We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive website dissapointing rooms”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barnsley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Burntwood Court Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Barnsley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Stayed on business, whilst the website is impressive looks can be deceiving. The staff were polite and attentive and the reception area was welcoming. The rooms were spacious but unispiring with little facilities, no shaver points, limited lighting and refreshments.

The hotel was very quiet and therefore the hotel restaurant and bar were closed there was a pub and restaurant owned and operated by the hotel on site, but required an uncovered walk. We ate in the pub restaurant but the food was the bog standard boil in a bag/microwave variety and the service was slow and unattentive. The leisure facilities were also not adjacent to the hotel and required an uncovered walk.
Breakfast was ok but limited choice.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neil g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
There are newer reviews for Burntwood Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 277 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2012

Writing a review for Burntwood Court Hotel is not straightforward.The hotel does not seem to have, or have sought, any star-rating, and does not figure on the usual sites like laterooms or last minute .
The hotel is part of a complex that includes a gym and spa, a pub/restaurant an upmarket restaurant and a nightclub.It is not part of a chain.
We stayed at the hotel to take advantage of a pre Xmas 'tribute night' with a meal.
The hotel rooms are much bigger than one gets with the usual corporate hotels and the bathrooms are similarly supersized.Relatively new, the hotel is well maintained and very clean. The bed was comfortable and the bedlinen crisp and welcoming. There was no bath in the shower-room but a spacious and well equipped shower.
From our point of view the highlight of our stay was the gym and leisure complex, probably one of the best we have ever encountered. A superbly equipped gym resides on the first floor with panoramic picture windows looking over open agricultural long range views. The ground floor houses a large swimming pool and a small pool for youngsters. Additionally there is a spa pool area with a large spa bath incorporating all sorts of waterjets. Finally there is a huge sauna and a steam room.All this is beautifully maintained and built to a very high standard.

The hotel would suit anyone visiting the area and looking for something different to the usual run of the corporate mill. It is handy for racegoers visiting Pontefract or Doncaster, and because of its proximity to the A1 even Wetherby and York.

The Spa does a wide range of beauty programmes and the complex would be ideal for visiting Hen Parties, particularly if they fitted in around one of the frequent Friday or Saturday cabaret nights.

Room Tip: The rural location means all rooms have good views.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wegetaround02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I have visited this hotel a few times over the last 7 years and i must say it's a very nice hotel,
The rooms are very spacious and very clean, the reception staff are very friendly.
The bar is very nice and a nice place to relax, I haven't visited the on site night club the qube yet.But will be returning to another event at the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahHill01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
Thank Andreas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank PressMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Choisissez un autre hôtel
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sylvain s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnsley
8.8 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
7.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Holiday Inn Barnsley
#2 of 3 in Dodworth
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Barnsley
Travelodge Barnsley
#5 of 8 in Barnsley
62 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Fairway, Barnsley
The Fairway, Barnsley
#3 of 3 in Dodworth
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burntwood Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burntwood Court Hotel

Address: Common Road | Brierley, Barnsley S72 9ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Barnsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Barnsley
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burntwood Court Hotel & SpaThe Burntwood Court Complex offers a unique combination of facilities and our aim is to make us your leisure and business destination of choice.Burntwood Court is surrounded by wonderful and expansive countryside providing a relaxed and peaceful setting which is easily accessible from Doncaster, Wakefield, Leeds, York, Sheffield, Barnsley and Rotherham.Whether it's a business meeting, conference or wedding, if you fancy a work-out or leisurely swim in our exclusive health club or simply time to relax in our Beauty Spa, experience fine cuisine in the woodlands restaurant or be entertained with a cabaret show, Burntwood Court provides unrivalled facilities, atmosphere and service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Burntwood Court Hotel Barnsley, South Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing