A WEDDING”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Our daughter was married here in the new conservatory followed by a reception in a Papakata style Marquee in the grounds. We were really pleased with the special location and every aspect of Wentworth. Nothing was too much trouble for the wedding organiser and his team.
The buildings and gardens provided a special backdrop to a special day.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BANDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire H, General Manager at Wentworth Castle Gardens, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
We're very glad your daughter had such a special day and hope that the Gardens remain a special place. It was the first papakata wedding at the Gardens and we were all very impressed too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wentworth Castle Gardens also viewed

Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Wentworth Castle Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing