We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Wedding Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tankersley
Reviewed 13 August 2012

What can I say, I am a very meticulous person and the professionalism that Tankersley Manor gave through out the wedding was faultless. The staff were helpful and smiling all the time the food was a credit to the chef and the event organizer's were worth their weight in gold. Q Hotels should be proud to have such a flag ship Hotel in their group.
Once again well done and many thanks. Lynda

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fleurg, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review and I am delighted that such a special day was so successful and memorable. We have many years of experience in hosting weddings and our dedicated team will always make sure that we make it as smooth as possible.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Yours sincerely
Christophe
Christophe Gitton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,411 - 1,417 of 1,727 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

Stayed over a Saturday/Sunday night in August 2012. When checking in we tried to negotiate using a code 'summer12' from their website which was not available when we made the reservation but we noticed was available just before we checked it - was told this was not possible. Found this aggravating as we felt penalised for booking early when the offer was not running. Tried again when checking out and no go... morally unfair not to offer the best rate....

Other than that the hotel was fine. Rooms were too hot (common to many hotels) so on the second night we left all the windows open. Noise wasn't too bad but this is a wedding hotel so don't be surprised if you hear some hi-jinx! Food was good (not amazing) and a fair price. Found the spa pool slightly uninspiring - rather small and busy. Kids can only swim for a couple of hours in the morning and evening.

Broadband everywhere (and free) was very welcome. Rooms were large and tv and other facilities were good. The main bar has started refurbishment which seems a little odd to do in August but I guess they are a conference hotel so busier outside the holiday season, hence their offer (which we couldn't get access too, grrr!).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James R S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fleurg, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review and I am please to read that your overall experience was positive.
My apologies if you were not able to book the promotional packages, such packages are available on fixed dates however we have many offers during the year and I am sure that you will be able to book another one.
Indeed the window of opportunity is always very short to be able to refurbish and we choose a date that will affect our guests the least, the new Bar & Brasserie is now open and looking great.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Yours sincerely
Christophe
Christophe Gitton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Hotel staff very polite....warm welcome. When entering our room we realised theres an ajoining door which was unlocked! Not impressed when im staying with my partner for a weekend away. I informed reception and they reassured be it would be locked and no-one was booked into next door. We then enjoyed a lovely bar meal that was very tasty. We returned to our room...the ajoining door was locked...then settled down to sleep and all we could here is women chatting & giggling till early hours of the morning. Not impressed when we had a wedding the next day. Breakfast was lovely....couldnt fault the food. When departing and asked was our visit ok...my partner expressed our feelings about our room & told them that they should inform customers of ajoining doors as we may as well had it open. we were told a manager would contact us about our complaint....we are still wait 1 month on.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gem82kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fleurg, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your constructive and positive review.
My apologies for the incident with the interconnecting door as indeed it should have been locked from both side.
I have noted your comments and will contact you immediately to make sure that a member of the team has been in touch with you since.
Yours sincerely
Christophe
Christophe Gitton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

booked a two night break in this lovely 4 star spa hotel got a very good price on trivago. Ideally situated for meadohall yorkshire sculptures and Chatsworth which was 45min drive away.
Historic building with genuine wood beams lovely gardens unfortunatley the hotel internally lookes tired. reception was very disappointing I expected a bit of luxury not so. the foyer had cigarette ends on the floor and outside not very inviting that aside the staff were lovely breakfast superb would go again

Room Tip: standard rooms have original oak beams and are dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duke1England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fleurg, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your constructive and positive review.
Indeed the Hotel has a lot of character and very close to many local attractions. We have just completed some refurbishment in the Public area and open a new Bar & Brasserie, please let me have your feedback after your next visit.
I have noted your comments and will rectify this with my team.
I am please to read that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Yours sincerely
Christophe
Christophe Gitton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

As someone who has stayed in quite a few of the QHotel Chain, we enjoyed another great trip to the Tankersley Manor.

Located just off the M1, but far enough away that traffic noise isn't a problem, the hotel is very convenient for Meadowhall, Sheffield and Doncaster.

The hotel looks really nice from the outside, and the staff at reception were very helpful. We stayed in room 64, a feature room which comprised of a 4 poster bed and was effectively a mini-suite. I couldn't fault the room, nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was clearly a bit older but perfectly fine. The room was up quite a few stairs from the main reception area, but no bother for us.

We had dinner in the restaurant on the first night - we really enjoyed this. The food was full of flavour and presented well. The waiting staff very friendly but not too imposing.

The QHotel breakfast remains one my my favourite aspects of the Qhotel experience, you can't beat the selection of food available, although my only minor gripe for the whole trip was that on the second morning we had a 20 minute wait for a seat becasue of a large wedding party who wanted larger tables. While I could understand this, it was frustrating seeing lots of tables for 2 unoccupied while we stood outside while the staff held the rest of the queue up trying to find larger table for the groups. This led to a large queue forming which could have been avoided with better management of the situation.

The weddings themselves didn't affect the experience, there were 2 taking place but you couldn't really hear anything from our room.

All in all, a good trip, and we will return again if we want to explore this part of Yorkshire further, particularly if a similar deal is offered.

Room Tip: There are only 4 feature rooms, but worth the extra cost for a more romantic trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B19Jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fleurg, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your kind comments and I am very please to read that you had a great romantic break with us.
My apologies if you had to wait for your table at breakfast, indeed week end are extremely busy, however | am delighted that it did not mare your experience.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back here at Tankersley Manor or any of the QHotels, and perhaps if you are not a Breakaway Member it is time to join the scheme to enjoy some fantastic benefits.
Yours sincerely
Christophe
Christophe Gitton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We were at the hotel for a family wedding.
As my husband had had a stroke recently I rang before our two night stay to check we would not have trouble reaching a room. Tracey - on reception - was really helpful- and the room she suggested was fine. We were helped with our luggage and told that if the room was unsuitable we could change.
Throughout our stay we found all the staff particularly friendly and helpful.
The room was comfortable - maybe a little bit in need of re-furbishment -but was ideally placed for us as it was in the main building but within very easy reach of the events centre for the wedding.
I visited the swimming pool. The staff were pleasant - the changing rooms were clean.
We enjoyed the breakfast buffet and noted that it was replenished frequently.
We had a bar meal in the Onward Arms and although the food was not really to our taste the service was good. The bar does need a makeover but signs told us that this starts tomorrow.
Overall we felt that the staff made up for any faults in the food and decor.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank optimistCoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fleurg, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear Guests,
I am delighted that you have always enjoyed your stays with us, thank you for your positive comments.
We have now completed the refurbishment of our new Bar & Brasserie, this has now become our restaurant and I can assure you that you will note the difference.
Very pleased to read that the team was receptive to your need and accommodated your request.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Yours sincerely
Christophe
Christophe Gitton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed here for two nights recently as a short leisure break. The main positives to this hotel are it's friendly staff, great evening meals and the hotel's value for money. On the down side, we had asked for best room available but despite being offered a room beyond the bar (no thanks) we ended up in a room in the leisure complex. The room was adequate for the money although a bit of a tight squeeze and would not win any design awards. The room was clean, albeit with a hole in the duvet cover. It had small windows and so the light in the room wasn't great. There was a strange fan / heater device in the room, which was cheap and portable. I have never seen anything like this in any other hotel before. A hotel room that needs a heater makes you wonder what the central heating is like in winter. The ensuite was OK but there was no toilet brush. The breakfasts were not as good as expected. On the first morning we came down to hardly any bread, baked beans which were tired and limp, poor quality fruit juices and coffee. The bread and beans issues had improved by the second morning. Despite having booked and paid in full a few weeks previously the staff did not have us on the list for the dining room. They found us a table in the bar area as the main restaurant had been hived off for a function. On enquiring at reception, we were not down for the restaurant for the second night either. I asked for a 7.30pm table but was told it could be either 7pm or 8.15pm. We settled for 7pm although it was earlier than we would have liked. In the event the place was not particularly busy and a 7.30pm slot would not have caused them any inconvenience. The spa and pool facilities were included in the price, but our session was suboptimal as there was a large hen party taking up most of the area. Fine in itself, but they left their belongings draped over the loungers when they went to lunch and so we were unable to relax there. The attendant in charge wasn't interested in doing anything about this for us so we slunk off back to our room. We felt a bit like spare parts down in the leisure complex. There were three weddings on at the hotel over that weekend but that didn't impact on us particularly. The hotel itself is mostly semi-modern, built around an old farm house (source: local resident). There are no grounds to speak of, just a little garden area at the front. The hotel is surrounded by roads with views of industrial units out front. All in all, whilst the staff, evening meals and the value were good we are unlikely to return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davydiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fleurg, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your constructive and positive review.
My apologies if you had to eat earlier than anticipated, if you are on inclusive package you will have a table allocated for you however we do spread the bookings to be able to pace the service time.
I am sorry to read that you will not be back despite your positive comments, we have an ample choice of bedrooms and will be able to allocate you a different type if you wish to come back.
Yours sincerely
Christophe
Christophe Gitton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tankersley
2.8 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#1 of 53 in Sheffield
1,043 reviews
17.7 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,641 reviews
1.5 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
21.4 mi away
The Queens - Leeds
The Queens - Leeds
#12 of 87 in Leeds
3,303 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wortley Hall
Wortley Hall
#1 of 1 in Wortley
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels

Address: Upper Tankersley, Tankersley S75 3DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Tankersley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tankersley
Price Range: £71 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tankersley Manor is a fantastic four star hotel near Sheffield. Just off J36 of the M1, the hotel is close to the bustling city centre but also on the doorstep to some of the country's most picturesque scenery.The hotel is built round a former 17th century residence with many of the original features being retained including exposed wooden beams and Yorkshire stone windowsills. A modern edge has been created with the addition of a purpose built conference centre, magnificent Leisure Club and Spa and a contemporary bedroom wing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Tankersley Hotel Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing