We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tankersley
Dukinfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“weekend stay”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed in Feature Room on the RETREAT package to inc Tea and Scones on arrival, however there were no scones to be found in the building! therefore put little dampener on our arrival (3pm just about time youd expect to have tea and scones) - not good. Chef cannot rustle up scones??!! we also asked on the Sunday, but still none available. why do you advertise product you cannot supply? nice four poster room, leisure facilities very good. get a 10% off spa voucher on arrival but no appointments available on arrival - no point advertising this as part of RETREAT package.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fleurg, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your constructive feedback and I am delighted that your overall experience was enjoyable. Indeed there is no excuse for not having the scones available this will not be repeated, I believe that we were able to offer you a suitable alternative. Our Spa is extremely and we always recommend to our guests to book in advance, my apologies if you could not get an appointment on the day.
I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
Please contact me prior and I will make sure that we make your stay even more enjoyable.
Yours sincerely
Christophe
Christophe Gitton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    479
    295
    140
    95
See reviews for
281
573
33
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I have never written a poor review of somewhere before but I will do today after the shocking service the networking group I belong to got after 18 months of using their meeting and coffee facilities. We were basically told that that they did not want our business and that even though alot of us stay and have lunch they were not interested in that either. This is not the way to support female entrepeneurs and small business. Therefore we have taken our custom to a hotel who prides itself on customer service.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jagLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fleurg, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Madame

I can assure you that obviously there was some misunderstanding as our operations manager had contacted the lady that organised the meeting and suggested to book a meeting room for your event. To say that we are not supportive is extremely unfair, as you stated you have had a complimentary private room for the last 18 months, during this time indeed the number of attendees increased and this is why we could no longer accommodate the request anymore. I am sure that having a business yourself you can understand the reason behind this, not many hotels would have been so supportive. A special rate was agreed for hiring a meeting room as an alternative and at no point where any concerns raised.

I really hope that we will be able to continue to support you as we do many associations and businesses in our local community.

Yours sincerely

Christophe

Christophe Gitton

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffy12
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

really enjoyed our stay at tankersley manor, the leisure facilities looked excellent had a lovely lunch in the manor's pub, the dinner was set up in the pub part because the restaurant was closed-which was a little disappointing bit some dishes from the restaurant menu had been added to the bar menu.
Upgraded to a suite which was very comfortable and made our stay more special.
Would definetly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fleurg, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Guests,
I am delighted that you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay with us.
Indeed the restaurant was exceptionally close my apologies for this but I am pleased that you still enjoyed your dinner.
We have just launched some fantastic packages please visit our website.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and thank you for your visit.
Yours sincerely
Christophe
Christophe Gitton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I've now been back for another multi-day work trip to the hotel. Having been fairly non-plussed with previous stay, I booked a room that was £10 more and happily it was in the newer wing upstairs from the spa.

Well worth the extra cost, far better room, much better standard!

Food is their food, there is nothing else nearby and Barnsley is not a place I would want to go for an evening out so you're better off eating in their pub where the service is quite good.

Room Tip: Pay the £10 extra and get a better room than their rack rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S6blr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fleurg, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive comments, and your constructive feedback. Indeed we have a good selection of rooms available and if you have any preferences please do not hesitate to request a specific room and will always try to allocate it to you.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Yours sincerely
Christophe
Christophe Gitton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Great hotel, lovely food and excellent service. I would reccommend this hotel without hesitation. The spa break side of my weekend left me me feeling a bit short-changed. Had a lovely mini facial but the 'head and feet wake up ritual' that was supposed to be a 50 minute treatment wasn't so good. I was in and out of the treatment room in less than 40 mins and there was no 'consultation'. Actual contact time was nearer to 30mins and it had a 'production line' feel to it. My daughter said her treatment was also on the short side and didn't match the description in the booklet.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fleurg, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments, and your constructive feedback. I am very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Please contact me prior to your next visit and I will make sure that the treatments are 100% perfect for you.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Yours sincerely
Christophe
Christophe Gitton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

lovely hotel great rooms, staff not overally helpfull though and prices at the bar are way over the top!! nearly £10 for a pint of lager half of coke and small tub of nuts!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DANIELLE N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fleurg, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive and constructive feedback.
I am please that your stay was enjoyable.
I will contact you to discuss the pricing of the drinks as it doesn’t seems right.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and thank you for your visit.
Yours sincerely
Christophe
Christophe Gitton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Just got back from here with a friend and all i can actually say is that it is substandard quality for the chain and in desperate need of a few pounds spending on it.
The Room for a twin (room 1) was bearly big enough to swing a cat in,
The location of the room was awful, above and all night disco/wedding party,
The fixtures and fittings in the room were broken/cracked/falling off.
Service at the bar and restaurant was awful, they where RUDE, ARROGANT, and OBNOXIOUS,
They had no please and thankyou's in them.
Go to the one at york, it is miles better and the staff have time for you there!

Room Tip: Dont book it full stop!! Goto YORK!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocket1Roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fleurg, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your feedback, I am disappointing to read that your stay was not as enjoyable as it should have been. Please accept my apologies. We have a great choice of bedrooms and can allocate rooms in various part of the Hotel, indeed you should have been allocated a room away from the disco. We are constantly refurbishing our bedrooms and the next phase is about to start. I would appreciate if you could contact me in order to restore your faith with us.
I hope that I will have the opportunity to speak to you in the very near future.
Yours sincerely
Christophe
Christophe Gitton
General Manager
cgitton@qhotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tankersley
2.8 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
17.7 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,471 reviews
21.4 mi away
The Queens - Leeds
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#20 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Holiday Inn Barnsley
#2 of 3 in Dodworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wortley Hall
Wortley Hall
#1 of 1 in Wortley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels

Property: Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Address: Upper Tankersley, Tankersley S75 3DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Tankersley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tankersley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tankersley Manor is a fantastic four star hotel near Sheffield. Just off J36 of the M1, the hotel is close to the bustling city centre but also on the doorstep to some of the country's most picturesque scenery.The hotel is built round a former 17th century residence with many of the original features being retained including exposed wooden beams and Yorkshire stone windowsills. A modern edge has been created with the addition of a purpose built conference centre, magnificent Leisure Club and Spa and a contemporary bedroom wing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Tankersley Hotel Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing