We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor quality food & service”
Review of Brooklands Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barnsley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brooklands Hotel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Barnsley
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Poor quality food & service”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

While attending a wedding fair at the hotel, we decided to get some lunch in the bar.

Although it was a Sunday lunchtime, the bar was by no means busy with diners, yet it took the waiter almost 20 minutes to serve us with 3 standard Americano coffees - he didn't have a single customer after us, so we have no idea why he took so long. He was extremely rude when taking our food orders and when we remained standing at the bar waiting to take our coffees to our table after ordering, he barked at us to "go and sit down and I'll bring them over, right."! 20 minutes later he did just that...

If we thought the 3 coffees took a while, we soon began to think that the 3 (cold) sandwiches we had ordered for our lunch would never arrive...

We had ordered chicken mayo, tuna mayo and ham salad sandwiches, all served with crisps and salad, and a portion of chips to share between us. 1 HOUR & 10 MINUTES later, we finally got them! Given that the only cooking involved was the 1 bowl of chips, we failed to understand what had caused the delay. We were not offered any apology for the delay either. We were all ravenous by this point, and in need of more drinks, but we were extremely disappointed with the offering.

Firstly, when served our meals we were not asked if we wanted more drinks, and had to shout the waitress back as she turned to leave to ask her to bring us some sparkling water. When we tucked into our respective sandwiches, each one was well below par. We had all opted for different types of bread (brown, white and granary) but all 3 were dry and curling at the edges. They had clearly been out a LONG time before getting to us. The fillings were adequate, but by no means outstanding. We all tried valiantly to finish given how hungry we were by this time, but sadly all left the vast majority of our bread as it was simply stale and inedible.

Given we only wanted 3 coffees and 3 cold sandwiches with a portion of chips, the hour+ wait, awful service and sub-standard quality of the food when it eventually reached us was completely unacceptable.

We did mention this all to the waitress when she cleared our still-full plates, but she simply said "oh right, I'll tell the manager" and that was the last we saw of anyone! Needless to say, we made a speedy exit and won't be rushing back for lunch in a hurry.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SalM007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    14
    10
    5
    8
See reviews for
10
14
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile


Visited the restaurant recently with family and had a very nice Sunday lunch for four. We each tried a different starter and dessert from the very tempting menu and they were all delicious and beautifully presented! The main course - choice of roast or vegetarian option - was very tasty. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the restaurant was comfortable and the cleanliness impeccable. After our lunch we asked if we could view some of the function rooms for a family event planned for later in the year and the reception staff were extremely accommodating, even though we hadn't previously arranged to do this. They arranged for us to see a number of different rooms, the garden and some of the bedrooms in case our guests wanted to stay over. Extremely impressed with our visit and will definitely be returning.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Thought we'd try the Buffet this evening. The service was great and I feel bad having to write a poor review just for their sake. But the food!! Oh dear, Starter: tomato soup, that was it. Main course: cheap sausages with nice mash. Pasta and sauce, pork and a jar of plum sauce, poached salmon. Home cooked on the most basic level is how I'd describe this poor fare. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barnsley hotels

Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The starters were very good but the Beef Wellingtons were inedible being almost impossible to cut. We were disappointed with the poor quality and extremely annoyed when the waitress said there was nothing wrong with the steak and that we did not like Beef Wellington. I am a senior citizen and by this stage of life I know what fillet steak should be like and it does not have any gristle in it! It might not have been too bad as stewing steak.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

We called at this location as a pre arranged Family pre Christmas meet up. We are dispersed around the country. Some were staying, some were dining and some just had a drink. The service was poor, my niece and family waited an hour for a burger, the bar staff had no idea what they were doing and when I visited the gents, the stair well had a distinct urine smell. I would not mind, but apart from people using the restaurant there were only two other people in the bar area. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Not a hotel stay- we decided to sample the bar snacks this evening. Service was slow,the trainee who took our order initially seemed to have a struggle to cope, then came over to our table to let us know she hadn't the skills to input it into till so had to wait for more senior colleague. Our food took some while to appear and there was a significant gap between the starter and main course. Sadly after some while the main course appeared in the singular, my husband's main course having been dropped en route! I suggested that they keep my meal warm while my husband's was prepared again as the idea was to have a meal together! At this point the manager appeared! He very kindly offered us another drink and when this was refused was kind enough to offer a discount on our meal which we were pleased to accept. Meal was ok,not memorable. Staff seemed not thoroughly trained. Young man who brought out our starters seemed unsure of what they were and hovered expectantly instead of saying'whose is the......? Which is fairly common restaurant parlance. Bar is somewhat shabby,our table was distinctly sticky, table alongside was leftwith empty plate and bottle for long enough. Sachets of condiments on table certainly detract from quality hotel image! We eat out on a very regular basis but are unlikely to return to the Brooklands!

Room Tip: Sorry, not resident so can't help! Can't remove sleep quality and children's activities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We booked this Sunday lunch a few months ago and were a little apprehensive after being disappointed at another large hotel previously. From beginning to end the staff were professional and friendly( Tom Driver especially). The food was excellent for the cost and the service brilliant. All the family had a wonderful afternoon celebrating a Diamond Wedding for two special people. Thank you Brooklands.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniferlee1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnsley
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Holiday Inn Barnsley
#2 of 3 in Dodworth
525 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
7.7 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Fairway, Barnsley
The Fairway, Barnsley
#3 of 3 in Dodworth
355 reviews
4.5 mi away
Travelodge Barnsley
Travelodge Barnsley
#4 of 8 in Barnsley
52 reviews
5.7 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklands Hotel

Property: Brooklands Hotel
Address: Barnsley Road | Dodworth, Barnsley S75 3JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Barnsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Barnsley
Number of rooms: 77
Also Known As:
Brooklands Hotel Barnsley, South Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing