We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cafe Ruelle
Ranked #46 of 341 Restaurants in Barnsley
Price range: US$4 - US$9
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are a small and friendly licenced Tapas Bar situated on a quiet back street in Barnsley Town centre. Serving good quality food and wine and beers in a warm and relaxing atmosphere. Our food comes in the style of Tapas meaning "small plate" in Spanish. Our Tapas are not just from Spain but from many places including a few from "home" Northern Tapas. We like to take bookings and if you reserve a table it's yours for the evening, we won't rush you. A warm welcome awaits...
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We haven't eaten here for a meal, but we have been regularly stopping for breakfast / coffee.
The staff are friendly and welcoming, they make excellent tasted teacakes and many varieties of coffee. There are also some excellent home made cakes - huge slabs of rocky road...
There's a hot drink loyalty car, buy 10 drinks and get one free!

Overall they offer excellent value for money and their food and drink is great quality. I would recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 297,933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan D, Manager at Cafe Ruelle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review our family-run cafe. We hope you have the opportunity to dine with us and I am sure you will find our home-cooked food to your liking. Your comments are much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Been here twice now, so far only had the breakfast (both times) cannot fault it, great value and a lovely looking place too with nice friendly staff. I went with a friend who also enjoyed it, were both chefs and own our own restaurant so can be quite critical but I'd definitely recommend giving this place a try. We'll definitely be back.

1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan D, Manager at Cafe Ruelle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for your excellent review. We are particularly honoured that it comes from someone who is also in the same profession. Your comments are much appreciated and we were thrilled to see them. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I came across this cafe by accident after finding a clock shop closed. What an absolutely good find. Every member of this very well run place were exceptionally well mannered and gave every person great respect. The gentleman got my coffee right first time and that is a rare for that to happen as I am quite awkward with coffee. Our full English breakfasts were exceptional too, the eggs were exactly as I asked them to be done. Words cannot express how these people make a difference to Barnsley, people matter here and the food is exceptional. Next time we visit Yorkshire we are definitely heading straight there, nowhere compares to this place. Well done to you all on making your establishment a wonderful place to visit. ..............exceptional.........see you soon. Hopefully back in Yorkshire next week

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Alliswellathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan D, Manager at Cafe Ruelle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

It was very pleasing to read your review. We aim to provide a friendly service and homemade food at reasonable prices. Thank you very much for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

A pleasant surprise too. I discovered this cafe today at what I thought might be a bad time for lunch (2:00 pm) a bit late I thought. No problem whatsoever. Pleasant staff, great atmosphere, good food at a great price. Will definitely go back. A bit uncertain trying somewhere new (female eating alone) but absolutely no need to have any concerns. They've even got wifi!

1  Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan D, Manager at Cafe Ruelle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review. We were all flattered to read your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Discovered this cafe a few months ago, and are now regular visitors on a Saturday lunchtime... This cafe is a real gem, the staff are brilliant, friendly, attentive and very good at what they do. The cafe offers traditional, we'll cooked homemade food at a very good price. Homemade soup is fantastic, breakfasts vey good and the homemade cakes are sublime.... Always a pleasure to visit Cafe Ruelle

1  Thank SimonArmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan D, Manager at Cafe Ruelle, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Many thanks for your fantastic review. Everyone at Cafe Ruelle was thrilled to read it and we are pleased that our family run cafe feels welcoming to our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Ruelle also viewed

Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Cafe Ruelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing