We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid large functions, total lack of service and care !!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brooklands Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barnsley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brooklands Hotel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Barnsley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avoid large functions, total lack of service and care !!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012 via mobile

A group of friends attended a sportsmans dinner at the hotel last night, it was a yearly event for well over a 100 people, when we arrived there was only one member of staff serving drinks, so after waiting 20 minutes for a drink we ventured out to try the other bars, there was one person in the function room who wouldn't serve us, we eventually got a drink in the deserted restaurant area after virtually begging to be served.the staff said it was always like this and they wouldn't put any more staff on because they were too quiet at all other times.( it's little wonder).
When we went to be fed the disaster began.
The soup was a cheap packet thing that was warm at best.
The main course was pork chops with more fat on them than meat, and the meat was raw in the middle, I called for the manager who sent a waitress over, I insisted on speaking to him and all he did was take the food away with no apology and that's the last we heard of it, no sorry or replacement.
When the chairman got up to speak, he had to apologise for the poor quality of the food, there was no one from the hotel prepared to stand up and make amends, the cricket club were embarrassed to say the least and for £33.00 a head the hotel should be ashamed of themselves. I will not be returning .

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank jasonb42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    14
    10
    5
    8
See reviews for
10
14
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

I went to a function and decided that to make it easier I would have a room for the night so I could get into the spirt so to speak. The staff were very friendly and helpful, my room was lovely if a little bare( it was big and didn't seem to have enough furniture in it).
The function food was brilliant and hot to boot although the downside was that the sevice was very slow, by the time we started to eat our main course the top table had finished theirs.
My overall impression was that everything was very nice and not to over priced but there just seemed a lack of staff in every department.
All in all an enjoyable night.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Popside007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

i stayed there 1 night in the begining of january, the staff were very friendly and helpful ,my room was lovely , big comfortable bed and peaceful. Breakfast was good for value . Going again on my birthday in june.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janerye1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Needed an overnight bolt hole in Barnsley for collecting a new car, got great last minute deal and was plwasantly surprised, hotel was quiet rooms were nice , there was afunction on but reception consideratley allocated a room away from the noise, breakfast was included and bar food good with very friendly bar staff

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith_S095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

My wife's best friend was celebrating her Birthday and booked us into Brooklands for a meal. from the moment we met in the bar to the culmination of our meal I have to say I was very impressed. It was a Monday evening so not overcrowded. I can recommend the Eggs Benedict (starter) and the Steak in Guinness Pie (main). The service was exemplary and the staff some of the most polite and friendly people I have had the pleasure to meet. I would definitely enjoy an opportunity to eat there again. As we live locally we did not use the hotel facilities but if the restaurant is anything to go by i imagine it would be an equally pleasant experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glynpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

We held our annual ball at The Holiday Inn (formerly Brooklands) on Friday 19th September. From planning the event right through to the actual night the staff were extremely helpful and accommodated our every whim. The night ran smoothly with great food and great service. Would recommend.

Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire. England.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Myself and my partner visited Brooklands on Sat urday 11th June to celebrate our anniversary. (We met in the bar at Brooklands 1 year ago)
Whilst we didn't stay at the hotel and therefore cannot comment on the accomadation we can however comment on Blakes Lounge Bar and Brooklands Restaurant.

There had quite obviously been an afternoon wedding reception and whilst we didn't arrive in the bar area until 7pm there was confetti and squashed crisps still quite visible on the floors with the tables full of uncleared bottles and glasses...All in all Blakes bar area looked a disgrace.

Having been an avid fan and regular of the old Brooklands Restaurant in Barnsley how totally disappointing the meal and service was.
Negative points:
Not enough waiting staff :we were left with uncleared plates for 25 minutes and it took forever to take our orders.
Crammed onto tables whereby you could hear every word of the next table....this created an uncomfortable atmosphere..not the romantic setting we had expected on our anniversary.
Food lukewarm and not enough.
The famous "Barnsley Chop" had a supplement on the normal menu price of £16.50!!! An outrage!

Even the gorgeous white chocolate cheesecake had burnt butterscotch ontop!

Really disappointed and very sad that such a wonderful reputable institution is going to rack and ruin.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jellyfish1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barnsley hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnsley
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Holiday Inn Barnsley
#2 of 3 in Dodworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
0.5 mi away
The Fairway, Barnsley
The Fairway, Barnsley
#3 of 3 in Dodworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
7.3 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklands Hotel

Property: Brooklands Hotel
Address: Barnsley Road | Dodworth, Barnsley S75 3JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Barnsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Barnsley
Number of rooms: 77
Also Known As:
Brooklands Hotel Barnsley, South Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing