We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely recommend the spa break package.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tankersley
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We visited on the £109 spa break deal which included treatment(s) depending on what you chose, use of spa, lunch, evening meal and overnight stay plus a bottle of pink fizz per room and breakfast. Everything was brilliant and well worth the money. After looking at some reviews that said the lunch and evening meal were tiny and not very good the lunch was a buffet style and there was more than plenty, and the brasserie evening meal was enjoyed by us all, the one thing we all said our whole stay was that we were so full so how anyone can say there wasn't enough can't be serious.! Drinks were a bit pricey but I think that's the same at any hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leedsnjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayleigh p, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your fantastic review. It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you left the hotel feeling relaxed and full.

Hoping that we will see you again soon

Warm regards

Hayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,796)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,069 - 1,075 of 1,796 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed here on a Friday night Dinner, Bed and Breakfast deal for £99.00

Enjoyed the brief time we spent in the spa, unfortunately a couple with two young children came in and the children were shouting about whilst in the pool which does not make for a relaxing experience.

The room was reasonable for the money it had everything you need and was quite cosy. The bathroom was immaculate. Well done to the cleaning staff. However the fan did not work and it clearly falls through the cracks as to who is supposed to clean the fan between the cleaners and the maintenance people as that was pretty grubby, albeit high up.

The dinner was a mixed bag. We both really enjoyed our starters but the mains were a huge disappointment. Mine was billed as chargrilled chicken with fries and toasted corn slaw. The chicken had not been chargrilled and the coleslaw was just normal stuff. We had also ordered garlic ciabatta and it was actually a small part baked type baguette. If the food had been described as it actually was I would probably still have ordered it but by bigging it up and then not delivering was a shame.

The breakfast was OK but why do hotels insist in having those utterly useless revolving toast machines. Once through gives you warm bread, twice gives you burnt toast. I find this totally annoying. I don't enjoy a cooked breakfast but I was reliably informed it was 'OK'. Sausages not bad, bacon limp, hash browns tasteless, mushrooms bland, black pudding reasonable. The Danish pastries though were considered really nice.

All in all for what we paid we were actually happy and on the whole enjoyed the experience.

All of the employees we came into contact with were lovely.

If in the area again we would stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boofs73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayleigh p, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review where I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

I have shared your comments with the team so that action can be taken regarding the extractor fan and our chef will be reviewing the areas that you have highlighted for your main course dishes.

Looking forward to welcoming you back

Best wishes

Hayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights on an rate including bed, breakfast and evening meal. We booked a 'feature' room with four poster bed. The good points: the staff were pleasant and I think we're genuinely trying to be helpful. The bad........... The room was cold, despite the use of an additional electric heater. The windows wouldn't shut properly and let in rain. The bathroom was archaic - tiny wash hand basin with taps that were really difficult to turn off, 1960's style Mira mixer shower that guaranteed alternating boiling hot and freezing cold water whenever another room used their water, cracked and loose filthy floor tiles that bore the evidence of multiple applications of silicone sealant. One one day, after leaving the room by 11 am and leaving the 'please clean the room' sign on the door, we returned at later to find the room hadn't been cleaned. The cleaner arrived just before 4pm and announced that she wouldn't be able to clean the room as she finished at 4! It was a struggle to get her to make the bed and replace the towels. Rubbish bins were left un emptied, the bath, wash hand basin and toilet left uncleaned and the room generally messy. But the biggest letdown was the food. Despite claims that all the food was freshly prepared, it bore all the hallmarks of being previously prepared and reheated. Mushy texture less braised beef, lamb with a 50% fat content, cold baked fish surrounded by tasteless steaming vegetables. The latter was returned to the kitchen, only to reappear 20 minutes later withe the same fish broken up into small chunks to make it look like they'd cooked a fresh portion with the same vegetables now cremated and wrinkled. They even had the cheek to serve a bottle of white wine (Spy Valley Sauvignon Blanc - £8 a bottle from any high street wine shop) for £30 with no ice to keep it chilled - the ice maker had broken down and they hadn't heard of wine coolers......and if you can't do a decent cooked breakfast without it swimming in grease, you've got a big problem in your kitchen guys! Although our tariff was 'all inclusive', the prices on the menu were quite astounding for such mundane and poorly prepared food. We regularly eat out in good quality restaurants, enjoy a reasonable selection of fresh well prepared food for comparable prices. We travel a lot, we eat out a lot and I can honestly say we rarely complain. At Tankersley Manor, this catalogue of failures left us feeling so let down. Never again. I will say that the hotel management apologized profusely and refunded the entire cost of the 'food' we'd been unable to eat which was some recompense, but I have to conclude that we've never been so glad to get home for a decent shower and an Indian take away. If you're after decent food and a clean room I'd recommend Premier Inn any day over this place

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayleigh p, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I only wish you had had the time to talk to one of our managers when we tried to contact you regarding your stay.

Having investigated the issues that you have raised I can confirm that there are numerous inaccuracies in your review and therefore feel it would be unfair to comment further.

At Tankersley Manor it is never our intention for a guest to leave unsatisifed with their stay and I am sorry that you do not want to give us the opportunity to discuss your issues further.

Regards

Hayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Staff are tremendously helpful and engaged. Rooms are OK and everything works.
Reasonable supper with my requests well accommodated.
Breakfast was a dissapointment - some nice trimmings like crumpets and fruit but the cooked offer was dire. Dried up fried eggs, scrambled eggs as a rubbery mess and sausages more or less cooked on one side and waxy pink on the other - all bathed in oil. somebody needs to take the chef out to a decent cafe to see what a proper cooked breaksfast looks like!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank WanderingAcademic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayleigh p, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review where I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your room and our brasserie to your liking.

I apologise that breakfast disappointed you, we have many favourable comments regarding our Yorkshire breakfast and I have passed on your comments to our kitchen team so that improvements can be made.

Best wishes

Hayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We wanted an overnight break (away from the kids!) but didn't want to travel too far. We've visited a few hotels in the QHotel group so we thought we'd try this one. So pleased we did. Every member of staff we came across was friendly and helpful. Quick service at Reception, attentive service during dinner and breakfast. Even though the hotel was full and breakfast really busy you wouldn't have realised as everything ran smoothly. The room we had was clean. A quick search found the tea making facilities in a cupboard under the television. We had a small living area with a sofa, coffee table and even a table with two chairs in case you wanted to eat in the room. The bathroom was large with a bath and a separate shower, again everything was clean. (We didn't visit the spa so can't comment on that.) Quite simply, we had a great time and hopefully when we get another spare week-end, we'll be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jed62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayleigh p, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest

What a fantastic review and thank you so much for sharing your experience with tripadvisor.

We are looking forward to your return visit

Warm regards

Hayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights for a family wedding. Rooms comfortable, not huge, good facilities, very clean and food good. As you would expect in Yorkshire, the breakfast selection was vast. The stand-out feature was the staff. Without exception, they were friendly, helpful and engaging - from the chap would greeted us at 1:30 a.m. for check-in after a long flog up the M1 to the waiter who looked after us at breakfast on our last day. Nothing was too much trouble.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Essex_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayleigh p, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your fantastic comments following on from your stay with us to celebrate a family wedding.

I hope you stay with us when you are next back in Yorkshire

Kind regards

Hayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Took a chance on this for a DBB overnight for a quick spa getaway. With a mixed bag of recent comments it was going to be an insight. The hotel is lovely, good sized room, lovely furniture, though I didnt notice any tea/coffee making facilities. They may have been hidden away and as it was just a quick overnight stop I wasn't that bothered. For a saturday afternoon the pool/spa area was not as busy as I expected, though there were a lot of women having beauty treatments. As noted by others there are not too many loungers around the pool, though there were always 2-3 free during the few hours I was in the pool area. The hot tub 'recycles' for 6 mins but appears to run for 15 mins, so it's not too long to wait inbetween.
Was rather disappointed by bar service at lunchtime and the baquette was expensive for what it was, tasty, but overpriced and I had to keep looking for a waitress to take the order. Dinner was a far more pleasurable experience. Table service was very good and friendly. The slow cooked lamb was very juicy and tasty. Not the best spa I have visited, but not as bad perhaps as some comments on here and would likely visit again.

Room Tip: Rooms 127-130 are above the spa/pool entrance and so there is a lingering chlorine smell from the ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkNMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayleigh p, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review where I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your Spa getaway.

I hope we see you again in the not too distant future

Best wishes

Hayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tankersley
2.8 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
1,081 reviews
1.5 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#19 of 53 in Sheffield
277 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wortley Hall
Wortley Hall
#1 of 1 in Wortley
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel
17.7 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels

Address: Church Lane | Upper Tankersley, Tankersley S75 3DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Tankersley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tankersley
Price Range: £49 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tankersley Manor is a fantastic four star hotel near Sheffield. Just off J36 of the M1, the hotel is close to the bustling city centre but also on the doorstep to some of the country's most picturesque scenery.The hotel is built round a former 17th century residence with many of the original features being retained including exposed wooden beams and Yorkshire stone windowsills. A modern edge has been created with the addition of a purpose built conference centre, magnificent Leisure Club and Spa and a contemporary bedroom wing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Tankersley Hotel Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing