We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't get past reception area”
Review of Alams Lounge

Alams Lounge
Ranked #4 of 320 Restaurants in Barnsley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$26
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are Barnsley's only authentic Kashmiri Indian restaurant, serving traditional Kasmiri cuisine in a warm friendly environment. Our team of internationally acclaimed chefs really do push the boundaries.Whether you decide to dine in our restaurant or have your food delivered to your door, we aim to please. We serve a vast array of soft drinks and mocktails and customers are welcome to bring alcohol in moderation ( maximum 2 bottles of wine or equivalent per four paying guests). You've tried the rest now try the best.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Didn't get past reception area”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Went Thursday night entered restaurant and could see waiter in restaurant through glass doors but after 15 minutes standing waiting for someone to greet us we left disappointed as we were keen to try this place out. It wasn't as if we weren't seen which made it worse as a polite acknowledgement would have been all that was needed as we were in no rush.

Helpful?
1 Thank Adskas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbey K, Manager at Alams Lounge, responded to this review, 2 December 2014
We the new Management at Alams Lounge kindly request you up to try us now, New Management, New staff, New Chef, New Start. Please give us a try
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    33
    16
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Indian in Barnsley”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Great atmosphere, genuinely friendly staff, amazing food and affordable prices.

The curries are big and inventive at very reasonable prices, the décor is cosy and the free chilled water is a great touch.

Tried a different Indian recently, but we were so appalled at the service and prices, we paid for drinks and walked out, then went to Alam's. I will be telling everyone to go here in future.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire-louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“First rate staff and excellent food.”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We have been visiting Alams regularly for the last two years. The staff are very friendly and will cater to your tastes when asked. Very helpful. The food is generous in their portions and the Masala fish are fantastic. Lamb Asian Masala is the best around. Take your own alcohol makes it a cheap night out, so I don't understand the other persons comments when she says she was left waiting in the bar,.....there isn't one!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food, big portions! ”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful food. The service is outstanding. I would recommend this Indian to anyone and the prices are cheap for the quality of the food

Helpful?
1 Thank Hep14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointing”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I went to this Indian restaurant last year and found it alright, nothing to get excited about but ok. On my recent visit we were stood at the bar for quite a while before anyone came to attend to us, the poppadoms were ok but the pickle tray consisted of something yellow, onions coated in something red and something white, tasteless! The main meal of curry, which took an age to arrive was dry and the rice was all clumped together as if it had come out of a microwave cook in the bag, the naan bread was like a very thin pizza with something sprinkled on the top. Overall a dreadful experience the service rubbish and I certainly will not be returning.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alams Lounge also viewed

Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Alams Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing