We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Fish & Chips BUT a little sloppy :(”

Henshall Street Fisheries
Ranked #101 of 320 Restaurants in Barnsley
Cuisines: British, Seafood, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Traditional Fish and chip shop
Barnsley
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Fish & Chips BUT a little sloppy :(”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I went to Henshaws last week and the staff were lovely and friendly, it was all cooked to order and the portions were of a good size. The only thing that let it down was that they were a little sloppy. The chips were sloppy and the batter on the fish was too and I love crispy batter :(

I don't live far so it cannot have anything to do with been bagged for a while cause they were not. I think if they were left to dry a little from the oil this would not happen. This however is not a bad review I just think a few improvements are needed and I would definitely mark it 5/5.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BarnsleyAngel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigfella34, Owner at Henshall Street Fisheries, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hi

I'm sorry about the soggy batter and chips but this has now been sorted out' by changing the supplier of our potato's and a change in the flour we use to make our batter due to inconsistency's in different bags.

if you call in again I'm sure you will see and taste the difference.

thanks

Alan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    6
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab food ”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

All cooked fresh for order. Big generous portion sizes. Would highly recommend. Friendly, happy staff. Always sim to please.

Helpful?
Thank Ryanjoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Huge portions”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Fresh food, cooked to order. Portion size nothing to complain about. Service is always friendly and welcoming. Highly recommended. Well done lads

Helpful?
Thank travelchickBarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigfella34, Owner at Henshall Street Fisheries, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thanks for the great review were happy you liked our traditional chippy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loads of chips”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

The new owner is a kind old bloke who cooks stuff fresh 4 u great portion size for good price will use again

Helpful?
Thank Liam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quality FIsh and Chips”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Usually treat myself here once a week. Quality fish and chips, friendly staff, generous portions and the nicest fish I have tasted in a while. If you fancy something a bit different would definately recommend the Mozarella strips in batter.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Henshall Street Fisheries also viewed

Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 
Mapplewell, Barnsley
 
Cawthorne, Barnsley
Hemingfield, Barnsley
 

Been to Henshall Street Fisheries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing