We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day out for any age!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of RSPB Old Moor

RSPB Old Moor
Ranked #3 of 47 things to do in Barnsley
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Are you looking for tranquil and idyllic, to escape the stresses of daily life, we are for you! Are you looking fun and events for the kids, we are for you. Our beautiful nature reserve has something for everyone, we have a fabulous visitor centre and cafe, beautiful places to walk and relax, great events and a funtastic playground area. Come on down for an excellent day out!
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
521 reviews
157 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Great day out for any age!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Great RSPB location in between Rotherham and Barnsley. Not too small, not too large. Great kids playground, very nice cafe (serving lunch til 2pm) and very friendly staff.

There are 3-4 different 'routes' round the park, each having its own viewing area(s) so you can see the wildlife without disturbing it.

There are many types of birds, pondlife, wildlife and insects using the area - its a hive of activity! There is always something going on, all year round.

Cost is £4 to walk round to non RSPB members. Very reasonable if you consider what they are doing with the money as it must cost a lot to run places like these, and make sure the local wildlife have the right kind of environment to feed and breed. You can join the RSPB there in the office for a suggested fee of £2.50 per person per month by direct debit. When you are members (even straight after you sign up before you have to pay the subscription) entrance is free.

They often run events in the evenings such as star gazing with pie and peas, and even have local theatre companies doing performances outside.

Take a camera, and don't forget a pair of binoculars either!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sge31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    65
    7
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Day Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Old Moor has something for everyone! This RSPB Nature Reserve has great wetland areas with hides to view a rich variety of birds. There is pond- dipping and refurbished play area for the kids. The cafe provides a variety of snacks and cooked meals. There is also a very well stocked gift shop, where you can buy all manner of wild bird food. A terrific family day out with lots of activities and fun things to do.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“love Old Moor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Anyone with a love of Nature should visit Old Moor.. beautiful walks, fantastic wetland and hides and the most beautiful flora and fauna. For young families there is a family hide perfect for budding Bird Watchers and pond dipping not to mention a fantastic new Childrens Play area. The perfect spot for Bird watching there are many Hides and views over the wetlands and Garden hides, we have spotted Waxwings in winter and Biterns on the wetland its a really fantastic place.. We have been numerous times to visit and see something new every time. The staff are really friendly and knowledgable and the cafe has some yummy cakes! cannot wait to visit again and wish we lived nearer as I would be there every week!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank newbietravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“RSPB Old Moor wildlife & nature reserve - Dearne Valley just off the M1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Visited this RSPB (Royal Society for the Protection of Birds) nature reserve, having seen a good write up on trip advisor and we would be passing through the area on our return from a weekend spent in Barnsley/Sheffield. The site is in the Dearne Valley, just off Junction 36 (?) of the M1.

We arrived at noon on a sunny sunday afternoon. There is a lovely café and we had a roast beef dinner with all the trimmings for a reasonable price (£6-7). They also do nice homemade cakes and mugs of fair trade teas/coffees. All profits go to the reserve. The staff in the café and the reserve/shop were all very helpful and approachable. There was a good education centre for those with children. The education displays and walks were well designed. We were glad we brought out binoculars and saw lots of dragonflies and damselflies on the day.

In all it was a very enjoyable visit - we were there for 2-3 hours. The site benefits from free parking. There is an entry fee (unless you are a member of the RSPB) but it was reasonable and supports the good work they do. It looked like a good place to bring a picnic on a sunny day. I would definitely visit this site again and consider joining the RSPB and visit other UK sites.

There is a lift to provide disabled access and some paths were wheelchair friendly

Our hotel had a Yorkshire tourism book with a feature on the site as a place to visit so we decided to go for it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kayzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wonderful scones n cakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

been for study days from work, facilities and surroundings make for better time away from work place.
meals are a delight and surrounding nature reserve helps to burn off excess calories

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed RSPB Old Moor also viewed

 
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 

Been to RSPB Old Moor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing