We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tankersley
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Called in for lunch and had a very enjoyable time. The waitress Beverley, was lovely. Very friendly and attentive but not over powering. The two course lunch off the festive menu was well the price and my wife loved the little strawberry Santa. We have been many times in the past to the "manor" but this was by far the best meal we have ever had there and we will not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank APH93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayleigh p, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your fabulous comments after your recent festive lunch. I am pleased that Bev looked after you so well and that you enjoyed our festive Strawberry Santa's that our chef had prepared.

See you again soon

Hayleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    461
    283
    132
    89
See reviews for
269
548
33
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Called in for lunch with my mum and brother. Had a fantastic waitress called Beverley. We have been before and always seem to have Beverley to serve us. She is incredibly friendly , polite and helpful. We were all feeling a bit tired/stressed today for various reasons and Beverley just adds that special personal touch that makes you remember a restauarant and and makes you want to go back again. What a great employee and one that the hotel should hold on to !!!
Please pass our regards on to Beverley.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayleigh p, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your fantastic comments regarding the service that you received from Bev when you called in for lunch recently. All the team go the extra mile to ensure that our guests are happy and I was so pleased to read that this was your experience when you visited us.

See you again soon

Regards

Hayleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We have stayed here many times for a 1 night "Romantic Break ".
The room was in the more modern side of the building this time which was very nice, clean and spacious.
The meal was good especially my dessert which was banoffee with clotted cream in a sundae glass . I asked if I could have it with clotted cream instead of the sweet toffee sauce and they were happy to oblige A dessert to remember.
For a Friday night it wasn't noisy and we had a good nights sleep. The breakfast at Tankersley Manor is one of the best, it beats the one at the other classy hotel further down the road. There is plenty of choice and no one seems to do the scrambled eggs as light and fluffy as they do here.
The staff are always very friendly here that's why we keep going back.
The only one complaint we had was that some previous occupant had been smoking in the room and we could still smell it, yuk.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayleigh p, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Guest

A dessert and breakfast to remember - our chef's like to make sure that you don't go home feeling hungry!

Thank you for your fantastic reveiw and I hope we see you again soon in the New Year.

Warm regards

Hayleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

I popped into the hotel on Saturday after a disastrous Xmas shopping trip. I was hoping for a little peace and a celebratory drink. It was chaos in the bar and I felt that the bad day was only going to get worse, but one of your staff saved the day. She looked after us and her big smile and wonderful personality made our day. We have recommended the hotel to friends in the past, but we're reconsidering that for the future until Beverley looked after us and showed the quality service the hotel provides. Please could you pass on our thanks to the waitress - Beverley. Kind regards

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Dolall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayleigh p, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Guest

I was delighted to read that after a disastrous shopping trip Bev put a smile of your face with her charm and outstanding service. She is a true asset to the hotel and I was pleased to read that she looked after you well.

See you again soon

Hayleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We have just stayed here as was at a Xmas party night in the function room.

Was very disappointed that the Spa was closed for refurb which we had not been informed about, we had been looking forward to a nice afternoon in the spa before getting ready.

The room was ok, bathroom functional, very old fashioned but clean. Bedroom was specious, clean and well equipped. Hotel was very noisy until 2.30 am but managed to get some sleep.

Breakfast was good, plenty of choice and staff were very helpful.

Party night was mostly good, but won’t be rebooking again for next year.

We had meals missing and having to find staff to get, drinks very expensive, food was ok nothing extra was supplied ie no extra gravy and chicken was a little dry, bar long queues. I have been to another party night this year at a hotel not far from Tankersley that was better by far that was £5 cheaper per head. We did also fancy a drink after the party night was finished but both bars closed, couldn’t find any staff.

So overall good but won’t be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twilight29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayleigh p, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review where I was sorry to read that we did not Wow you during your stay. Our Spa and lesiure club are currently closed due to essential maintenance taking place and I am sorry that this was not communicated to you prior to your arrival.

Our Brasserie bar was availabe to all residents throughout the night and this did not close until the early hours of the morning.

I was pleased to read that your room, breakfast and party night were all good.

Festive regards

Hayleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed this weekend. Stayed in a Q Room, very nice however disappointed with bathroom as only 1 bath towel and hand towel each and vent did not work which meant very steamy and unable to use bathroom mirror - except Sun morning when we had to ring up as no hot water! Extremely irked to find a printed card in our room telling us that leisure facilities not available for the whole of December!!!! Due to maintenance work! A bit of a cop out (perhaps they worry you might not stay if you knew this in advance?) not on as this is a selling point of the hotel! Breakfast was ok, shame about cold plates. Lunch in brasserie was very slow - over an hour for 2 burgers and when they did come we were offered sauce etc, asked for sauce and vinegar- the salsa arrived 10 minutes later as we were almost finished and still they had to go back to get the vinegar - not surprised as there was a large table who arrived before us and their order was a complete mess, some had finished when others still waiting, cold food, missing items and the room was only about 20% full. Judge for yourself but we were very disappointed .

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fu5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayleigh p, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback where I was sorry to read of your disappointment during your recent stay with us.

Our Spa and Leisure Club are closed until 23 December 2013 and I apologise that you were not informed prior to your booking, this was not intentional as I thought that this had been communicated t the time of the booking and through our pre arrival email. We appreciate the feedback concerning the bar service and food, please be assured this is something that will be brought up with the team to rectify in future.

Kind regards

Hayleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Regularly used the hotel on business trips so bit of a home from home for me.
Nice hotel, well situated for local businesses, very well priced for the quality, very good leisure facilities and very welcoming staff particularly Mo and his team at the breakfast service...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayleigh p, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful feedback where I was pleased to read that Mo and the team look after you so well.

See you again in the New year

Hayleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tankersley
18.0 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,384 reviews
2.8 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#3 of 54 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
21.4 mi away
The Queens - Leeds
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Holiday Inn Barnsley
#2 of 3 in Dodworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
1.5 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#19 of 54 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
18.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels

Property: Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Address: Upper Tankersley, Tankersley S75 3DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Tankersley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tankersley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tankersley Manor is a fantastic four star hotel near Sheffield. Just off J36 of the M1, the hotel is close to the bustling city centre but also on the doorstep to some of the country's most picturesque scenery.The hotel is built round a former 17th century residence with many of the original features being retained including exposed wooden beams and Yorkshire stone windowsills. A modern edge has been created with the addition of a purpose built conference centre, magnificent Leisure Club and Spa and a contemporary bedroom wing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Tankersley Hotel Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing