We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The new civic”

The Civic, Barnsley
Ranked #19 of 47 things to do in Barnsley
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Civic, Barnsley is a multi-storey, multi-purpose arts centre seeking to bring wide-ranging, contemporary artforms to appreciative audiences from Barnsley and beyond. As a proud supporter of the arts in South Yorkshire, The Civic showcases high-quality performances and exhibitions not usually associated with a centre of its size or regional location, and is instrumental in bringing world-class touring theatre, music and arts groups en route to larger UK cultural centres and other venues around the globe. Comprising a large auditorium, the Assembly Room - accommodating the best in UK theatre, dance, comedy, music, cabaret, independent and classic regional film screenings and family productions - in addition to a large art gallery (Gallery), which hosts a wide variety of innovative and exciting exhibitions dealing with all aspects of art, design and craft, The Gallery programme consists of curated shows and touring exhibitions which work in conjunction with the V&A, Crafts Council, Tate and Design Museum London, as well as with curators here in Barnsley. The building also has a large Panorama display and event space, working offices and several work hubs, as well as boasting a blend of historic and modern architecture enhanced by the adjacent Mandela Gardens. This public space was redeveloped in 2009 for the first time since the 1980s, and also includes facilities for outdoor performances. Gallery: Tuesday - Saturday, 10am-5pm (last admission is 15 minutes prior to closing time) Box Office: Monday - Friday, 10am-5pm / Saturday, 10am-4pm Sunday, 10am-4pm (on family performance days)
topdeck5
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The new civic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Been here a couple of times should go more often when possible they have some good productions on that are really worth seeing

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank topdeck5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryCivic, Public Relations Manager at The Civic, Barnsley, responded to this review, 22 October 2015
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor, we appreciate any feedback from our customers. Please do visit us again :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    13
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Top quality entertainment!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

We went last week to see the Hull Truck Theatres production of Jekyll & Hyde. It was excellent! The cast of three gave an exceptional experience to all the theatre goers. The acting was A1 and I would recommend seeing it to anyone although I would not recommend it to families with children due to the nature of the story. Both during the interval and at the end of the play, the other members of the audience could be heard to be saying how well the play had been played out, especially the murder scene and that it was just a shame that there was not a larger audience to see it!

The tickets were priced at £14 for an adult and concessions were £10 so very well priced. There is a bar open before show and during the interval serving bottled drinks at reasonable prices. The venue is spotless and all the staff are helpful and friendly. There is disabled access too.

To see such a quality production of this play in my home town was fantastic. The only thing that spoilt the evening was that they had not managed to fill the venue so was lacking in atmosphere somewhat.

We are so pleased about finding somewhere so pleasant on our doorstep that shows quality productions that we are off to see something very different tonight!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Reb15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryCivic, Public Relations Manager at The Civic, Barnsley, responded to this review, 22 October 2015
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor, we appreciate any feedback from our customers. Please do visit us again :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This is not a Civic theatre!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Typical of Barnsley council,s attitude to the arts. This is NOT a Civic Theatre. It is a performance space on the top floor of the building appraoched via a back street! No atmosphere, no facilities. It coculd have been so much better had the council actually listed to the electorate!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryCivic, Public Relations Manager at The Civic, Barnsley, responded to this review, 22 October 2015
Please accept my apologies that you had a negative experience when you visited The Civic in 2012. Hopefully some of the changes that have been made since then will provide you with a more positive experience next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

I've been to The Civic a few times this year. To see family shows and live comedy and I have never once been disappointed. The staff are friendly, the bar reasonable and the venue spotless. It's a real shame that events here are often not sold out leading to empty seats. The exception was the performance Jack Dee which was sold out very quickly.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbinsandBeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryCivic, Public Relations Manager at The Civic, Barnsley, responded to this review, 22 October 2015
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor, we appreciate any feedback from our customers. Please do visit us again :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Dire Straits!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Bring back the old Manager from the sixties who had a clue.
It is now a a cultural desert, the ignorant council destroying a a once excellent Museum & Library, built on blood sweat & tears.
All gone & trashed by the Loony Lefties. Again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JAMES E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryCivic, Public Relations Manager at The Civic, Barnsley, responded to this review, 22 October 2015
Please accept my apologies that you had a negative experience when you visited The Civic in 2012. Hopefully some of the changes that have been made since then will provide you with a more positive experience next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Civic, Barnsley also viewed

 
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Civic, Barnsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing