We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great relaxing break .x.x.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tankersley
Reviewed 24 February 2012

we stayed in room 126 totally fab!! it was like being at home, with all the cosy comforts you can expect!! great sleep, bed was comfortable and the room was always lovely and warm , we had room service which was great, good choices on the menu and totally hearty food, luxury toiletries in our room ,very clean, staff where relaxed and friendly and always had time to engage on conversation, great bar area with plenty of fine wines and proper ales,good wine menu but alittle pricy should have had a guest wine on or something, great breakfast plenty to choose from,relaxing experiance, leisure facilities great ,pool,sauna,steam, gym,fully booked tho for spa treatments so recommend you book early for these,overall great hotel.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 126 suite very large room with all the comforts like home and over looks the field...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank limby77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fleurg, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your great comments, I am very pleased that you had a relaxing stay with us and enjoyed the great facilities that we have to offer. We are always very keen to give our guests a true Yorkshire hospitality. Indeed our Leisure and Spa facilities are fantastic and our Spa packages are very popular therefore it is always advisable to book well in advance.
I look forward to welcoming you in the very near future.
Yours sincerely
Christophe
Christophe Gitton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,796)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,552 - 1,558 of 1,796 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at Tankersley Manor. We loved the cosy, country manor decor and furnishings. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a four poster room at the front of the hotel with a view over the patio area.

The room was very comfortable and we loved the exposed beams in the bathroom.

Great location for visiting Sheffield, Meadowhall and the Peak District.

Wondeful hearty breakfasts and the food in the bar area was great value, huge portions! We found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful.

We hope to return again in the near future.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBLT83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fleurg, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your kind comments, I am very pleased that you have had a relaxing couple of days with us. Tankersley Manor is full of charm, character. Our location is ideal to visit many of the fantastic attractions that Yorkshire has to offer.
It will be our pleasure of welcoming you back. We have some great packages available with discounts on local attraction too!
I look forward to seeing you again in the very near future.
Yours sincerely
Christophe
Christophe Gitton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This was my 5th visit to a Q hotel - the 3rd as a Breakaway Club member & there is no doubt that the food was the best we have experienced across the group (although Aldwark Manor in Yorkshire comes close). The hotel's location , just 5 minutes away from the M1 is a bonus & we were not disturbed by any noise from the road. The staff at Tankersley Manor are absolutely superb, without exception & we found it impossible to single anyone out for praise. As part of the Breakaway Club Dinner, Bed & Breakfast deal you have an allowance of £26 for evening meal excluding drinks & we have always found this adequate for starter & main course or main course & dessert. The Barnsley Chop was very good and the Cannon of Beef was superb. We ate in the bar on the third evening and the Liver & Bacon was tender & tasty. I cannot believe that anyone could criticise the breakfast as there was an extremely wide choice of food. I requested poached eggs on toast on each of the 3 mornings and they were delicious - some of the best I have tasted and I am a connoisseur!!! Whilst we were staying at the hotel we visited Holmfirth the location for the long running comedy series "The last of the summer wine". I would recommend this as it is only 19 miles away and is an interesting day out.Whilst we didn't choose to use the Spa at Tankersley Manor I would return for a Spa Break with a female friend as the facilities looked very good. Thanks to all at this hotel - Q Hotels should be very proud of the staff they employ there. We wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBarnesDarlington_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fleurg, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your Great feedback and I am pleased that you have had a relaxing few days with us. I will make sure that your praises for the food are communicated to our chefs and delighted that you have tried and enjoyed many of our dishes.
Tankersley Manor is full of charm, character. Our location is ideal to visit many of the local attractions, Yorkshire has so much to offer and we too have some fantastic packages.
It will be our pleasure of welcoming you back when you book one of our Spa Packages.
I look forward to seeing you again in the very near future.
Yours sincerely
Christophe
Christophe Gitton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

stayed here for a week on business training, hotel looked good, very country manor decor, considering it was near the m1 junction, the setting was good very quiet, the bar area and restuarant where very classic manor, country house style, staff very helpfull and friendly, the facilities where exellent , pool was busy but i think that was because the hotel offered spa breaks, as someone else commented only small gripe was resuarant, not a very good selection, and the portions not very big, other than that great place to stay enjojed it .

Room Tip: spa was worth going to this hotel for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 282billycumbria282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fleurg, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your fantastic feedback and I am delighted that you have enjoyed the week spent with us. Indeed Tankersley Manor is full of charm, character. Our location is ideal just 2 minutes off Junction 36 on the M1with 350 free car park spaces and suitable for both our business and leisure guests, with some great facilities with our Leisure and Spa and FREE internet access to all our guests.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Yours sincerely
Christophe
Christophe Gitton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Very clean and comfortable hotel, had a short break, 3 days, 2 nights, came back feeling clean and refreshed, lovely spa hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fleurg, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your great comments, I am very pleased that you had a relaxing stay with us and enjoyed the great facilities that we have to offer. Indeed our Leisure and Spa facilities are fantastic and our Spa packages very popular.
I look forward to welcoming you in the very near future.
Yours sincerely
Christophe
Christophe Gitton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

i cannot praise this hotel highly enough....the facilities...the staff....the cumfortable clean room....the wonderful food. i came to the hotel for a well needed break after losing my partner 6 months ago and on leaving, after a five night stay, i felt so much better and for that i say a big thankyou to evryone concerned.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fleurg, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments, I am delighted that you had a relaxing stay with us and enjoyed the great facilities that we have to offer. I am pleased that the team made you feel better after such a difficult time.
I look forward to welcoming you in the very near future.
Yours sincerely
Christophe
Christophe Gitton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

we stayed here on sunday 12th feb ,the staff at this hotel are excellent, in every area, ie, reception, room maid, leisure facilities, bar and restaurant, every one, our room was satisfactory, a little noisey from the road, but , not a problem, the only area if dissatisfaction was the restaurant for dinner, I think we would have done better to have ate in the bar, because that's what we got in the restaurant , a bar meal , very very poor, the waitress staff were very good, so, you don't like to say anything, i could go on about this, we were in what seemed a make shift area, with people walking through to their rooms with their lugguage, the wine list was also poor, not a desent red wine on it, i chose a Sancerre (white) , at £32 i would have expected a cork, not a screw top bottle of wine It's a shame, not one of the staff at this hotel deserved to be critisised, i had a conferenced booked for the next day, this room was just what i needed for my small conference ,very very good.
I would recommend this hotel, but please, sort your restaurant out !!

Room Tip: the location of our room was ok, although to get to he bar and reception you needed to walk out side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fleurg, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive and constructive feedback.
You should not have been disturbed during your dinner and I will make sure that we rectify this. We have just changed the wine list and I hope that you will find the new one to your taste. We also have access to all our bedrooms from inside, the outside path is only a short cut and should have been explain to you. I am delighted that your event was successful and that we met your expectations with our facilities. We have some great day delegate and Residential conference packages as well as 11 meeting room to hire for all purposes. As well as Free internet for all our guests.
We are looking forward to welcoming back very soon.
Yours sincerely
Christophe
Christophe Gitton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tankersley
2.8 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
1,081 reviews
1.5 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#19 of 53 in Sheffield
277 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wortley Hall
Wortley Hall
#1 of 1 in Wortley
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel
17.7 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels

Address: Church Lane | Upper Tankersley, Tankersley S75 3DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Tankersley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tankersley
Price Range: £49 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tankersley Manor is a fantastic four star hotel near Sheffield. Just off J36 of the M1, the hotel is close to the bustling city centre but also on the doorstep to some of the country's most picturesque scenery.The hotel is built round a former 17th century residence with many of the original features being retained including exposed wooden beams and Yorkshire stone windowsills. A modern edge has been created with the addition of a purpose built conference centre, magnificent Leisure Club and Spa and a contemporary bedroom wing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Tankersley Hotel Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing